Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
90 Reviews
1234.944445
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have loved to be a part of this charity for the past year. After any natural disaster, Be the Star You Are immediately responds with action. The radio show produced by Starstyle Productions has also been fun to be a part of. In a society that places so much emphasis on teens growing up and problems with peer pressure, it's great to have a charity dedicated towards making sure teens are all that they are supposed to be, with positive influences in the media. Be the Star You Are allows for good interactions with other teens who also are interested in the same things as you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012

more


1 previous review
January 25, 2011

I've volunteered for a long time with Be the Star You Are, but recently I had the occassion to be served by the charity. When my younger sister passed away recently, Cynthia dedicated a segment of he... more

May 29, 2012

The positive energy this organization has always brought to its Mission never ceases. Youth, women and families, and people in crisis everywhere have benefited from the message of hope and help and cheer that comes from Be the Star You Are!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2011

I've volunteered for a long time with Be the Star You Are, but recently I had the occassion to be served by the charity. When my younger sister passed away recently, Cynthia dedicated a segment of her radio show to my talented sister, who wrote 2 chapters for the Book "Be the Star You Are!-For TEENS". That was a great service to me during my time of need. This organization strives to really be there for people. Thank you.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Reading reviews of people who have been served by the organization, and coming to understand how they have really been changed for the better.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to get the word out on a national basis.

May 18, 2012

more

May 18, 2012

I am a volunteer at Be The Star You Are and I cannot think of a better charity to devote my time to. The leader, Cynthia Bryan, is among one of the nicest people I have ever met and is solely out to help kids as much as she can. This organization is by far one of the better and more productive ones out there!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2012

more

May 17, 2012

I came across this group by browsing through volunteer's pages form an internal website from my company. I read about them to know exactly what they did and decided to volunteer. Only minutes after I sent my request, an e-mail came back with the response. I was very happy to know that I could help them, and it was awesome to read the kindness in the group's e mails.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2012

more

May 15, 2012

This organization and the work of Cynthia Brian offers a great value to young people yearning to express themselves. In addition to various performing offerings BTSYA is a literacy organization and as such helps lift young people in two vital ways. First by gaining knowledge and then by expressing is in creative ways.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2012

more

May 15, 2012

BTSYA is a great way that teenagers reach out to other teenagers and give them a voice in their world. It also gives teens the opportunity to experience what it's like to work as a radio broadcaster, technician, photographer, etc. in the future. In addition, Cynthia Brian is a great supporter who dedicates 100% to help her volunteers achieve their dreams.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 14, 2012

more

May 14, 2012

I was one of two videographers for the radio show for Express Yourself, which is a teen radio show, supported by Be The Star You Are (BTSYA). BTSYA and the Express Yourself radio show was set up in a booth at the Moraga Faire. I was surprised and pleased at the professionalism and expertise of the teen radio announcer. All the volunteers were eager to help, and did a great job. Cynthia Brian kept the BTSYA booth running smoothly and efficiently. This is a terrific program for kids and teens. I think that we need a whole lot more of Be The Star You Are and the Express Yourself radio show.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people to support them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

All videography experiences help me to be a better filmmaker. This one did too.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I felt that I was being of service to a very worthy organization. It feels good.

May 11, 2012

more

May 11, 2012

Be the Star You Are!® under the outstanding support and guidence of Cynthia Brian has been able to create the Express Yourself Teen Radio program which is the #1 listened to program on Voice America Kids Channel. This program really does give our youth a voice in the world. When Teens Talk the WORLD Listens. Great Job everyone!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012

more

May 11, 2012

Though I haven't worked with Be the Star You Are for an exceptionally long time, in just the year and a half that I've been involved, I have seen just how talented Cynthia is in directing the organization to pursue greater and more expansive goals. Cynthia is always looking for new ways to improve the mission of the charity, and reaching out to provide literacy to more people and youth across the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 26, 2011

more

January 26, 2011

I've provided community outreach and acted as radio coordinator for BTSYA for over a year now. I'm delighted to be a part of such a positive, uplifting organization. The all volunteer staff is a dedicated group that upholds the mission of BTSYA which is a direct result of its founder, Cynthia Brian.



Cynthia Brian is a tireless director whose mission is to uplift and empower touches everyone she encounters.



As an extension of her charity, her radio program broadcasting since 1998, continues to touch lives by promoting authors and experts that send positive messages and important educational information to better lives.







The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

through the positive feedback from the community it serves

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

widen the charity's recognition in order that the charity may be able to receive more funding to meet more of the needs of the people it serves

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer with:1. our Letters for Literacy program2. our Book Review Team3. our Social Networking Team4. a community event5. deliver books to those in need6. become a reporter on our teen radio program7. finding beneficiaries who need our support8. fundraising9. Find a sponsor for our next national Essay Contest Volunteer