Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
85 Reviews
1234.988245
| 1 2 3 4...7 |
Write A Review
November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Because of Be the Star You Are!® charity, I get to use my interests in economics while being a radio reporter on Express Yourself!™ and I have a technology column in the newspaper. It's great to volunteer with a charity that actually lets me grow my talents and interests! It is an awesome non-profit that not only does great work but really offers an opportunity for anyone to get involved and apply their own unique and individual skills.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

This is my first year in BTSYA, and my experience has been wonderful. The whole system is well organized and well managed. The communication between the editors and writers is immediate and constructive. BTSYA gives students like me the chance to contribute to charity in a fun and educational way that encourages them to share their voice in society. For this reason, I rate them as a five star organization.
When I first joined BTSYA, I did not know there was such a public way for teens to express their thoughts and views to the world. By getting involved and contributing to this organization, I see numerous ways that teens can be heard and realize how much our opinions can matter. By writing for the Lamorinda Weekly, I have the opportunity to express my views and the views of teens in our community as well as improve my writing. I can also help others by doing something I am passionate about.
I appreciate the opportunity BTSYA provides me with and plan to continue to participate in this organization for many years in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have loved to be a part of this charity for the past year. After any natural disaster, Be the Star You Are immediately responds with action. The radio show produced by Starstyle Productions has also been fun to be a part of. In a society that places so much emphasis on teens growing up and problems with peer pressure, it's great to have a charity dedicated towards making sure teens are all that they are supposed to be, with positive influences in the media. Be the Star You Are allows for good interactions with other teens who also are interested in the same things as you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012

more


1 previous review
January 25, 2011

I've volunteered for a long time with Be the Star You Are, but recently I had the occassion to be served by the charity. When my younger sister passed away recently, Cynthia dedicated a segment of he... more

May 29, 2012

The positive energy this organization has always brought to its Mission never ceases. Youth, women and families, and people in crisis everywhere have benefited from the message of hope and help and cheer that comes from Be the Star You Are!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2011

I've volunteered for a long time with Be the Star You Are, but recently I had the occassion to be served by the charity. When my younger sister passed away recently, Cynthia dedicated a segment of her radio show to my talented sister, who wrote 2 chapters for the Book "Be the Star You Are!-For TEENS". That was a great service to me during my time of need. This organization strives to really be there for people. Thank you.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Reading reviews of people who have been served by the organization, and coming to understand how they have really been changed for the better.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to get the word out on a national basis.

May 25, 2012

more

May 25, 2012

We at the Good-Earth Store have been donating a percentage of our profits to Be The Star You are for over a year. One of their main goals is to promote literacy which we believe reduces other social issues like crime and teen pregnancy, as it gives people self worth. We also know that our dollars are well spent on the cause, not someone's salary.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 18, 2012

more

May 18, 2012

I am a volunteer at Be The Star You Are and I cannot think of a better charity to devote my time to. The leader, Cynthia Bryan, is among one of the nicest people I have ever met and is solely out to help kids as much as she can. This organization is by far one of the better and more productive ones out there!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2012

more

May 17, 2012

I came across this group by browsing through volunteer's pages form an internal website from my company. I read about them to know exactly what they did and decided to volunteer. Only minutes after I sent my request, an e-mail came back with the response. I was very happy to know that I could help them, and it was awesome to read the kindness in the group's e mails.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2012

more

May 15, 2012

This organization and the work of Cynthia Brian offers a great value to young people yearning to express themselves. In addition to various performing offerings BTSYA is a literacy organization and as such helps lift young people in two vital ways. First by gaining knowledge and then by expressing is in creative ways.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2012

more


1 previous review
May 24, 2010

I have been a fan of Be the Star You Are!® non profit since it was founded in 1999. The founder and Executive Director, Cynthia Brian, is tireless about helping women and youth be successful. As an... more

May 15, 2012

"My strength is with numbers so I have always admired the outreach programs of Be the Star You Are!® because they stress the importance of literacy with their motto, "Read, lead, succeed." With their creative community web site at www.BTSYA.com to encourage the young-at-heart to "Express Yourself!" and the new radio show of the same name produced by founder Cynthia Brian, I really have hope for the youth of the world. Be the Star You Are!™ is an amazing grassroots charity that deserves donations and financial support."

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 24, 2010

I have been a fan of Be the Star You Are!® non profit since it was founded in 1999. The founder and Executive Director, Cynthia Brian, is tireless about helping women and youth be successful. As an accountant, I have witnessed the struggles that grassroots charities face. Because of the commitment of Cynthia and her army of young volunteers, Be the Star You Are!® continues to find ways to survive and thrive, always helping those less fortunate. When 9/11 happened, Be the Star You Are!® was one of the first charities to mobilize to get resources to the victims of the disaster with Operation Ground Hero. Because it’s a small non profit, there is not the red tape we often witness in big business, therefore, this charity is mighty. They have a program whereby you can donate $99 to Be the Star You Are!® and they’ll ship $500 of brand new books to a charity or cause of your choice. This is a great way to help your own special organization as well as Be the Star You Are

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They have a radio show that broadcasts weekly across the world on the internet exposing audiences to new books as well as positive ideas. That program really helps in increasing the appreciation of books and open communication. In addition, they have two inspirational books, Be the Star You Are! 99 Gifts for Living, Loving, Laughing, and Learning to Make A Difference and Be the Star You Are!® for Teens. I’ve bought both of these and recommend them to everyone. I also have been aware of the level of help these resources have given to kids in juvenile halls, offering hope, especially to the incarcerated girls. Be the Star You Are!® has always done a lot for these kids. Kinds of Staff: AMAZING teens mentored by Cynthia Brian. Most of the volunteers are junior high-college with a majority of them girls. Cynthia has them on the track to be leaders and empowers them to be their greatest selves. Other volunteers include adult men and women who really care about making a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

if I had more money to donate to them, I’d feel like a champion. Every little bit helps, though. In my opinion, the biggest challenge: Funding, funding, funding. Everyone is a volunteer and it’s difficult to run an organization with all volunteers. I’d like to see Be the Star You Are!® receive federal, state, or ongoing foundation funding so that they could hire a couple of excellent employees as well as pay the Executive Director. One last thing: Be the Star You Are!® is the real deal. I’ve watched them closely for almost eleven years and all I have to give is PRAISE, PRAISE, PRAISE. Everyone has integrity, they do what they say they do, and, although they have had little financial backing, they have succeeded in their mission to help women, families, and youth. You can help them by buying their books, sponsoring their radio show, or making them a beneficiary of your event. You won’t be disappointed when you donate to this organization. It’s all tax deductible, too. Again, visit the web site at www.bethestaryouare.org.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

I have been a fan of Be the Star You Are!® non profit since it was founded in 1999. The founder and Executive Director, Cynthia Brian, is tireless about helping women and youth be successful. As an accountant, I have witnessed the struggles that grassroots charities face. Because of the commitment of Cynthia and her army of young volunteers, Be the Star You Are!® continues to find ways to survive and thrive, always helping those less fortunate. When 9/11 happened, Be the Star You Are!® was one of the first charities to mobilize to get resources to the victims of the disaster with Operation Ground Hero. Because it’s a small non profit, there is not the red tape we often witness in big business, therefore, this charity is mighty. They have a program whereby you can donate $99 to Be the Star You Are!® and they’ll ship $500 of brand new books to a charity or cause of your choice. This is a great way to help your own special organization as well as Be the Star You Are!®. You can get more info at www.bethestaryouare.org.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

AMAZING teens mentored by Cynthia Brian. Most of the volunteers are junior high-college with a majority of them girls. Cynthia has them on the track to be leaders and empowers them to be their greatest selves. Other volunteers include adult men and women who really care about making a difference.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

First of all, they would be able to hire a competent staff, pay the Executive Director, fund their radio and media projects, and be 100% focused on its mission of empowering women, families, and youth through improved literacy and increased positive media. Second, the charity could give a book to a million women around the US and increase the power of women. Third, with $10 million, they would be the leaders in eradicating illiteracy and could implement other programs on their wish list that truly would change the world for the better. Let’s get them $10 Million.

Ways to make it better...

if I had more money to donate to them, I’d feel like a champion. Every little bit helps, though.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Funding, funding, funding. Everyone is a volunteer and it’s difficult to run an organization with all volunteers. I’d like to see Be the Star You Are!® receive federal, state, or ongoing foundation funding so that they could hire a couple of excellent employees as well as pay the Executive Director.

One thing I'd also say is that...

Be the Star You Are!® is the real deal. I’ve watched them closely for almost eleven years and all I have to give is PRAISE, PRAISE, PRAISE. Everyone has integrity, they do what they say they do, and, although they have had little financial backing, they have succeeded in their mission to help women, families, and youth. You can help them by buying their books, sponsoring their radio show, or making them a beneficiary of your event. You won’t be disappointed when you donate to this organization. It’s all tax deductible, too. Again, visit the web site at www.bethestaryouare.org.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 15, 2012

more

May 15, 2012

BTSYA is a great way that teenagers reach out to other teenagers and give them a voice in their world. It also gives teens the opportunity to experience what it's like to work as a radio broadcaster, technician, photographer, etc. in the future. In addition, Cynthia Brian is a great supporter who dedicates 100% to help her volunteers achieve their dreams.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer with:
1. our Letters for Literacy program
2. our Book Review Team
3. our Social Networking Team
4. a community event
5. deliver books to those in need
6. become a reporter on our teen radio program
7. finding beneficiaries who need our support
8. fundraising
9. Find a sponsor for our next national Essay Contest Volunteer