Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
93 Reviews
1234.989255
Write A Review
April 16, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 11, 2012

Be The Star You Are! is an incredible organization that has been helping the national community for many years. The founder, Cynthia Brian, has done amazing work encouraging and educating a wide demog... more

April 16, 2014

Be the star your are is an amazing program that helps youth all over the country, even the world, gain knowledge, perspective, and guidance through many of life's challenges. The radio show has impacted so many lives through education and discussion of a variety of important topics. On a more personal level, the director, Cynthia Brian, has been a mentor to countless teens and young adults through her interaction with the charity. This organization is second to none!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 11, 2012

Be The Star You Are! is an incredible organization that has been helping the national community for many years. The founder, Cynthia Brian, has done amazing work encouraging and educating a wide demographic of a global audience since the inception of the internet-based radio show. Personally, I have tried to bring her messages to my own community in an attempt to spread Cynthia's good word. I encourage everybody to pass along Cynthia's charity work and radio show to anyone and everyone who might benefit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2011

The "Be The Star You Are" charity and radio program have been amazing for underprivileged youth and families since their beginning. The radio show has been wonderful in bringing to light important issues, as well as striving to educate the public and youth. Cynthia Brian, founder, continues to do great things through these programs and deserves more credit than we could ever give her. Thank you.

I work as a firefighter in the area of Los Angeles known as Watts. For those of you who aren't familiar with the area, it is one of the most underprivileged and gang-ridden areas of the entire country. So many of Cynthia's ideas and topics have helped me to talk with the people, especially the youth, of Watts during my encounters in various situations at work. I only wish people in my area could listen to Cynthia, as I will never be able to relay her message with any justice to her ability and passion.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Sharing Cynthia's message and ideas with the families and youth in my area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Share it directly with the families and youth in Watts.

April 15, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 25, 2013

If, at the start of 2012, someone asked me if about BTSYA, I would've replied that I had no idea what this nonprofit organization provides. However, just a few months later I would learn how BTSYA he... more

April 15, 2014

BTYSA never fails to succeed and amaze with their accomplished goals and efforts. This organization has provided me an opportunity to reach out and give back to my community. It also opened doors for me to write with the local newspaper. Whenever I submit my submissions, BTSYA doesn't just glance over them. Cynthia, the founder of BTSYA, edits them once, twice, or even multiple times to make sure that they are published with the best quality. BTSYA brings irreplaceable benefits and contributions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 25, 2013

If, at the start of 2012, someone asked me if about BTSYA, I would've replied that I had no idea what this nonprofit organization provides. However, just a few months later I would learn how BTSYA helps teenagers and other people (e.g. the volunteers themselves) launch themselves into a media-and-literacy-oriented world. I can't believe that it's already been a year since I've been with BTSYA, and mentor Cynthia Brian never fails to impress and improve everyone, including me. She provides great feedback when it comes to articles, and has helped me publish my work in The Lamorinda Weekly. Without BTSYA, I wouldn't have been able to do any of this, so thank you!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

Cynthia still aims to put BTSYA and its volunteers first, and this organization is so influential there are even high school clubs regarding BTSYA. BTSYA always thinks of others too, especially since there is a fundraiser to ship books and supplies over to the victims of Hurricane Sandy. All in all, BTSYA and Cynthia never fail to put others first -- a vital trait that exists in great volunteer organizations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2012

I first met Cynthia when she was describing how she grew up, managing to make her dreams come true with her own two hands. She then offered the same opportunity to the rest of the audience -- the opportunity to reach their dreams with their own hard work -- and that's how I came to work with Be the Star You Are. BTSYA is a great organization that helps teens voice their thoughts and ideas to the world, and gives teens the chance to aspire to be star. Not only does BTSYA have a great mentor, Cynthia, to help all of her teens wholeheartedly, BTSYA also gives amazing opportunities to teens to work on the radio or newspaper, or even model. BTSYA is a truly helpful organization that impacts so many teens' lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

Signing up as a volunteer with Be the Star You Are this past summer was my first step to an active commitment in my community, an involvement that has helped me grow beyond my shell and take a leadership role directing concert fundraisers and a writer for the local newspaper. I have organized street performances for BTSYA outreach and fundraising, which I think are a great example of taking the best of one's individual talents and combining them with others' to make a direct and positive impact on the local community, especially using that connection to promote the important cause of literacy. I am extremely thankful for these opportunities and hope to continue exploring my abilities and the possibilities of contributing positively to my community with Be the Star You Are.
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

I've been volunteering with Be the Star You Are! for more than 3 years now, and the charity has been life-changing in the opportunities it has provided for me. It has given me the chance to reach out to audiences through radio, given me the confidence to share my opinions when meeting strangers, allowed me to connect with others I would never have had the opportunity to be a part of, and helped me to develop a more confident voice in writing. I'm about to enter my first year of college next year, and the life-skills and lessons this charity has connected me with will allow me to pursue a concentration in neurobiology and English because through the radio, I met individuals studying similar interests and I found that I could really make a contribution to these subjects if I used the lessons I had learned from writing, volunteering, and getting to know other members of this team.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make more people be involved!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 24, 2013

I have worked with BTSYA for about six years now. What started as casual charity work I was required to do, turned into MANY amazing experiences that I am so thankful for. I have done book reviews and... more

April 15, 2014

This is my seventh year being involved with Be The Star You Are. It has been the BEST experience of my life. I plan on continuing to be a part of this amazing charity, even from the college I attend in Oregon. BTSYA has opened so many doors for me, as well as has given me the opportunity to make a difference in my community. I can honestly say I would not be where I am today without BTSYA and its amazing founder, Cynthia Brian. I urge anyone who wants to get involved in a local charity or support one, to CHOOSE BTSYA.
April 24, 2013

I have worked with BTSYA for about six years now. What started as casual charity work I was required to do, turned into MANY amazing experiences that I am so thankful for. I have done book reviews and event planning for BTSYA. I even got the opportunity to be published in Cynthia Brian's book, Be The Star You Are For Teens and to be interviewed about it on a local station. As a Journalism major now in college, I am so grateful I got to do those things. While in college I work with BTSYA by contributing to its radio station, Express Yourself.
BTSYA has given me some great opportunities, but also created my love for public speaking, writing, organizing events, and helping others. I would not be where I am today without it.
Best non-profit ever!!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 23, 2012

I have worked for BTSYA since I was 13. Now, I am 19 and am still completely involved. BTSYA has given me so many opportunities, including becoming a published author and co-host of a local radio show. I am so grateful for Cynthia Brian, the founder of BTSYA, and BTSYA itself for all the opportunities and experiences that have shaped me into the all around leveled person I am today.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

As a professional Public Relations person, I am dazzled by the high quality radio/TV shows BTSYA provides, and the total incorporation of social media into their work. I am currently the PR person for the Bethesda, Maryland chapter of the National Active and Retired Federal Employees (NARFE). Like many organizations, we're still expanding into the social media area, Cynthia Brian's work is an example for us!
Given the type of messages teenagers receive from traditional media ("The Hangover, Part II," "Knocked Up," etc.) it is so refreshing to see how BTSYA involves and excites teenagers in a positive way!

Suzanne Ackerman
Chevy Chase, Maryland
April 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 26, 2011

I've been working with Be the Star You Are! for the past three years, and I have truly enjoyed every minute of it. As a volunteer, I read and review books of all different genres and help out at vario... more

April 28, 2013

It's been about five years since I first started volunteering with Be the Star You Are! Charity, and I'm very happy to say that I am still a part of the charity, even as a college student. Joining Be the Star You Are! has given me many opportunities to work with adults on a business level and to broadcast on a radio show. Thanks to these experiences, I have gained more confidence in both my communication skills and in myself. I look forward to continuing my work with Be the Star You Are! and highly suggest anyone interested in communications and media to check this charity out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 26, 2011

I've been working with Be the Star You Are! for the past three years, and I have truly enjoyed every minute of it. As a volunteer, I read and review books of all different genres and help out at various events. Volunteering with Be the Star You Are! has introduced me to many new people, all of whom are very kind, dedicated people. It is because of my work with Be the Star You Are! that I have met so many teenagers with the same interests as me: reading, writing, and helping others.
Cynthia Brian, the founder of Be the Star You Are!, is inspirational, optimistic, and extremely dedicated to her work. Through her positive influence as a role model, I feel like I have grown as a writer and learned more about interacting with others.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my personal life, writing, reading, and growth as a person.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to attend more events rather than only review books.

April 27, 2013

more

April 27, 2013

Joining BTSYA this year has been one of the best decisions I have ever made. As a volunteer, I write for my local newspaper, which is a truly rewarding and educational experience. It has been an integral part in having me develop as a better writer and journalist. Through writing articles, I can express my thoughts and opinions in a professional manner, while also learning more about others by interviewing them. BTSYA has provided me with wonderful opportunities that will have a tremendous impact on me for the rest of my life. I really appreciate all I have gained--life lessons, writing tips, confidence, and much more--by being part of BTSYA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

Be the Star You Are is a great non profit organization that has given me amazing opportunities. Since I was a child I was interested in media and communications. This organization gave me the chance to really experience what radio and writing for a local newspaper was like. I never thought I'd be able to host an internationally recognized teen radio program. My love for radio and journalism has solidified because of Be the Star You Are. I am forever thankful for the opportunities and doors BTSYA has opened for me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

Be the Star You Are!® is one of the best nonprofit organizations that I have ever volunteered for. Cynthia Brian, the founder, is a dedicated leader whom I've learned so much from. It's been more than three years since I first joined this community as a Star Volunteer Researcher, and this year, I was appointed as Show Administrator of the ExpressYourself! radio program under Be the Star You Are!®. All the opportunities I received from this organization has gifted me with experience and skills that would undoubtedly help me in the future.

Be the Star You Are!® has altered my life drastically; it has motivated me and helped me gain a positive outlook for my future. I am inspired everyday as I volunteer with this community of star leaders!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer with:1. our Letters for Literacy program2. our Book Review Team3. our Social Networking Team4. a community event5. deliver books to those in need6. become a reporter on our teen radio program7. finding beneficiaries who need our support8. fundraising9. Find a sponsor for our next national Essay Contest Volunteer