Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
90 Reviews
1234.944445
| 1 2 3 4...7 |
Write A Review
November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

Since I won Honorable Mention in the Be the Star You Are!® National Essay Contest when I was fifteen, I've been involved with the charity. From writing book reviews, to being the event coordinator, and a reporter on the radio show, Express Yourself!™, it's been a rewarding experience. I'm now a freshman in college and still involved. I enjoyed singing live on the air for our Thanksgiving and One Year Anniversary Radio Special. I've had such a fun and enjoyable time volunteering with BTSYA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

I'm taking over the reins of being event coordinator for Be the Star You Are!® since my sister has gone off to college. It's been fun working with everyone and I look forward to a long term relationship with the organization. Best of all, I get to sing on the radio to a global audience. It's wonderful to be involved with a charity that truly cares about sharing the opinions and voices of teenagers. I've had such an incredible experience working for BTSYA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more


1 previous review
May 12, 2012

Cynthia is an amazing person. She is really passionate about helping young people find a voice in a community where teen opinion is usually repressed. Working on radio with her is exciting and always ... more

November 17, 2012

I never thought I'd be published in the newspaper or be the host of the #1 teen radio show in the world, but because of the mentorship of Cynthia Brian and Be the Star You Are!® charity, I am living the dream. Volunteering with BTSYA is a great training ground for life in the real world. I love the journalism/media career but even if I don't choose that career, there are so many valuable skills that I've learned from this experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 12, 2012

Cynthia is an amazing person. She is really passionate about helping young people find a voice in a community where teen opinion is usually repressed. Working on radio with her is exciting and always broadens my horizons. Without Cynthia, I wouldn't have been able to explore radio. Radio is something that I've come to love doing and it's a great hobby of mine. It's unthinkable that I might not have been able to find this passion of mine. Cynthia tries really hard at everything she does, whether it's events like Moraga Faire or weekly radio. She's constantly helping everyone push themselves and become better at what they love doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Because of Be the Star You Are!® charity, I get to use my interests in economics while being a radio reporter on Express Yourself!™ and I have a technology column in the newspaper. It's great to volunteer with a charity that actually lets me grow my talents and interests! It is an awesome non-profit that not only does great work but really offers an opportunity for anyone to get involved and apply their own unique and individual skills.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

This is my first year in BTSYA, and my experience has been wonderful. The whole system is well organized and well managed. The communication between the editors and writers is immediate and constructive. BTSYA gives students like me the chance to contribute to charity in a fun and educational way that encourages them to share their voice in society. For this reason, I rate them as a five star organization.
When I first joined BTSYA, I did not know there was such a public way for teens to express their thoughts and views to the world. By getting involved and contributing to this organization, I see numerous ways that teens can be heard and realize how much our opinions can matter. By writing for the Lamorinda Weekly, I have the opportunity to express my views and the views of teens in our community as well as improve my writing. I can also help others by doing something I am passionate about.
I appreciate the opportunity BTSYA provides me with and plan to continue to participate in this organization for many years in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have loved to be a part of this charity for the past year. After any natural disaster, Be the Star You Are immediately responds with action. The radio show produced by Starstyle Productions has also been fun to be a part of. In a society that places so much emphasis on teens growing up and problems with peer pressure, it's great to have a charity dedicated towards making sure teens are all that they are supposed to be, with positive influences in the media. Be the Star You Are allows for good interactions with other teens who also are interested in the same things as you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012

more


1 previous review
January 25, 2011

I've volunteered for a long time with Be the Star You Are, but recently I had the occassion to be served by the charity. When my younger sister passed away recently, Cynthia dedicated a segment of he... more

May 29, 2012

The positive energy this organization has always brought to its Mission never ceases. Youth, women and families, and people in crisis everywhere have benefited from the message of hope and help and cheer that comes from Be the Star You Are!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2011

I've volunteered for a long time with Be the Star You Are, but recently I had the occassion to be served by the charity. When my younger sister passed away recently, Cynthia dedicated a segment of her radio show to my talented sister, who wrote 2 chapters for the Book "Be the Star You Are!-For TEENS". That was a great service to me during my time of need. This organization strives to really be there for people. Thank you.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Reading reviews of people who have been served by the organization, and coming to understand how they have really been changed for the better.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to get the word out on a national basis.

May 25, 2012

more

May 25, 2012

We at the Good-Earth Store have been donating a percentage of our profits to Be The Star You are for over a year. One of their main goals is to promote literacy which we believe reduces other social issues like crime and teen pregnancy, as it gives people self worth. We also know that our dollars are well spent on the cause, not someone's salary.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 18, 2012

more

May 18, 2012

I am a volunteer at Be The Star You Are and I cannot think of a better charity to devote my time to. The leader, Cynthia Bryan, is among one of the nicest people I have ever met and is solely out to help kids as much as she can. This organization is by far one of the better and more productive ones out there!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2012

more

May 17, 2012

I came across this group by browsing through volunteer's pages form an internal website from my company. I read about them to know exactly what they did and decided to volunteer. Only minutes after I sent my request, an e-mail came back with the response. I was very happy to know that I could help them, and it was awesome to read the kindness in the group's e mails.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer with:1. our Letters for Literacy program2. our Book Review Team3. our Social Networking Team4. a community event5. deliver books to those in need6. become a reporter on our teen radio program7. finding beneficiaries who need our support8. fundraising9. Find a sponsor for our next national Essay Contest Volunteer