Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
99 Reviews
1234.868695
Write A Review
June 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Troubled with alcohol abuse most my life, I was a lucky man going to the Beacon House through a VA program. I was so fortunate to have lived the program and turn my life as around. I can not emphasize the good the Beacon House does or the genius of program to re-instill humanity and worth within me.

I will continue to do all I can for them. They have given me my life back without asking me for anything but willingness.

John G.


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am not qualified enough to mess with genius.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

My name is Steven N. I was addicted to drugs and alcohol for nearly 20 years. Nearly half of that time I was in and out of incarceration. I came to Beacon House in April 2000. All I wanted was to get off parole. They told me if I wanted true freedom from misery and a drug free lifestyle, I would have to trust the process. Getting honest and understanding my past was critical for continual recovery. Helping my peers and forgiving myself of shame, guilt and remorse was vital for happiness and clear thinking. Sober now for 13 years, I stand tall with humility. I have a beautiful wife and family with a wonderful career. I will be completing a Masters Degree in psychotherapy with drug addiction as my specialty in one year. I will always be grateful to Beacon House for showing me how to get my spirit back and for guiding me to my full potential and purpose in life. Always with love, thank you Beacon House!!! By the way, I did get off parole. Smile!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 23, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I entered the Beacon House as a resident in 1997 at 47 years old. I was literally a dying man due to drug and alcohol addiction for over 30 years of my life. The Beacon House challenged me to do the work of recovery, nurtured me throughout the process, motivated me to help others, and inspired me to live a purpose driven life. I continue to visit the Beacon House frequently and am avidly inolved with The Beacon House Alumin Association as many alumni are, as well. I am blessed to be employed as a counselor and grateful to have the opportunity to THANK THE BEACON HOUSE for being here and changing lives, helping the community, and changing my life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 20, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 20, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I first learned of Beacon House through Don Wrigley who invited me to San Pedro to help me with my own non-profit. Don was kind enough to give me the complete tour and introduce me to many people who once was a residence and now are back as volunteers. Beacon House is an inspiration to us all. Wouldn't the world be a better place if helping others was our focus. God Bless you Don and Beacon House

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I first learned about the Beacon House through one of their monthly "Bistro Nights" where the men serve delicious meals and provide great customer service. During that event is where I got an insight about the organization. All the men there were humble and grateful. One of the current staff members mentioned that he went through the program and wanted to give back by joining the staff. I will continue to attend their "Bistro Nights," which provides yummy food and great real-life skills.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

My son was a drug addict and an alcoholic and I held out very little hope for him. It was only when he came to Beacon house that he began his recovery process. This organization performs miracles on hopeless cases and enables them to become usefull citizens in the community. I will support the Beacon house for my lifetime.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Beacon House has given me an opportunity to succeed at life. I entered the house a broken man, bankrupt of any positive aspect of human self respect, and suicidal. The Beacon House staff guided me on working recovery, daily routines, checks and balances, positive reinforcement and a love for life. I have my daughter back into my life, I am employed, I have a home, with the bills paid on time, I have a car with legal insurance, registered, and licensed. To a person with normal responsibility tendencies, this seems probably.........small, but to a person like myself, these simple daily responsibilities were beyond my comprehension and ability. I am forever grateful to The Beacon House Association of San Pedro, its staff, and ALL clients, new and old. This program taught me the simple, basic characteristics to become a productive and responsible member of society, friend, and a father to my daughter.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Beacon House saved my family by saving my brother's life. I cannot say enough good things about this organization. My brother and family suffered for decades because of his alcohol and drug abuse. After his time at Beacon House, he is a new man, and we are blessed to have our family back together again! I thank God for the Beacon House Association, and it is my privilege to help them in any way I can.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My name is Mauricio. I was totally uncapable of stop drinking and using drugs, just wanted to die. The Beacon House saved my life, gave me support, brotherhood, showed me how to live and gave me a career in the culinary bussiness. All that for free, I was totally broke any way and they gave me back my dignity as human being.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I entered the Beacon House in 2005 after various attempts at being admitted elsewhere (i'm an alcoholic; i was looking for an easier softer way), however, each attempt was met with "you don't meet criteria" (aka you're unisured) or "our waiting list is three months long, please call us daily to check in". Ultimately, the disease of alcoholism beat me into a state of reasonableness and i called Beacon House. They didn't tell me call back....they didn't ask me for my insurance....they asked me, "Are you willing to go to any length for victory over alcohol?" I said yes even though i didn't know what that would entail. BEST THING I EVER DID IN MY LIFE!!!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you, Beacon House. I wil never be able to repay what you have given me, but Lord knows i'm gonna try. BEACON HOUSE MANTRA.....REACH FORWARD/GIVE BACK

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers