Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.8755
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

As a kid, my mom and I used to drop off leftover food to Bean's Café from spaghetti dinners and other school functions. The simple idea that those of us who have extra resources should lend a hand has stuck with me as I have grown up. Now I have volunteered both in the Bean's Café kitchen and admin offices. The staff are incredibly hard workers and they treat everyone - donors, volunteers, and clients alike - with dignity and respect. A fun place to volunteer and an extremely important need in our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 15, 2013

more

July 15, 2013

Beans Cafe tries so hard to provide for those less fortunate and in need. They are truly making a difference in the Anchorage community. From great staff to wonderful volunteers, Beans Cafe has always found a way to care and provide to those better than any organization I have ever seen. Thank you to all of you who work so hard everyday to make a change for the better for all of those who cannot do it themselves!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

From providing us with willing workers when our employees don't show up for work (some remain on as permanent employees) to thinking up creative ways (like the Empty Bowl Project) to involve so many facets of our community to lend a helping hand. Beans is a vital part of my community and will always hold a special place in my heart.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

Beans Cafe does more for the Anchorage community as a whole because it will use all means possible to ensure all of its clients have the best possible food, care and essentials. They offer care and meals to a very diverse population and perform above and beyond for the recipients.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

NEED TO PAID MININUM WAGES FOR WORKERS. VOUCHERS OR OTHER BENEFITS CAN USEFUL. UNCLE VINNIE FOR US.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I started volunteering with Beans Cafe in 2009 in the kitchen. The kitchen staff has been wonderful to work with and they genuinely care about the food that they prepare for the people in need. I try to help out whenever I get an opportunity. Most recently, I had the opportunity to work in the office. Ken Miller and the WONDERFUL ladies who work in the office are always working to raise funds for the cause. They are always very appreciative of all the help given to Beans Cafe. I loved every moment working with them. The Pour was great. Looking forward to volunteering with them again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I have been a homeless client of Beans Cafe. The food and care they provided for me was all I needed to get back on my feet. I now work here as an employee and am happy for the opportunity to give to my community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

Bean's Cafe is fantastic! They are well organized and effective. They do so much more than serve good to Anchorage-area folks in need...they have creative programs like that foot care program to give new clean socks and footwear and therapuetic foot massage and health treatment in the winter time, when Anchorage homeless are in desparate need of warm, dry clothing and attention to their feet. Bean's does amazing fundraisers that promote education and awareness in addition to raising financial support for their services. I particularly appreciate their attitude toward helping others...they do not look down on anyone or try to judge people against a moral standard. They don't discriminate, and they try to care for people while also empowering them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

Beans Cafe is my favorite place to donate and I hope to get the opportunity to work with them as a volunteer in the near future. For me there is nothing like a direct contribution to the community. These guys do a great service to the community and I know that all of my donation is being put to good use!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

Bean's Cafe has that rare combination of an amazing and selfless staff, a committed Board of Directors, generous in both time and treasure, and a deep pool of volunteers quick to respond when help is needed. Bean's Cafe enjoys a community which (largely) supports the mission of Bean's, as demonstrated by the hundreds of turkeys and side dishes donated for Bean's annual Thanksgiving feast. While still thought of as a soup kitchen for the homeless, today's reality is somewhat different. Many of Bean's clients are Alaska's working poor, struggling to keep a roof over their heads, their kids in school and hunger from their doorstep. Bean's mission has broadened in recent years. Bean's now serves an overflow shelter when temperatures plunge and our neighbor, The Brother Francis Shelter's demand exceeds its capacity. Bean's "The Children's Lunchbox" has a mission of 'feeding hungry kids in a safe community environment!". Children's Lunchbox has served nearly 240,000 meals to hungry kids in 2012, up from less than 100,000 in 2010. To learn more about Bean's Cafe and its programs, visit beans cafe.org and thechildrenslunchbox.org. While you're there, why not "Donate Online". Thanks.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers