Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

Everything they do comes from the HEART, with passion! Children should not die from cancer and BNPCF is doing all they can to that end...but help is needed from many people to keep on fighting for cures for pediatric cancer. Yes, it does/and will take a village to do this. Let's get more people on board. Every one we have introduced to this organization loves it has supported it in some way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

My daughter received services from Bear Necessities in 2010 and we are still in LOVE with them. They do so much financially and emotionally to support children going through cancer. My daughter is now a leukemia survivor and she received a very special bear hug, her very own violin and violin lessons. This opportunity was tremendous in helping her confidence and making her feel special.

I commend Bear Necessities in all that they do to provide such amazing services to children and their families.

THANK YOU!

Lillian De Jesus

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

Very Meaningful event and organization. Many lovely people and volunteer working together.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I was a volunteer with Bear Necessities Pediatric Cancer Foundation for 6 years and hope to return next year. This group of people and especially Kathleen are 100% devoted to these amazing children. The things they have done and the things I was lucky enough to be a part of brought so much joy to the children. And as we know their is no greater joy then seeing a sick child smile and have some joy. Great organization and great leadership

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing . You can't do better then perfect

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have been volunteering with Bear Necessities for the past four months. Seeing the staff and volunteers work each day, it is undeniable that their dedication and passion is what separates them from the rest. The staff and volunteers never lose sight of their end goal, finding a cure for pediatric cancer. To say volunteering with Bear Necessities has been a great experience would be an understatement. Volunteering with Bear Necessities has been life changing. Kathleen went through an extremely traumatic experience and now dedicates all of her time and energy into this unique and special organization. What she does everyday is truly inspiring. I am honored to be a member of the Bear Necessities family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

After being diagnosed in 2003 with bone cancer, at the age of 18, Bear Necessities was one of the only non-profits that reached out to me. Because I was 18 and being treated for a pediatric cancer, other organizations thought I was too old for them.

Towards the end of my treatment I
received a "Bear Hug" from Bear Necessities which was a gift certificate to my favorite mall. Not only did I receive that great gift but I was able to develop long lasting relationships with the members of Bear Necessities. Even after 10 years, Kathleen, Courtney and the rest of the crew are very dear to me. I am excited to see what is next for Bear Necessities as they continue to grow and help research, families and children dealing with cancer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 28, 2009

I have been involved with the Bear Necessities Pediatric Cancer Foundation for about three years and only have truly positive things to say. Two years ago I joined the Auxiliary Board and still serve... more

October 28, 2013

I have been involved with the Bear Necessities Pediatric Cancer Foundation for nearly 7 years now. I can't say enough wonderful things about the organization. Even as a new volunteer, years ago, I knew that this foundation was special and unique. As I worked more with the foundation, I started to understand why. Bear Necessities is a family. It is run by a family and helps families. Everyone who works at BN, and volunteers for BN, is dedicated and passionate and it radiates through their work. I've been a volunteer, served on the Auxiliary Board for years, and now continue to be involved at events and fundraising. Knowing that I could walk into the office at any time and visit and catch up with Kathleen or Courtney was always special and made me feel like a part of this wonderful family they have built. Obviously the work they do is honorable and wonderful, but the way they do it is what makes Bear Necessities truly special.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get a BN chapter in every major city in the US.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 28, 2009

I have been involved with the Bear Necessities Pediatric Cancer Foundation for about three years and only have truly positive things to say. Two years ago I joined the Auxiliary Board and still serve on it today. The Foundation is dedicated to finding a cure for pediatric cancer through funding research, but also provides so many needed services to those who suffer through it daily - patients and their families. I can't think of an organization I would rather devote my time and energy to and seeing what this group can do is inspiring.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

improving the lives of patients and families through the Small Miracle program.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Bear Necessities provides families in our community with the love and support they need in such tough times. We are lucky to have such wonderful individuals in our community to serve our children battling life threatening cancers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Bear Necessities helped me plan a family trip to Florida when my Daughter was undergoing cancer treatments. They helped me with planning, got us some discounts and even were able to get us a free rental car for our vacation ! I was so grateful for there help ! Having a child with cancer makes trip planning difficult and they were so helpful to me. I was very gratefull !!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I only had good experiances with Bear Necessities. No changes that I can think of.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1998

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I write this on behalf of my son, Jacob.
Jacob was diagnosed, right before his 4th birthday (June 2013) with a brain tumor. The tumor was causing hydrocephalus -- this lead to multiple surgeries to relieve the pressure, followed by weekly chemotherapy treatments. Jacob will receive these
treatments for 1 year.

Watching my son undergo all these medical treatments has just made it even more clear that I was blessed with one brave kid. Jacob has tried his very best to keep his chin up throughout everything. Yes, he is tired, he gets sick more often than we would like, and he has regressed slightly with his social independence. It is heartbreaking to watch my active, happy, healthy baby boy try to digest what I'm not even sure I could.

Lurie's Childrens Hosputal reached out to Bear Necessities regarding our situation, and before I could blink, one of their volunteers was reaching out to us offering any available help/ support. They began helping us dream up a wonderful weekend getaway to Chicago. It was going to be so packed w/ fun, and we were certain it would bring a smile to Jacob's face. However, after a little thought, we realized Jacob would be too tired to fully enjoy the weekend, plus his nausea is so hit or miss, we wouldn't know exactly how he would feel that day.

Bear Necessities donated a swing set, and My oh my! The smiles and laughter that have come from this boy when he's in the back yard are amazing. Jacob is sometimes too tired to go to the park, so this has been such a gift. Anytime he's outside he says, "it's nice to have our own park back here". He truly thinks it's just like a park. To top it off, Jacob has a twin sister, and when he is sick or too tired, she can still get outside and have some fun.

As well as taking care of my child(ren), Bear Necessities has taken care of me and my husband also. They were well aware of financial strains that accompany the medical care, the travel, childcare ... and to assist w/ that, generously sent gas cards and grocery store gift cards.

This organization is a wonderful thing-- they not only take care of the child, but the family too.
We are not used to being on the receiving end of help, but we are truly grateful for Bear and his mom to have taken their sufferings and turned it into such a great cause. We are also so grateful there are people that care enough to donate and to volunteer.

Thank you Bear Neccesities!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers