Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.8755
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

As a kid, my mom and I used to drop off leftover food to Bean's Café from spaghetti dinners and other school functions. The simple idea that those of us who have extra resources should lend a hand has stuck with me as I have grown up. Now I have volunteered both in the Bean's Café kitchen and admin offices. The staff are incredibly hard workers and they treat everyone - donors, volunteers, and clients alike - with dignity and respect. A fun place to volunteer and an extremely important need in our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 15, 2013

more

July 15, 2013

Beans Cafe tries so hard to provide for those less fortunate and in need. They are truly making a difference in the Anchorage community. From great staff to wonderful volunteers, Beans Cafe has always found a way to care and provide to those better than any organization I have ever seen. Thank you to all of you who work so hard everyday to make a change for the better for all of those who cannot do it themselves!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I started volunteering with Beans Cafe in 2009 in the kitchen. The kitchen staff has been wonderful to work with and they genuinely care about the food that they prepare for the people in need. I try to help out whenever I get an opportunity. Most recently, I had the opportunity to work in the office. Ken Miller and the WONDERFUL ladies who work in the office are always working to raise funds for the cause. They are always very appreciative of all the help given to Beans Cafe. I loved every moment working with them. The Pour was great. Looking forward to volunteering with them again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I have had several opportunities to volunteer with Beans Cafe in Anchorage, Alaska, so have had a close-up view of their staff and operations. They provide meals, resources, and some health care opportunities for people without homes in Anchorage, an environment much more of a challenge for homeless persons than where I came from in Southern California. Beans staff do an excellent job of advertising opportunities to assist them and then coordinating the event, whether it is working in their kitchen or helping sell item at a grocery store or fair to raise funds for the kitchen. They have collaborated with artists in the area for years on an annual fundraising event, the "Empty Bowl", where local artists contribute pottery art, mainly bowls, and attendees buy tickets to compete for the best artwork. All of these efforts make Bean's Cafe universally recognized in the community and a successful and ongoing resource for many of those in greatest need in our area. The most inspirational moments I have had that demonstrate the positive effects of Beans Cafe is when I have been at a venue selling items to raise money and am approached by someone who tells me "I used to eat at Beans. I'm making it on my own now. I'd like to make a donation."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers