Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.977785
Write A Review
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

My daughter was diagnosed with cancer at age 12, before that she was a phenomenal athlete. She loves sports! She is a wrestler, a softball/baseball player and dabbled in soccer, floor hockey, volleyball etc. She was very disappointed when she couldn't play sports anymore, so she started watching the chicago blackhawks and that really got her thru that difficult first months when they won the championship. Her favorite player is Hossa, so when bear necessities wanted to grant her wish she jumped at the chance to go see a blackhawks game. She had so much fun and they surprised her with a meet and greet with her favorite player. She cried tears of joy when she saw him. She will always remember her bear hug.
October 5, 2014

more

October 5, 2014

I can not say enough about this organization. When our daughter was diagnosed with leukemia, they were there from the beginning. We live 60 miles from the closest Children's Hospital. Bear Neccessities furnished us with gas cards to help offset the expense of driving to/from the hospital. The staff is caring, compassionate and responded quickly to our questions and concerns. When our daughter was well enough to travel, Bear Neccessities provided us with a trip to a water park. It was so great to see her laugh and have fun after months of treatment. Bear Neccessities is a wonderful organization with an exceptional staff.
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

When my son had cancer Bear Necessities lifted his spirits immensely. I have since served on the Board having recently concluded six years of service to Bear Necessities. This is a fiscally conservative well managed charitable foundation, supporting cancer research, and support of families touched by pediatric cancer.
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

Wonderful organization!!! They granted a "bear hug" to my daughter. What a great experience for her! Can't say thank you enough!!!
August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

My daughter received services from Bear Necessities in 2010 and we are still in LOVE with them. They do so much financially and emotionally to support children going through cancer. My daughter is now a leukemia survivor and she received a very special bear hug, her very own violin and violin lessons. This opportunity was tremendous in helping her confidence and making her feel special.

I commend Bear Necessities in all that they do to provide such amazing services to children and their families.

THANK YOU!

Lillian De Jesus

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

After being diagnosed in 2003 with bone cancer, at the age of 18, Bear Necessities was one of the only non-profits that reached out to me. Because I was 18 and being treated for a pediatric cancer, other organizations thought I was too old for them.

Towards the end of my treatment I
received a "Bear Hug" from Bear Necessities which was a gift certificate to my favorite mall. Not only did I receive that great gift but I was able to develop long lasting relationships with the members of Bear Necessities. Even after 10 years, Kathleen, Courtney and the rest of the crew are very dear to me. I am excited to see what is next for Bear Necessities as they continue to grow and help research, families and children dealing with cancer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Bear Necessities helped me plan a family trip to Florida when my Daughter was undergoing cancer treatments. They helped me with planning, got us some discounts and even were able to get us a free rental car for our vacation ! I was so grateful for there help ! Having a child with cancer makes trip planning difficult and they were so helpful to me. I was very gratefull !!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I only had good experiances with Bear Necessities. No changes that I can think of.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1998

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I write this on behalf of my son, Jacob.
Jacob was diagnosed, right before his 4th birthday (June 2013) with a brain tumor. The tumor was causing hydrocephalus -- this lead to multiple surgeries to relieve the pressure, followed by weekly chemotherapy treatments. Jacob will receive these
treatments for 1 year.

Watching my son undergo all these medical treatments has just made it even more clear that I was blessed with one brave kid. Jacob has tried his very best to keep his chin up throughout everything. Yes, he is tired, he gets sick more often than we would like, and he has regressed slightly with his social independence. It is heartbreaking to watch my active, happy, healthy baby boy try to digest what I'm not even sure I could.

Lurie's Childrens Hosputal reached out to Bear Necessities regarding our situation, and before I could blink, one of their volunteers was reaching out to us offering any available help/ support. They began helping us dream up a wonderful weekend getaway to Chicago. It was going to be so packed w/ fun, and we were certain it would bring a smile to Jacob's face. However, after a little thought, we realized Jacob would be too tired to fully enjoy the weekend, plus his nausea is so hit or miss, we wouldn't know exactly how he would feel that day.

Bear Necessities donated a swing set, and My oh my! The smiles and laughter that have come from this boy when he's in the back yard are amazing. Jacob is sometimes too tired to go to the park, so this has been such a gift. Anytime he's outside he says, "it's nice to have our own park back here". He truly thinks it's just like a park. To top it off, Jacob has a twin sister, and when he is sick or too tired, she can still get outside and have some fun.

As well as taking care of my child(ren), Bear Necessities has taken care of me and my husband also. They were well aware of financial strains that accompany the medical care, the travel, childcare ... and to assist w/ that, generously sent gas cards and grocery store gift cards.

This organization is a wonderful thing-- they not only take care of the child, but the family too.
We are not used to being on the receiving end of help, but we are truly grateful for Bear and his mom to have taken their sufferings and turned it into such a great cause. We are also so grateful there are people that care enough to donate and to volunteer.

Thank you Bear Neccesities!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

Amazing group of people! Wendy has been great with answering all my questions and responding to emails.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

What a kind-hearted organization! They gave us gas cards to help with all the driving to doctors' appointments. They also gave my teenage daughter a pair of Lollapalooza tickets (& meal money) to use after she completed 9 horrible months of chemo - she was so excited! They also called and checked in to see how she was doing afterward. I also LOVE how they raise funds for research too so other children won't have to battle cancer like she did. Thank you Bear Necessities!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers