Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
90 Reviews
1234.944445
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 24, 2013

I have worked with BTSYA for about six years now. What started as casual charity work I was required to do, turned into MANY amazing experiences that I am so thankful for. I have done book reviews and... more

April 15, 2014

This is my seventh year being involved with Be The Star You Are. It has been the BEST experience of my life. I plan on continuing to be a part of this amazing charity, even from the college I attend in Oregon. BTSYA has opened so many doors for me, as well as has given me the opportunity to make a difference in my community. I can honestly say I would not be where I am today without BTSYA and its amazing founder, Cynthia Brian. I urge anyone who wants to get involved in a local charity or support one, to CHOOSE BTSYA.
April 24, 2013

I have worked with BTSYA for about six years now. What started as casual charity work I was required to do, turned into MANY amazing experiences that I am so thankful for. I have done book reviews and event planning for BTSYA. I even got the opportunity to be published in Cynthia Brian's book, Be The Star You Are For Teens and to be interviewed about it on a local station. As a Journalism major now in college, I am so grateful I got to do those things. While in college I work with BTSYA by contributing to its radio station, Express Yourself.
BTSYA has given me some great opportunities, but also created my love for public speaking, writing, organizing events, and helping others. I would not be where I am today without it.
Best non-profit ever!!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 23, 2012

I have worked for BTSYA since I was 13. Now, I am 19 and am still completely involved. BTSYA has given me so many opportunities, including becoming a published author and co-host of a local radio show. I am so grateful for Cynthia Brian, the founder of BTSYA, and BTSYA itself for all the opportunities and experiences that have shaped me into the all around leveled person I am today.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

As a professional Public Relations person, I am dazzled by the high quality radio/TV shows BTSYA provides, and the total incorporation of social media into their work. I am currently the PR person for the Bethesda, Maryland chapter of the National Active and Retired Federal Employees (NARFE). Like many organizations, we're still expanding into the social media area, Cynthia Brian's work is an example for us!
Given the type of messages teenagers receive from traditional media ("The Hangover, Part II," "Knocked Up," etc.) it is so refreshing to see how BTSYA involves and excites teenagers in a positive way!

Suzanne Ackerman
Chevy Chase, Maryland
April 15, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 23, 2013

As I write this 5 star review, Be the Star You Are!® is in the middle of its 14th year as a 501c3. Throughout these years, the charity has exhibited a stellar record of growing leaders, beginning wi... more

April 15, 2014

Looking back over the last fifteen years at what has been accomplished by Be the Star You Are!®, I am awed by the creativity and commitment of the talented volunteers from around the world. When I founded the charity in 1999, I had lofty ideas of “If I build it, they will come”. Perhaps I had watched the film, Field of Dreams, one too many times. Yet, despite the heart felt intentions and the hard work, the contributions and donations did not materialize. Be the Star You Are!® has remained a 100% all volunteer charity, which is no easy feat. We have operated numerous programs on a shoe-string budget (that’s less than a beer budget) and I am eternally grateful to our global volunteers and supporters who have kept our small and mighty non profit alive and serving those in need.

A few accomplishments: In March 2014, we celebrated our 10th year collaborating with The Reading Tub to have young people read books then write reviews. Check out http://thereadingtub.com/pdfs/btsya_catalog.pdf.  We have published two award winning books, Be the Star You Are!® 99 Gifts and Be the Star You Are!® for Teens. We have broadcast over 120 teen radio shows on Express Yourself!™ Teen Radio, 798 Starstyle®-Be the Star You Are!® programs, orchestrated ten years of national essay competitions, participated in numerous community events, published 310 articles, and thousands of blog posts. Our youth offer a creative space for the young at heart to Express Yourself at www.BTSYA.org and volunteers from Dell are working with our web mistress, Kim Carlson to design a brand new web site for Be the Star You Are!®.  And best of all we’ve donated more than $1.7 million in resources to 84 organizations serving over 400,800 families and our volunteers have contributed over 354,900 hours. Check out our twenty outreach programs at http://www.btsya.com/programs.html.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

win the lottery and fund this great non profit 100%. Until that happens, please consider donating to BTSYA. No matter how much you can spare as a donation, every dollar will be appreciated. With your dollars plus the immense talent and dedication of our teens and volunteers, there will be no limit to what we can achieve.   Will you please open your wallet and donate today? http://www.bethestaryouare.org/donate.htm Checks to PO Box 376. Moraga, Ca. 94556. With applause to all supporters!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 23, 2013

As I write this 5 star review, Be the Star You Are!® is in the middle of its 14th year as a 501c3. Throughout these years, the charity has exhibited a stellar record of growing leaders, beginning with youth. This past year has seen tremendous growth in our radio outreach programs. On our teen program, Express Yourself!™, http://www.ExpressYourselfTeenRadio.com, more than 18 young people from around the US participate as hosts and reporters interviewing guests from around the world. On our author/book program, Starstyle® Be the Star You Are!®, http://www.StarStyleRadio.com, we continue to inspire listeners in more than 219 countries with segments on health, lifestyle, gardening, and of course, books with interviews of the pioneers on the planet. Thousands of books were donated to the families affected by Hurricane Sandy this past winter and more books were donated to shelters, hospitals, and schools. Volunteers herald from countries around the globe as we continue our mission of "read, lead, succeed." Thank you to everyone who continues to support Be the Star You Are!® with your time, money, and expertise. Make sure to check our http://www.BetheStarYouAre.org, http://www.BTSYA.org.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

Thanks to all the supporters and volunteers of Be the Star You Are!® who have done so much to make this grassroots charity a TOP NON PROFIT for the past three years. As you read this, Be the Star You Are!® has launched Operation Hurricane Sandy Disaster Relief to supply books and resources to families adversely affected by the super storms on the East Coast. We hope you'll join the campaign and help as much as possible so that kids have a gift for the holidays. EVERYONE COUNTS. More info here: http://www.btsya.com/hurricane_sandy_relief.html

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012

2011-2012 has been an amazing year of growth for Be the Star You Are!® charity with several new programs launched including the creative community website for writing, arts, music, videoes, etc at www.BTSYA.com, Operation Tornado Relief which sent thousands of books valued at $49,000 to the Joplin, Mo schools and hospitals, and the new teen radio program, Express Yourself!™ broadcasting on the Voice America Kids Network, hosted by youth around the country ages 13-18. I am very proud to be a volunteer with Be the Star You Are!™ and delighted that it is a top rated non profit. Visit www.ExpressYourselfTeenRadio.com for the newest outreach program, where teens talk and the world listens.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 26, 2011

I've been working with Be the Star You Are! for the past three years, and I have truly enjoyed every minute of it. As a volunteer, I read and review books of all different genres and help out at vario... more

April 28, 2013

It's been about five years since I first started volunteering with Be the Star You Are! Charity, and I'm very happy to say that I am still a part of the charity, even as a college student. Joining Be the Star You Are! has given me many opportunities to work with adults on a business level and to broadcast on a radio show. Thanks to these experiences, I have gained more confidence in both my communication skills and in myself. I look forward to continuing my work with Be the Star You Are! and highly suggest anyone interested in communications and media to check this charity out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 26, 2011

I've been working with Be the Star You Are! for the past three years, and I have truly enjoyed every minute of it. As a volunteer, I read and review books of all different genres and help out at various events. Volunteering with Be the Star You Are! has introduced me to many new people, all of whom are very kind, dedicated people. It is because of my work with Be the Star You Are! that I have met so many teenagers with the same interests as me: reading, writing, and helping others.
Cynthia Brian, the founder of Be the Star You Are!, is inspirational, optimistic, and extremely dedicated to her work. Through her positive influence as a role model, I feel like I have grown as a writer and learned more about interacting with others.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my personal life, writing, reading, and growth as a person.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to attend more events rather than only review books.

