Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
99 Reviews
1234.868695
Write A Review
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

First I give all credit to my higher power who I call God .if was not for the beacon house I would truly be lost this house show me how important life is and how to handle every day problem with out drugs and alcohol ever thing I learn there. Will put it this way if you think you have a problem with drugs and alcohol then go to the beacon house and you will find out what I'm talking about Thank you god and the house Mike Grindle
October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am very grateful for the Beacon House being there for me when I neede it to be. I had to go through the house twice because I was very hard headed. I still wanted to have my cake and eat it the way that I wanted to. But GOD had other plans for me. Beacon House was that plan!!!! Now today I have my life back and I'm doing just fine. I owe everything to that house and the people there that help me get here.

Thank you
July 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I became aware of Beacon House because of my nephew who credits Beacon House and its program with saving his life. I know his family had tried many other programs, but it wasn't until he entered Beacon that he was able to get the help he needed to deal effectively with his addictions. I recently spent time with my nephew and could not believe the changes in him. Because of the program and his hard work, he is an outstanding, caring individual and a complete joy to be around. I cannot say enough good about the work that goes on at Beacon House. My nephew and I had many discussions during our time together about the program and the impact it has had on his life. The more I learn about Beacon House, the more impressed I become. Beacon House is amazing!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand it's service area

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 16, 2013

Our son was deeply addicted to heroin. His addiction was destroying his life and seriously harming members of our family. We were all hurting. We finally had to tell our son that we would have no more... more

July 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My son began using weed when he was 14. As is typical of many drug users, he found that he could escape the pain of his core issues by getting high. He gradually tried many other drugs, mushrooms, inhalants, lsd, and heroin. My husband and I were frantic. We tried everything we could think of, including a lock-down rehab in another state. Nothing worked. Our family was falling apart, and the tension between my husband and me grew to the point where I doubted if our marriage could survive. Our son was in his late twenties and living on the streets when he found Beacon House. He has been clean and sober for over four years. He has a full-time job, he is well on his way to getting his associate's degree, and he is financially independent. But most importantly, through applying all he has learned at Beacon House, he is addressing those very issues that drove him to drug use in the first place. He works the program. He gives back daily to the residents of Beacon House. He has a bright future. He is a joy to be around. In all honesty, if he had not found Beacon House when he did, I believe he would either be in prison or dead by now. Beacon House - the people who helped him - and the 12 steps saved my son's life. We invite Beacon House residents into our home whenever it is appropriate to do so, and we have seen many fine young men benefiting in a similar manner. I cannot say enough good things about Beacon House!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways to expand it so that even more men could be helped. Perhaps apply the program used at Beacon House to a women's facility.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our son was deeply addicted to heroin. His addiction was destroying his life and seriously harming members of our family. We were all hurting. We finally had to tell our son that we would have no more contact with him unless he wanted us to drive him to rehab. A counselor in a homeless shelter told our son that he needed to go to Beacon House. He did, and he has now been clean and sober for over three years. He is enrolled in school and gets straight As. His conduct around family members is impeccable. He takes complete credit for his actions and is scrupulous in working the steps. I credit God and the outstanding staff at Beacon House for his turnaround. I am convinced that if our son had not entered Beacon House when he did, he would now be in prison or dead. He now has such a bright future. Every time we interact with Beacon House staff and residents, we are treated with respect and warm acceptance. I cannot say enough good about Beacon House! I always recommend it when counseling families in our church who struggle with addiction.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Beacon House saved my brother's life. He's been an addict since junior high and has been through various programs and rehabs. But Beacon House was the only place that helped him face his core issues to really change his thinking and give him the tools he needs to stay in recovery for the rest of his life. I will forever be grateful to the people at Beacon House for giving me back my brother.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My name is Wayne Timmerman and I have been an Alumnus since 1999. Through the process of the primary program and the second phase (sober living) that the Beacon House Association offers, I was able to go back to school, get a college degree (graduated 2007), obtain a job at CSU Dominguez Hills (hired 2007) and become a productive member of society.
Thank You,
Wayne

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None, they are doing fine with the changes they make when needed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My is Nathan Caito and he has been in the program for some time now, and I have seen the change in his life. He finished High School and is now in College and going after his dreams. Thank you Beacon House for keeping your doors open and willing to help and give hope.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 7, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I have had the opportunity to work with Beacon House without really knowing much about them. I was energized and excited about their program, their success rate, and especially with the staff and the participants. I was shown so much respect and kindness, which is a sharp contrast to our society which has lost much of its manners, and general consideration for its fellow man. Beacon House has created a program that really works, not only helping with addiction, but in all areas of life. I see lovely people helping other people to succeed in life. I am in awe of the program and the people at the Beacon House, and am honored to be associated with them.

Kelly Moses

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Beacon House has saved my son and I owe it everything.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

My uncle has had a rough life, in and out of rehabs that promised to help keep him clean, and in and out of failed relationships and marriages. When he married the last time, I knew he had a great wife and thought that no one could ever get him back into drugs because now he has someone that will be there for him and help him through anything. She has always been there even after he got back into drugs. His love for her didn't keep him from getting back into drugs like I had prayed and hoped. He went through another failed marriage due to his addiction. His family, latest wife and friends have always tried to be there for him and help get him through this. We had started to feel as if there was nothing anyone of us could do. Then he went to the beacon house and his life has turned completely around. Giving him the opportunity to stay around and help others once his treatment was done, was in my opinion, the best thing for him. I remember family outings with his wife and children and he loved his job. He was successful and then all that was gone in the blink of an eye but now it is back and he is enjoying life again. He see's his daughter again, has maintained his relationship with his latest wife, and if there for his family again. Unfortunately, I don't get to see him all the time as I don't live in the area but I enjoy his emails and updates. I can read the difference in him. He is becoming the uncle I loved again. Beacon house has made such a difference in him that we cannot thank you enough. You brought back a missing piece of our family. I don't have to worry about that dreaded drug overdose call and I am very thankful for that. Thank you for giving my uncle back his life.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers