Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
92 Reviews
1234.869575
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I learned about the Beacon house about a year ago through a very good friend of mine. I was like most people thinking it was just a "rehab" where people stay for a little while and go back to doing what they always have before entering one. But honestly, this is like no other place I have encountered. The men here work really hard to become "clean and sober" and stay this way for life. They work with the public/ community in many different ways. They continue their education. They go on to become successful human beings in today's society. I am honored to have been able to work along side these men for different events this past year. It has been wonderful to see the growth in each of them.
October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

After 14 other programs that were focused more on how I was going to pay for my program than returning me to society as a productive member, I was refered to the Beacon House. I didnt want to go, I thought that after 15 yrs of AA and 14 programs that this was just going to be the same as before. I was suicidel and hopeless. So, I went. It was the toughest thing I ever experienced, but, the most rewarding. I came in with no family (no mother, father, siblings etc. for over 20 yrs) and now I have more famiy that I can imagine. The desire to drink after the first few months without me even knowing about it. What did happen was I found that being alive was fun and enjoyable. If your thinking your different and nothing can help you, or your probems are unique...this is the place for you. I am now gainfully employed with a new career because I was given the opportunity to return to school and get a degree here at the house. How many programs do we know about that would let a man stay for four years so that he can get a degree? Only one .... the Beacon House. That's becasue they truey care about others and their futures. I can go on and on about how special this Association is. I just want to express that the house didnt save my life, it gave e a brande new one!
Garrett O.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Woudnt change anything!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

NOT ONLY DID I STOP DRINKING FOREVER I NOW KNOW WHO AND WHERE I AM AND WHERE I'M GOING ..LIFE IS GREAT NOW THE DOWN'S ARE NOT SO HARD TO DEAL WITH AND THE UP'S ARE EVEN BETTER , I SEE THE MY SELF OTHER PEOPLE AND THE WORLD THROUGH A NEW PAIR OF GLASSES I WOULD LIKE TO THANK GOD AND THE BEACON HOUSE FOR GIVING ME BACK MY LIFE ... I NOW ENJOY HELPING OTHERS TO GET THERE'S BACK AS WELL....GOD BLESS !!!
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

First I give all credit to my higher power who I call God .if was not for the beacon house I would truly be lost this house show me how important life is and how to handle every day problem with out drugs and alcohol ever thing I learn there. Will put it this way if you think you have a problem with drugs and alcohol then go to the beacon house and you will find out what I'm talking about Thank you god and the house Mike Grindle
October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am very grateful for the Beacon House being there for me when I neede it to be. I had to go through the house twice because I was very hard headed. I still wanted to have my cake and eat it the way that I wanted to. But GOD had other plans for me. Beacon House was that plan!!!! Now today I have my life back and I'm doing just fine. I owe everything to that house and the people there that help me get here.

Thank you
July 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I became aware of Beacon House because of my nephew who credits Beacon House and its program with saving his life. I know his family had tried many other programs, but it wasn't until he entered Beacon that he was able to get the help he needed to deal effectively with his addictions. I recently spent time with my nephew and could not believe the changes in him. Because of the program and his hard work, he is an outstanding, caring individual and a complete joy to be around. I cannot say enough good about the work that goes on at Beacon House. My nephew and I had many discussions during our time together about the program and the impact it has had on his life. The more I learn about Beacon House, the more impressed I become. Beacon House is amazing!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand it's service area

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 16, 2013

Our son was deeply addicted to heroin. His addiction was destroying his life and seriously harming members of our family. We were all hurting. We finally had to tell our son that we would have no more... more

July 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My son began using weed when he was 14. As is typical of many drug users, he found that he could escape the pain of his core issues by getting high. He gradually tried many other drugs, mushrooms, inhalants, lsd, and heroin. My husband and I were frantic. We tried everything we could think of, including a lock-down rehab in another state. Nothing worked. Our family was falling apart, and the tension between my husband and me grew to the point where I doubted if our marriage could survive. Our son was in his late twenties and living on the streets when he found Beacon House. He has been clean and sober for over four years. He has a full-time job, he is well on his way to getting his associate's degree, and he is financially independent. But most importantly, through applying all he has learned at Beacon House, he is addressing those very issues that drove him to drug use in the first place. He works the program. He gives back daily to the residents of Beacon House. He has a bright future. He is a joy to be around. In all honesty, if he had not found Beacon House when he did, I believe he would either be in prison or dead by now. Beacon House - the people who helped him - and the 12 steps saved my son's life. We invite Beacon House residents into our home whenever it is appropriate to do so, and we have seen many fine young men benefiting in a similar manner. I cannot say enough good things about Beacon House!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways to expand it so that even more men could be helped. Perhaps apply the program used at Beacon House to a women's facility.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our son was deeply addicted to heroin. His addiction was destroying his life and seriously harming members of our family. We were all hurting. We finally had to tell our son that we would have no more contact with him unless he wanted us to drive him to rehab. A counselor in a homeless shelter told our son that he needed to go to Beacon House. He did, and he has now been clean and sober for over three years. He is enrolled in school and gets straight As. His conduct around family members is impeccable. He takes complete credit for his actions and is scrupulous in working the steps. I credit God and the outstanding staff at Beacon House for his turnaround. I am convinced that if our son had not entered Beacon House when he did, he would now be in prison or dead. He now has such a bright future. Every time we interact with Beacon House staff and residents, we are treated with respect and warm acceptance. I cannot say enough good about Beacon House! I always recommend it when counseling families in our church who struggle with addiction.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Beacon House saved my brother's life. He's been an addict since junior high and has been through various programs and rehabs. But Beacon House was the only place that helped him face his core issues to really change his thinking and give him the tools he needs to stay in recovery for the rest of his life. I will forever be grateful to the people at Beacon House for giving me back my brother.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My name is Wayne Timmerman and I have been an Alumnus since 1999. Through the process of the primary program and the second phase (sober living) that the Beacon House Association offers, I was able to go back to school, get a college degree (graduated 2007), obtain a job at CSU Dominguez Hills (hired 2007) and become a productive member of society.
Thank You,
Wayne

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None, they are doing fine with the changes they make when needed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My is Nathan Caito and he has been in the program for some time now, and I have seen the change in his life. He finished High School and is now in College and going after his dreams. Thank you Beacon House for keeping your doors open and willing to help and give hope.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers