Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
87 Reviews
1234.908055
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
July 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My name is Wayne Timmerman and I have been an Alumnus since 1999. Through the process of the primary program and the second phase (sober living) that the Beacon House Association offers, I was able to go back to school, get a college degree (graduated 2007), obtain a job at CSU Dominguez Hills (hired 2007) and become a productive member of society.
Thank You,
Wayne

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None, they are doing fine with the changes they make when needed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Beacon House Has done for me what nothing else has been able to do. The friendships, the directions, the safety of this house is inspirational. I had nothing left to live for when I got here, yet the Beacon House has given me so many reasons to live.

I have a beautiful relationship
with my family that I didnt have before I got here. I feel useful and whole like I never felt before. The Beacon house has turned my life around from a suicidal dopefiend, to a useful member of society. I have a future now due to this house.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Beacon House is the best thing that has happened to my uncle. One of my favorite uncles growing he ran into some substance issues. But after getting involved with Beacon House, i have seen my uncle become a person to look up too. This is a special place, and i hope if anyone has family that needs help. Look into this place!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 3, 2013

more

August 3, 2013

A HOMELESS CHRISTMAS STORY by STEVE REIMER


IT WAS THE DAY BEFORE CHRISTMAS AND THE WAVES WERE PUMPING. CAN’T REMEMBER WHICH CHRISTMAS IT WAS. 1997 OR 98 I DON’T KNOW, ALL I KNOW IS I WAS HOMELESS. SO HERE I AM SITTING ON THE BEACH WITH MY SLEEPING BAG AND BACKPACK , A FIFTH OF VODKA
AND 58 CENTS TO MY NAME. LIKE I SAY THE WAVES WERE PUMPING, PERFECT RIGHTS AND LEFTS—EVERYONE WAS OUT IT SEEMED BUT ME.DRINKING MY VODKA I STARTED REFLECTING ON MY LIFE AND WHAT THE HELL HAPPENED, I SHOULD BE OUT IN THE WATER WITH THE REST OF MY FRIENDS.
BUT INSTEAD HERE I SIT—NO FRIENDS OR FAMILY TO SHARE CHRISTMAS WITH—JUST MY BOTTLE AND ME—I STARTED GETTING EMOTIONAL AND FEELING SORRY FOR MYSELF—THE MORE I DRANK THE MORE MISEABLE I GOT—AFTER WATCHING THE WAVES ALL DAY AND DOWN TO MY LAST DRINK—I DECIDED TO GO RECYCLING(CANNING) SO I COULD GET ANOTHER BOTTLE AND HAVE A LITTLE MONEY FOR CHRISTMAS DAY—I MADE IT AS FAR AS THE REDONDO BEACH PIER WHERE I STOPPPED TO TAKE A REST—AGAIN GETTING EMOTIONAL AT MY SAD STATE OF AFFAIRS I STARTED SINGING CHRISTMAS CAROLS WITH TEARS IN MY EYES—PEOPLE STARTED WALKING UP TO ME AND HANDING ME TWENTY DOLLARS BILLS AND TENS –SAYING MERRY CHRISTMAS GET SOMETHING TO EAT ON ME OR HAVE A DRINK ON ME—THE MORE MONEY THAT WAS HANDED TO ME THE MORE EMOTIONAL I BECAME-HERE IT IS THE CHRISTMAS SPIRIT AND ALL THESE PEOPLE HANDING ME MONEY—THESE ARE THE SAME PEOPLE WHO IN A WEEK OR SO AFTER NEW YEARS IS CALLING THE COPS ON ME FOR DRUNK IN PUBLIC OR SOME OTHER FUNKY CRIME—WHY CAN’T PEOPLE HAVE THAT CHRISTMAS SPIRIT ALL YEAR AROUND—
BY THE WAY I WALKED OFF THE REDONDO BEACH PIER $130.58 RICHER—I WENT STRAIGHT TO ALBERTSONS GOT A HALF GALLON OF VODKA AND A RACK OF THE BBQ RIBS WENT TO HERMOSA TO CAMP ON THE BEACH AND GET PLOWED—HOPE CHAPEL WAS HAVING A CHRISTMAS SPREAD ON THE STRAND AND PIER AVENUE THE NEXT MORNING .IF IT WAS’NT FOR GOD GIVING ME THAT MOMENT OF CLARITY AND LEADING ME TO THE BEACON HOUSE AND THE ROOMS OF A.A. I’D STILL BE LIVING THE MISERY OR MORE LIKELY DEAD. I’M SO GLAD MY LIFE IS DIFFERENT TODAY AND THERE IS FAMILY AND FRIENDS (REAL FRIENDS) TO SHARE CHRISTMAS WITH, I WILL ALWAYS BE GRATEFULTO GOD, THE BEACON HOUSE, AND THE ROOMS OF ALCOHOLICS ANONYMOUS FOR THE SECOND CHANCE AT LIFE.
STEVEN A. REIMER

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2013

more

June 29, 2013

Troubled with alcohol abuse most my life, I was a lucky man going to the Beacon House through a VA program. I was so fortunate to have lived the program and turn my life as around. I can not emphasize the good the Beacon House does or the genius of program to re-instill humanity and worth within me.

I will continue to do all I can for them. They have given me my life back without asking me for anything but willingness.

John G.


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am not qualified enough to mess with genius.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

My name is Steven N. I was addicted to drugs and alcohol for nearly 20 years. Nearly half of that time I was in and out of incarceration. I came to Beacon House in April 2000. All I wanted was to get off parole. They told me if I wanted true freedom from misery and a drug free lifestyle, I would have to trust the process. Getting honest and understanding my past was critical for continual recovery. Helping my peers and forgiving myself of shame, guilt and remorse was vital for happiness and clear thinking. Sober now for 13 years, I stand tall with humility. I have a beautiful wife and family with a wonderful career. I will be completing a Masters Degree in psychotherapy with drug addiction as my specialty in one year. I will always be grateful to Beacon House for showing me how to get my spirit back and for guiding me to my full potential and purpose in life. Always with love, thank you Beacon House!!! By the way, I did get off parole. Smile!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 23, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I entered the Beacon House as a resident in 1997 at 47 years old. I was literally a dying man due to drug and alcohol addiction for over 30 years of my life. The Beacon House challenged me to do the work of recovery, nurtured me throughout the process, motivated me to help others, and inspired me to live a purpose driven life. I continue to visit the Beacon House frequently and am avidly inolved with The Beacon House Alumin Association as many alumni are, as well. I am blessed to be employed as a counselor and grateful to have the opportunity to THANK THE BEACON HOUSE for being here and changing lives, helping the community, and changing my life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Beacon House has given me an opportunity to succeed at life. I entered the house a broken man, bankrupt of any positive aspect of human self respect, and suicidal. The Beacon House staff guided me on working recovery, daily routines, checks and balances, positive reinforcement and a love for life. I have my daughter back into my life, I am employed, I have a home, with the bills paid on time, I have a car with legal insurance, registered, and licensed. To a person with normal responsibility tendencies, this seems probably.........small, but to a person like myself, these simple daily responsibilities were beyond my comprehension and ability. I am forever grateful to The Beacon House Association of San Pedro, its staff, and ALL clients, new and old. This program taught me the simple, basic characteristics to become a productive and responsible member of society, friend, and a father to my daughter.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Mauricio. I was totally uncapable of stop drinking and using drugs, just wanted to die. The Beacon House saved my life, gave me support, brotherhood, showed me how to live and gave me a career in the culinary bussiness. All that for free, I was totally broke any way and they gave me back my dignity as human being.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I entered the Beacon House in 2005 after various attempts at being admitted elsewhere (i'm an alcoholic; i was looking for an easier softer way), however, each attempt was met with "you don't meet criteria" (aka you're unisured) or "our waiting list is three months long, please call us daily to check in". Ultimately, the disease of alcoholism beat me into a state of reasonableness and i called Beacon House. They didn't tell me call back....they didn't ask me for my insurance....they asked me, "Are you willing to go to any length for victory over alcohol?" I said yes even though i didn't know what that would entail. BEST THING I EVER DID IN MY LIFE!!!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you, Beacon House. I wil never be able to repay what you have given me, but Lord knows i'm gonna try. BEACON HOUSE MANTRA.....REACH FORWARD/GIVE BACK

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers