Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
99 Reviews
1234.868695
Write A Review
August 22, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 22, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have worked professionally in the field of addiction treatment for 37 years. Beacon House provides the deepest, most comprehensive and effective recovery of any treatment center I've ever heard of or encountered. The mental, emotional, behavioral, social and spiritual transformations in Beacon House men are nothing short of miraculous. I am proud to know these men of honor and grace, and grateful to all those who support The Beacon House.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I have watched my brother for many years struggle with addiction. I have checked him in and out of numerous rehab houses and programs. He would come out and be okay for a while and then bam, there he went again. When he went to Beacon House I thought, "Great another program that will help for a little while". Well was I ever wrong. My brother is clean and sober and now assists in getting others clean and sober. I have not seen my brother like this for many years. I am proud of my brother and I thank Beacon House every day for the support and guidance they have given Donald.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Beacon House has been helping my brother-in-law to become a productive member of society. Without this house he would still be homeless abusing drugs or maybe even dead. This house is great place for such of people who wants to change in life and be able to help others who are in the same situation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The Beacon House took in my brother 01/24/2013 without any strings attached. My ill mother and myself walked away with instructions to just take care of ourselves. Although I miss my brother dearly, and want him to know so many things while he is away getting his life back, I know the alternative for him would have been death. This truly amazing organization is helping my younger brother become the man I know he was always meant to be. I can't wait to reunite with my brother and see and hear about all of the progress that he has made.

Paying it forward is something the Beacon House does so well. I'm inspired by the hope they have for every person that walks in the door. Thank you all so much for that.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

My selfish self would love to write to my brother or know more about what he is going through, but I know that is why this program works so well. I know the shelter from the outside environments, family, and friends is necessary for the rehabilitation to work. I would NOT change a thing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 14, 2013

Hey my name is Adele. My experience at the house isn't being in it but apart it it. It gave me back my daddy which I never thought would be possible and it gave me new family and friends that I couldn... more

August 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I watched my husband crawl inside a 20$ rock of crack and take his 401K, a truck, an excellent job , and the most beautiful baby girl in right in behind him. He smoked up a loving home, a kind and loving family , wonderful step-children,a white picket fence and a marriage. Bad -doesn't even come close to all the ruined dreams........and one day he went to The Beacon House....at the time I remembered thinking- well this is the only "rehab" that you haven't tried... I had begun to think that he just couldn't stay clean and that he didn't want too. At first The House wouldn't allow outside contact which was hard for our daughter and I. But we waited...and we hoped...and we prayed....and prayed some more...I prayed for him to stay....and finally after 30 years of addiction.. he found a program that worked...he stayed clean..he went through counseling ...groups...volunteer activities..and he became a "real person"...He has strength of character now...he has become more spiritually sound... and he is able to be the best father he can be...that baby girl isn't waiting for someone who isn't coming any more he is early! :) Though our marriage did not survive the addiction, because of the Beacon house; our friendship did. I have a relationship with a wonderful man and he has been clean over five years- THANK YOU BEACON HOUSE-THANK YOU GOD

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Hey my name is Adele. My experience at the house isn't being in it but apart it it. It gave me back my daddy which I never thought would be possible and it gave me new family and friends that I couldn't have imagined I'd ever have. I am a girl yes but the house has given more than thought possible. It gave me my happiness back and I thank not only god but the beacon house that. I love you beacon house

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The Beacon House Has done for me what nothing else has been able to do. The friendships, the directions, the safety of this house is inspirational. I had nothing left to live for when I got here, yet the Beacon House has given me so many reasons to live.

I have a beautiful relationship
with my family that I didnt have before I got here. I feel useful and whole like I never felt before. The Beacon house has turned my life around from a suicidal dopefiend, to a useful member of society. I have a future now due to this house.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The Beacon House has helped me become a productive member of society. Without this house I would still be homeless abusing alcohol or maybe even dead. The house has taught me to give back, volunteer, and help others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I've watched my Uncle struggle with substance abuse pretty much my whole life. Watched my mom and the rest of my family try to save his life on numerous occasions and put him in numerous rehabs. They worked for a bit but he always went back to the old lifestyle. It was very painful to watch my uncle go through all this stuff because, when he was sober, he was the best uncle! And my mom and him were very close growing up. I got to the point where I was scared he would never be 100% sober.

Since being at the Beacon House, he is a different man than all the times he came out of rehabs. I see that this is the time "it will stick". I have never seen my uncle be so proud of himself and the Beacon House! His pride and his perseverance is amazing! Thank you Beacon House for bringing my Uncle back and giving my family back the man we always loved!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Beacon House is the best thing that has happened to my uncle. One of my favorite uncles growing he ran into some substance issues. But after getting involved with Beacon House, i have seen my uncle become a person to look up too. This is a special place, and i hope if anyone has family that needs help. Look into this place!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 3, 2013

more

August 3, 2013

A HOMELESS CHRISTMAS STORY by STEVE REIMER


IT WAS THE DAY BEFORE CHRISTMAS AND THE WAVES WERE PUMPING. CAN’T REMEMBER WHICH CHRISTMAS IT WAS. 1997 OR 98 I DON’T KNOW, ALL I KNOW IS I WAS HOMELESS. SO HERE I AM SITTING ON THE BEACH WITH MY SLEEPING BAG AND BACKPACK , A FIFTH OF VODKA
AND 58 CENTS TO MY NAME. LIKE I SAY THE WAVES WERE PUMPING, PERFECT RIGHTS AND LEFTS—EVERYONE WAS OUT IT SEEMED BUT ME.DRINKING MY VODKA I STARTED REFLECTING ON MY LIFE AND WHAT THE HELL HAPPENED, I SHOULD BE OUT IN THE WATER WITH THE REST OF MY FRIENDS.
BUT INSTEAD HERE I SIT—NO FRIENDS OR FAMILY TO SHARE CHRISTMAS WITH—JUST MY BOTTLE AND ME—I STARTED GETTING EMOTIONAL AND FEELING SORRY FOR MYSELF—THE MORE I DRANK THE MORE MISEABLE I GOT—AFTER WATCHING THE WAVES ALL DAY AND DOWN TO MY LAST DRINK—I DECIDED TO GO RECYCLING(CANNING) SO I COULD GET ANOTHER BOTTLE AND HAVE A LITTLE MONEY FOR CHRISTMAS DAY—I MADE IT AS FAR AS THE REDONDO BEACH PIER WHERE I STOPPPED TO TAKE A REST—AGAIN GETTING EMOTIONAL AT MY SAD STATE OF AFFAIRS I STARTED SINGING CHRISTMAS CAROLS WITH TEARS IN MY EYES—PEOPLE STARTED WALKING UP TO ME AND HANDING ME TWENTY DOLLARS BILLS AND TENS –SAYING MERRY CHRISTMAS GET SOMETHING TO EAT ON ME OR HAVE A DRINK ON ME—THE MORE MONEY THAT WAS HANDED TO ME THE MORE EMOTIONAL I BECAME-HERE IT IS THE CHRISTMAS SPIRIT AND ALL THESE PEOPLE HANDING ME MONEY—THESE ARE THE SAME PEOPLE WHO IN A WEEK OR SO AFTER NEW YEARS IS CALLING THE COPS ON ME FOR DRUNK IN PUBLIC OR SOME OTHER FUNKY CRIME—WHY CAN’T PEOPLE HAVE THAT CHRISTMAS SPIRIT ALL YEAR AROUND—
BY THE WAY I WALKED OFF THE REDONDO BEACH PIER $130.58 RICHER—I WENT STRAIGHT TO ALBERTSONS GOT A HALF GALLON OF VODKA AND A RACK OF THE BBQ RIBS WENT TO HERMOSA TO CAMP ON THE BEACH AND GET PLOWED—HOPE CHAPEL WAS HAVING A CHRISTMAS SPREAD ON THE STRAND AND PIER AVENUE THE NEXT MORNING .IF IT WAS’NT FOR GOD GIVING ME THAT MOMENT OF CLARITY AND LEADING ME TO THE BEACON HOUSE AND THE ROOMS OF A.A. I’D STILL BE LIVING THE MISERY OR MORE LIKELY DEAD. I’M SO GLAD MY LIFE IS DIFFERENT TODAY AND THERE IS FAMILY AND FRIENDS (REAL FRIENDS) TO SHARE CHRISTMAS WITH, I WILL ALWAYS BE GRATEFULTO GOD, THE BEACON HOUSE, AND THE ROOMS OF ALCOHOLICS ANONYMOUS FOR THE SECOND CHANCE AT LIFE.
STEVEN A. REIMER

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers