Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
1234.902445
| 1 2 3 4...8 |
Write A Review
April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Beacon House saved my family by saving my brother's life. I cannot say enough good things about this organization. My brother and family suffered for decades because of his alcohol and drug abuse. After his time at Beacon House, he is a new man, and we are blessed to have our family back together again! I thank God for the Beacon House Association, and it is my privilege to help them in any way I can.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Mauricio. I was totally uncapable of stop drinking and using drugs, just wanted to die. The Beacon House saved my life, gave me support, brotherhood, showed me how to live and gave me a career in the culinary bussiness. All that for free, I was totally broke any way and they gave me back my dignity as human being.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our son was deeply addicted to heroin. His addiction was destroying his life and seriously harming members of our family. We were all hurting. We finally had to tell our son that we would have no more contact with him unless he wanted us to drive him to rehab. A counselor in a homeless shelter told our son that he needed to go to Beacon House. He did, and he has now been clean and sober for over three years. He is enrolled in school and gets straight As. His conduct around family members is impeccable. He takes complete credit for his actions and is scrupulous in working the steps. I credit God and the outstanding staff at Beacon House for his turnaround. I am convinced that if our son had not entered Beacon House when he did, he would now be in prison or dead. He now has such a bright future. Every time we interact with Beacon House staff and residents, we are treated with respect and warm acceptance. I cannot say enough good about Beacon House! I always recommend it when counseling families in our church who struggle with addiction.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I entered the Beacon House in 2005 after various attempts at being admitted elsewhere (i'm an alcoholic; i was looking for an easier softer way), however, each attempt was met with "you don't meet criteria" (aka you're unisured) or "our waiting list is three months long, please call us daily to check in". Ultimately, the disease of alcoholism beat me into a state of reasonableness and i called Beacon House. They didn't tell me call back....they didn't ask me for my insurance....they asked me, "Are you willing to go to any length for victory over alcohol?" I said yes even though i didn't know what that would entail. BEST THING I EVER DID IN MY LIFE!!!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you, Beacon House. I wil never be able to repay what you have given me, but Lord knows i'm gonna try. BEACON HOUSE MANTRA.....REACH FORWARD/GIVE BACK

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Beacon House Association of San Pedro has helped many men, families, and the community over the past 40 years. Their high success rate is achieved by the social model, peer to peer style program. They speak the language of the heart. Men who arrive at Beacon House are broken men, bankrupt of any dignity, self respect, love for life or spirit. They are given a second chance in life, learn to live on life's terms, and become respectable, responsible members of society.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My name is jerry I came to the beacon house in2003 stright out of jail I had a pair of shorts and a tangtop to my name sleeping on moms couch and never finish school At the beacon house l learn a lot about my self and why I kept going to jail learned how to be responsible for my self witch I had never done before and why I did the things that I do then got the chance to go back to school and also got my contractors license to start my own business now have a good sober life that I know would have never happen with out the guidance and structure that came from the house I will be for ever greatful
and recommend it to anyone with a substance abuse problem.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Beacon House saved my life!!!! I was homeless, hopless Anson my way too death when I got saved by the beacon house. I learned so much about myself and why I was the way I was and the Beacon House has all the tools needed to help addicts and alcoholics like myself. Now I'm a productive member of society and even about to be a daddy!!!!! All thanks to the Beacon house. 5 years clean and sober and counting!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I will be forever grateful for all I learned at the Beacon House. After 35 years of undocumented substance abuse (the last 5 were homeless) I reached a point in my life where I wanted the pain to end. The way I saw it I had two choices, ask for help or step out in front of an express bus on 7th Street in Long Beach. On my knees one night I ask God for help, making a deal with Him if this madness was taken away I would do whatever He wanted for the rest of my life. Doors began to open, 21 days in the VA Hospital then to the Beacon House. I was the first person to graduate their 6 month program in 9 1/2 months. I was held back a couple graduations because they (Bill) saw fit to not let me graduate because there was still work for me to do on me. I did not agree at the time but by Feb. of 1999 I realized what I needed to do and followed the directions set in front of me. After graduation I went back to school at Univ. Ca, Dominguez Hills to get a certificate in Drug and Alcohol Counseling, getting on the road fulfilling the promise I made on my knees in April of 1998. I just retired from the Court of Justice in Kentucky as a Program Supervisor for one of their Drug Courts. I still continue to fulfill the promise I made in helping others with the disease of addiction. At one time I had an office next to my Drug Court Judge and had his security code to get into his office when I needed something. Whoever would have thought? My life is very good because as long as I continue to do what I agreed to do and not drink I do not have to worry about the next day. Beacon House taught me how to live happy, joyous and free from alcoholism. Thanks

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2001

April 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have not experienced anything like the Beacon House, they gave me a whole new out look on life and what I need was their structural program of recovery.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Simply the best Rehab in the country. I have been to several in my life and received the most professional and knowledgeable help I could have possibly wished for. I have recommended the Beacon House to others in the past and will continue to do so.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers