Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.956525
Write A Review
July 18, 2013

more

July 18, 2013

I love the jewelry and shea products from BeadforLIfe. It is inspiring to me as a young woman to be able to wear something that was handmade by other women who are building a future for themselves and their families, just like I am trying to do. I know I have a much much much easier life in the U.S. than they do in Uganda. But I feel connected. I love how the purchases I have made always arrive with such attention to detail and papers that tell the story of the product. I will choose BeadforLife when looking for a special gift for family, friends, and myself.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2013

more

June 29, 2013

Our MOPS group decided to have a Beadforlife party and I'm on the creative team and I headed up the party it was the best thing that I could have done. Beadforlife touch my heart and many other moms in our group as well. I being a crafter myself it just spoke to me and with what Beadforlife is doing for these women and their families is just amazing. They are giving them the tools to live a better life a hand up not a handout. God bless them in all they do today and in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

The BEADFORLIFE program dose not give handouts it sets women up to prosper in life with their families. It teaches them how to start making their lives better and gives them an opportunity to go to school and learn more for themselves. And in return their kids learn to do things better also, instead of being beat down all the time. The program is wonderful and has helped a lot of families. Not just individuals. I have several of the Bangle Bracelets. I was given the first one and Loved it and after I read the story of how it was made I have been sold on them every since. I bought the rest and tell everyone I get around about them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

bring more people in to help.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

BeadforLife is thoughful about the way it works with the women in Uganda, always looking for the best approaches to improve their lives. BeadforLife is not about handouts, but rather providing opportunities to the most needy. Puchasing the Beads or Shea products here in North America and Europe directly funds the entrepreneurial training and puts money in their hands. I've been so impressed with the sustainability approach in everything they do

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have had a few bead parties over the last couple years. Each one has been a little different. Some that say they have heard of BeadforLife and others are just learning about it. A few people stop and admire the beads and then after a minute or so realize, "They are made of paper! that is amazing." I love the connection I have made with people in telling the BeadforLife story. There are some that get many necklaces. "It's for a good cause" and give them for gifts with a great message in that little sivler tag. Or then just a little girl that can't afford anything else at the craft fair wanders by and spends 20 minutes picking out that one perfect bangle bracelet to give to her mom for her birthday. For me I wear my beads almost everywhere. when people ask or comment I stop and tell the story of the women in Uganda that make these beautiful beads and how they work to change their life and their famiies life. That after they learn the trade they go on to start their own buisnesses. It gives me shivers. Recently I went to the dentists. The last time I was there i had been wearing a 3-strand necklace, and had told the assistant all about the program. As I stepped into the office she greeted me and said "Oh before we start i want to show you..." she went to her bag and pulled out a Katoga long necklace. It made me smile form ear to ear. A lady in the waiting area said "OH taht is gorgeous, so many colors." so before going in for my appointment I left her with a little note in hopes that she too would pass the messag on. If we all tell one person and they tell one person one bead can change a life!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a woman who has held several Bead Parties over the course of the past 4 years I can only say "I love Bead for Life!" This is not your regular "sell from home to earn prizes" type of party. The beads are already bought and paid for by the Bead for Life organization! My Bead Parties help keep the organization doing the great work that it has sustained now for years and years; assisting overwhelmed Ugandan women in getting control of their financial lives and providing training, friendship, and leadership skills so they go from being beggars on the street to successful business women building community and self-sufficiency. You get to contribute to these amazing programs by buying lovely bracelets, necklaces, earrings or shea butter products when you attend or host a Bead for Life "Bead Party." No one can say no to spending $5 on a handcrafted bracelet that is unique because each bead is handmade from paper. Add to that the fact the paper is being reused! Bead for Life is as good as an organization can get! I can see the work that my dollars support! It feels so good!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Great group , needs to expand. They make a difference in women's lives and future generations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Beadforlife is an unbelievable nonprofit organization! Women over in Uganda handmake jewelry from recycled paper. Each individual bead is rolled then strung into either a bracelet or necklace then dip in lacquer and then hung to dry. These beautiful beads are sold world wide and the the proceeds go back to the women in Uganda for food, education, healthcare and so much more. I had recently did a Beadforlife Bead Party. They had sent me a box full of merchandise made by the women in Uganda and my goal was to sell everything in the box! I had several bead parties where I could teach others about how the beads are made as well as the poverty that the people in Uganda live in and how we can make a difference by buying the beads they make! This is one of the most rewarding nonprofit organizations!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Love the beads, great range of shapes, colours and ideas on how to wear. Think they are ideal for taking on hols (not expensive so you don't worry about losing them or leaving them in the hotel room!) and great for Christmas presents especially! Very quick to order and receive!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've helped to host four bead shows over the last couple of years. I first found out about this organization in an Avon brochure and after researching and learning more really fell in love with not only what they do + how they help, but their thinking on how to best achieve that help with training, compassion + empowerment. Not only do they help women help themselves and their families as they try to raise themselves up from poverty, but they help those of us that to be a part of this special program find a way to help that cause. We get to become more educated and educated others about global issues and empower ourselves as well to help, be active and be a voice of change for others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Colorado office volunteers donated a total of over 3600 hours to our organization last year by:• Fulfilling orders and counting returns • Sstocking product and helping customers in our studio • Welcoming & answering questions for BeadParty hosts• Supporting our work in the education program• Sharing our story at community events• Helping Studio customersLearn more ways to join our BeadCircle! Volunteer