April 27, 2013

more

April 27, 2013

Joining BTSYA this year has been one of the best decisions I have ever made. As a volunteer, I write for my local newspaper, which is a truly rewarding and educational experience. It has been an integral part in having me develop as a better writer and journalist. Through writing articles, I can express my thoughts and opinions in a professional manner, while also learning more about others by interviewing them. BTSYA has provided me with wonderful opportunities that will have a tremendous impact on me for the rest of my life. I really appreciate all I have gained--life lessons, writing tips, confidence, and much more--by being part of BTSYA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

Be the Star You Are is a great non profit organization that has given me amazing opportunities. Since I was a child I was interested in media and communications. This organization gave me the chance to really experience what radio and writing for a local newspaper was like. I never thought I'd be able to host an internationally recognized teen radio program. My love for radio and journalism has solidified because of Be the Star You Are. I am forever thankful for the opportunities and doors BTSYA has opened for me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

Be the Star You Are!® is one of the best nonprofit organizations that I have ever volunteered for. Cynthia Brian, the founder, is a dedicated leader whom I've learned so much from. It's been more than three years since I first joined this community as a Star Volunteer Researcher, and this year, I was appointed as Show Administrator of the ExpressYourself! radio program under Be the Star You Are!®. All the opportunities I received from this organization has gifted me with experience and skills that would undoubtedly help me in the future.

Be the Star You Are!® has altered my life drastically; it has motivated me and helped me gain a positive outlook for my future. I am inspired everyday as I volunteer with this community of star leaders!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

BTSYA has given me opportunities I would never had dreamed of. I just started volunteering with this organization last year, but it's already made an impact. Cynthia Brian, the founder, is such a supportive mentor in my volunteering for a cause that I would fight to the end for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 19, 2012

To my great pleasure, I have been a volunteer with Be the Star You Are! charity for almost a decade now - I started out doing book reviews at the beginning of middle school, and am now a sophomore in ... more

April 24, 2013

I was involved in various projects with Be the Star You Are! for 5 years, and in that time had the opportunity to get to know this inspiring charity inside and out. I began on the book review team, which I felt has always helped provide excellent tools for educators and youth to find good books that they are interested in and hopefully go on to develop a lifelong love of reading. This project also provides new volunteers with a way to become involved in the charity and to potentially develop a passion for the charity’s causes.

As I gradually became involved in more projects with the charity such as events and online sales, I was truly able to sense the passion and dedication that founder Cynthia Brian and her volunteers bring to their work. Those involved with BTSYA exemplify commitment and constantly inspire the best out of each other. From knowing Cynthia and being influenced by her example, I have personally grown as a reader, a writer, a contributor to the community, and a young adult in general. The mission statement and a dedication to carrying it out has pushed me and my peers at BTSYA to bring energy, creativity, cooperation, compromise, hard work, and a knack for problem solving to whatever tasks we are faced with. Creating the leaders of tomorrow begins with empowering the youth of today, something BTSYA really does for those who are involved it. BTSYA gave me the opportunity to have so many valuable and hard-to-come-by experiences, from book reviewing to volunteer coordinating to event planning to, most recently, radio starring and hosting.

We all know about the extensive contributions that BTSYA makes to the larger community—book donations to disaster relief efforts such as Hurricane Katrina, a long list of beneficiary organizations, thousands of dollars worth of books donated to those in need, a top-rated radio show by and for teens, and the list goes on. To add on to that, BTSYA is equally effective in empowering its own young adult, men, and women volunteers. The charity truly sheds a positive influence on all those affiliated and empowers us to become the stars within us!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

To my great pleasure, I have been a volunteer with Be the Star You Are! charity for almost a decade now - I started out doing book reviews at the beginning of middle school, and am now a sophomore in college. Throughout my years working with the organization, I've had the opportunity to be a book reviewer, radio reporter, event planner, writer, and a whole range of other roles. In each one of them, I not only gained a whole set of unique skills and experiences, but also felt that I was able to make great contributions with my time. Be the Star You Are! is one of the most versatile nonprofits that I've been fortunate enough to be involved in, and also genuinely lives up to its motto to empower youth, women and families. I give BTSYA my highest recommendation!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

Since I've been volunteering with BTSYA, I've been able to use my research skills to find authors and guests for our award winning radio program as well as stretch my abilities by interviewing various professionals and reporting on the air with my segment, Pro Parlay. I am now learning to write scripts and co-host programs. It's fun, educational, and spreads our message of the importance of literacy and positive messages. It's definitely a program that has positively impacted youth around the world and will continue to change lives around the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer with:1. our Letters for Literacy program2. our Book Review Team3. our Social Networking Team4. a community event5. deliver books to those in need6. become a reporter on our teen radio program7. finding beneficiaries who need our support8. fundraising9. Find a sponsor for our next national Essay Contest Volunteer