Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
90 Reviews
1234.944445
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

Be the Star You Are is a great non profit organization that has given me amazing opportunities. Since I was a child I was interested in media and communications. This organization gave me the chance to really experience what radio and writing for a local newspaper was like. I never thought I'd be able to host an internationally recognized teen radio program. My love for radio and journalism has solidified because of Be the Star You Are. I am forever thankful for the opportunities and doors BTSYA has opened for me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

Be the Star You Are!® is one of the best nonprofit organizations that I have ever volunteered for. Cynthia Brian, the founder, is a dedicated leader whom I've learned so much from. It's been more than three years since I first joined this community as a Star Volunteer Researcher, and this year, I was appointed as Show Administrator of the ExpressYourself! radio program under Be the Star You Are!®. All the opportunities I received from this organization has gifted me with experience and skills that would undoubtedly help me in the future.

Be the Star You Are!® has altered my life drastically; it has motivated me and helped me gain a positive outlook for my future. I am inspired everyday as I volunteer with this community of star leaders!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

BTSYA has given me opportunities I would never had dreamed of. I just started volunteering with this organization last year, but it's already made an impact. Cynthia Brian, the founder, is such a supportive mentor in my volunteering for a cause that I would fight to the end for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 19, 2012

To my great pleasure, I have been a volunteer with Be the Star You Are! charity for almost a decade now - I started out doing book reviews at the beginning of middle school, and am now a sophomore in ... more

April 24, 2013

I was involved in various projects with Be the Star You Are! for 5 years, and in that time had the opportunity to get to know this inspiring charity inside and out. I began on the book review team, which I felt has always helped provide excellent tools for educators and youth to find good books that they are interested in and hopefully go on to develop a lifelong love of reading. This project also provides new volunteers with a way to become involved in the charity and to potentially develop a passion for the charity’s causes.

As I gradually became involved in more projects with the charity such as events and online sales, I was truly able to sense the passion and dedication that founder Cynthia Brian and her volunteers bring to their work. Those involved with BTSYA exemplify commitment and constantly inspire the best out of each other. From knowing Cynthia and being influenced by her example, I have personally grown as a reader, a writer, a contributor to the community, and a young adult in general. The mission statement and a dedication to carrying it out has pushed me and my peers at BTSYA to bring energy, creativity, cooperation, compromise, hard work, and a knack for problem solving to whatever tasks we are faced with. Creating the leaders of tomorrow begins with empowering the youth of today, something BTSYA really does for those who are involved it. BTSYA gave me the opportunity to have so many valuable and hard-to-come-by experiences, from book reviewing to volunteer coordinating to event planning to, most recently, radio starring and hosting.

We all know about the extensive contributions that BTSYA makes to the larger community—book donations to disaster relief efforts such as Hurricane Katrina, a long list of beneficiary organizations, thousands of dollars worth of books donated to those in need, a top-rated radio show by and for teens, and the list goes on. To add on to that, BTSYA is equally effective in empowering its own young adult, men, and women volunteers. The charity truly sheds a positive influence on all those affiliated and empowers us to become the stars within us!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

To my great pleasure, I have been a volunteer with Be the Star You Are! charity for almost a decade now - I started out doing book reviews at the beginning of middle school, and am now a sophomore in college. Throughout my years working with the organization, I've had the opportunity to be a book reviewer, radio reporter, event planner, writer, and a whole range of other roles. In each one of them, I not only gained a whole set of unique skills and experiences, but also felt that I was able to make great contributions with my time. Be the Star You Are! is one of the most versatile nonprofits that I've been fortunate enough to be involved in, and also genuinely lives up to its motto to empower youth, women and families. I give BTSYA my highest recommendation!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

Since I've been volunteering with BTSYA, I've been able to use my research skills to find authors and guests for our award winning radio program as well as stretch my abilities by interviewing various professionals and reporting on the air with my segment, Pro Parlay. I am now learning to write scripts and co-host programs. It's fun, educational, and spreads our message of the importance of literacy and positive messages. It's definitely a program that has positively impacted youth around the world and will continue to change lives around the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

Since I won Honorable Mention in the Be the Star You Are!® National Essay Contest when I was fifteen, I've been involved with the charity. From writing book reviews, to being the event coordinator, and a reporter on the radio show, Express Yourself!™, it's been a rewarding experience. I'm now a freshman in college and still involved. I enjoyed singing live on the air for our Thanksgiving and One Year Anniversary Radio Special. I've had such a fun and enjoyable time volunteering with BTSYA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

I'm taking over the reins of being event coordinator for Be the Star You Are!® since my sister has gone off to college. It's been fun working with everyone and I look forward to a long term relationship with the organization. Best of all, I get to sing on the radio to a global audience. It's wonderful to be involved with a charity that truly cares about sharing the opinions and voices of teenagers. I've had such an incredible experience working for BTSYA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more


1 previous review
May 12, 2012

Cynthia is an amazing person. She is really passionate about helping young people find a voice in a community where teen opinion is usually repressed. Working on radio with her is exciting and always ... more

November 17, 2012

I never thought I'd be published in the newspaper or be the host of the #1 teen radio show in the world, but because of the mentorship of Cynthia Brian and Be the Star You Are!® charity, I am living the dream. Volunteering with BTSYA is a great training ground for life in the real world. I love the journalism/media career but even if I don't choose that career, there are so many valuable skills that I've learned from this experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 12, 2012

Cynthia is an amazing person. She is really passionate about helping young people find a voice in a community where teen opinion is usually repressed. Working on radio with her is exciting and always broadens my horizons. Without Cynthia, I wouldn't have been able to explore radio. Radio is something that I've come to love doing and it's a great hobby of mine. It's unthinkable that I might not have been able to find this passion of mine. Cynthia tries really hard at everything she does, whether it's events like Moraga Faire or weekly radio. She's constantly helping everyone push themselves and become better at what they love doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Because of Be the Star You Are!® charity, I get to use my interests in economics while being a radio reporter on Express Yourself!™ and I have a technology column in the newspaper. It's great to volunteer with a charity that actually lets me grow my talents and interests! It is an awesome non-profit that not only does great work but really offers an opportunity for anyone to get involved and apply their own unique and individual skills.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

This is my first year in BTSYA, and my experience has been wonderful. The whole system is well organized and well managed. The communication between the editors and writers is immediate and constructive. BTSYA gives students like me the chance to contribute to charity in a fun and educational way that encourages them to share their voice in society. For this reason, I rate them as a five star organization.
When I first joined BTSYA, I did not know there was such a public way for teens to express their thoughts and views to the world. By getting involved and contributing to this organization, I see numerous ways that teens can be heard and realize how much our opinions can matter. By writing for the Lamorinda Weekly, I have the opportunity to express my views and the views of teens in our community as well as improve my writing. I can also help others by doing something I am passionate about.
I appreciate the opportunity BTSYA provides me with and plan to continue to participate in this organization for many years in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer with:1. our Letters for Literacy program2. our Book Review Team3. our Social Networking Team4. a community event5. deliver books to those in need6. become a reporter on our teen radio program7. finding beneficiaries who need our support8. fundraising9. Find a sponsor for our next national Essay Contest Volunteer