Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
99 Reviews
1234.98995
Write A Review
March 27, 2015

more

March 27, 2015

Cynthia Brian and BTSYA have helped me out in so many ways! In a fun, safe environment, BTSYA has given me the opportunity to give back to the community and see the joy of those we have helped. I can't thank this organization enough and I can't wait to see the growth that will transpire in the years to come!
March 27, 2015

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 16, 2014

Be the star your are is an amazing program that helps youth all over the country, even the world, gain knowledge, perspective, and guidance through many of life's challenges. The radio show has impact... more

March 27, 2015

I could never say enough about Be The Star You Are! The work that the organization as a whole (and especially Cynthia Brian) does is incredible. They are able to touch the lives of so many young people in such an amazing way. The guidance that they provide is so crucial and it gives the youth community a better road to take. Congratulations on another great year, Be The Star You Are!
April 16, 2014

Be the star your are is an amazing program that helps youth all over the country, even the world, gain knowledge, perspective, and guidance through many of life's challenges. The radio show has impacted so many lives through education and discussion of a variety of important topics. On a more personal level, the director, Cynthia Brian, has been a mentor to countless teens and young adults through her interaction with the charity. This organization is second to none!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 11, 2012

Be The Star You Are! is an incredible organization that has been helping the national community for many years. The founder, Cynthia Brian, has done amazing work encouraging and educating a wide demographic of a global audience since the inception of the internet-based radio show. Personally, I have tried to bring her messages to my own community in an attempt to spread Cynthia's good word. I encourage everybody to pass along Cynthia's charity work and radio show to anyone and everyone who might benefit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2011

The "Be The Star You Are" charity and radio program have been amazing for underprivileged youth and families since their beginning. The radio show has been wonderful in bringing to light important issues, as well as striving to educate the public and youth. Cynthia Brian, founder, continues to do great things through these programs and deserves more credit than we could ever give her. Thank you.

I work as a firefighter in the area of Los Angeles known as Watts. For those of you who aren't familiar with the area, it is one of the most underprivileged and gang-ridden areas of the entire country. So many of Cynthia's ideas and topics have helped me to talk with the people, especially the youth, of Watts during my encounters in various situations at work. I only wish people in my area could listen to Cynthia, as I will never be able to relay her message with any justice to her ability and passion.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Sharing Cynthia's message and ideas with the families and youth in my area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Share it directly with the families and youth in Watts.

March 27, 2015

more

March 27, 2015

Be The Star You Are has amazed me with their efforts in giving teens a voice to be heard. Every week I have the amazing opportunity to host and talk with new people, and I have to say that every person I have talked to has said they had a blast and are proud what BTSYA is doing for the public. I absolutely love how much BTSYA has given me the ability to build in confidence, grow in my talents, help me discover what my passions are, and meeting new exciting people. I am honored to be given the chance to change the lives of people and give a positive influence in the world. Be The Star You Are is not just an organization, it is a family. I love being apart of this wonderful group!
March 27, 2015

more

March 27, 2015

I worked on the radio for Be the Star You Are! for more than three years in high school. It was a huge part of my high school experience and a huge part of helping me find a voice (and find inspiration) through conversations with others. It is a well-run and well-organized nonprofit, where I still felt like I could have an individual impact on shaping the direction of the radio show and the direction of the individuals we contacted to interview. Some of those conversations shaped future decisions for me -- for example, after interviewing the director of Admissions for Columbia, I looked into applying and began to consider those type of top-tier schools. That shift in perspective, like so many experiences with BTSYA, changed my life.
March 27, 2015

more


1 previous review
May 11, 2012

Though I haven't worked with Be the Star You Are for an exceptionally long time, in just the year and a half that I've been involved, I have seen just how talented Cynthia is in directing the organiza... more

March 27, 2015

I worked for Be the Star You Are for almost two years in high school. It was the perfect combination of real world experience with close mentoring from Cynthia. Volunteers will find a great place to grow and serve here; I highly suggest it!
May 11, 2012

Though I haven't worked with Be the Star You Are for an exceptionally long time, in just the year and a half that I've been involved, I have seen just how talented Cynthia is in directing the organization to pursue greater and more expansive goals. Cynthia is always looking for new ways to improve the mission of the charity, and reaching out to provide literacy to more people and youth across the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 26, 2015

more

March 26, 2015

I had a wonderful experience volunteering with Be The Star You Are! Cynthia Brian's positive attitude empowers everyone around her and encourages Lamorinda residents to give back. By far the best charity work I've ever participated in!
March 26, 2015

more


1 previous review
May 5, 2010

During the last several years, Cheerful Givers has received boxes of books donated by Be The Star You Are which we have included in our birthday gift bags for less fortunate children. These books have... more

March 26, 2015

Be The Star You Are consistently goes above and beyond to serve others. Their Executive Director, Cynthia Brian, is an amazing leader who is always willing to lend a hand and to positively reinforce everyone who supports her cause.

This is what "great" nonprofits are all about!
May 5, 2010

During the last several years, Cheerful Givers has received boxes of books donated by Be The Star You Are which we have included in our birthday gift bags for less fortunate children. These books have brought much joy to children who may have never owned a book before.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

receiving books for our charity.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

working with Executive Director, Cynthia Brian. She is a fantastic leader and an extremely dedicated worker.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

serve so many more kids who would truly value owning a book.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 26, 2015

more

March 26, 2015

I love volunteering for this organization! They are very committed to helping teens which is our future!
March 26, 2015

more

March 26, 2015

I am a young adult author recently interviewed for the program. It was very well done. The young participants were so very nice and professional. It was a fantastic experience.
March 26, 2015

more


4 previous reviews - show all
April 15, 2014

Looking back over the last fifteen years at what has been accomplished by Be the Star You Are!®, I am awed by the creativity and commitment of the talented volunteers from around the world. When I fo... more

March 26, 2015

It's hard to imagine that now in it's 16th year serving women, families, and youth, Be the Star You Are!® has not only survived but thrived as an ALL volunteer charity with no paid employees. Every penny of every donation works for the services we provide to others.
It's been challenging yet
every year the volunteers become more and more dedicated having served almost 355,000 hours of volunteer time. We are proud of our accomplishments in serving over 400,000 individuals and working with 89 organizations. Our Starstyle® Be the Star You Are!® radio program broadcasts live weekly and our teen show, Express Yourself!™ has trained 29 hosts and reporters from around the country. Both shows provide listeners with uplifting, life affirming interviews with best selling authors, experts, celebrities, musicians, Olympians, and the movers and shakers of the world. Check our Be the Star You Are!® and join our Galaxy of Stars. http://www.BetheStarYouAre.org, http://:www.BTSYA.org, http://www.StarStyleRadio.com, http://www.ExpressYourselfTeenRadio.com.

Thanks for making us a Top Rated Non Profit since Great Nonprofits was established. Everyone counts!
April 15, 2014

Looking back over the last fifteen years at what has been accomplished by Be the Star You Are!®, I am awed by the creativity and commitment of the talented volunteers from around the world. When I founded the charity in 1999, I had lofty ideas of “If I build it, they will come”. Perhaps I had watched the film, Field of Dreams, one too many times. Yet, despite the heart felt intentions and the hard work, the contributions and donations did not materialize. Be the Star You Are!® has remained a 100% all volunteer charity, which is no easy feat. We have operated numerous programs on a shoe-string budget (that’s less than a beer budget) and I am eternally grateful to our global volunteers and supporters who have kept our small and mighty non profit alive and serving those in need.

A few accomplishments: In March 2014, we celebrated our 10th year collaborating with The Reading Tub to have young people read books then write reviews. Check out http://thereadingtub.com/pdfs/btsya_catalog.pdf.  We have published two award winning books, Be the Star You Are!® 99 Gifts and Be the Star You Are!® for Teens. We have broadcast over 120 teen radio shows on Express Yourself!™ Teen Radio, 798 Starstyle®-Be the Star You Are!® programs, orchestrated ten years of national essay competitions, participated in numerous community events, published 310 articles, and thousands of blog posts. Our youth offer a creative space for the young at heart to Express Yourself at www.BTSYA.org and volunteers from Dell are working with our web mistress, Kim Carlson to design a brand new web site for Be the Star You Are!®.  And best of all we’ve donated more than $1.7 million in resources to 84 organizations serving over 400,800 families and our volunteers have contributed over 354,900 hours. Check out our twenty outreach programs at http://www.btsya.com/programs.html.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

win the lottery and fund this great non profit 100%. Until that happens, please consider donating to BTSYA. No matter how much you can spare as a donation, every dollar will be appreciated. With your dollars plus the immense talent and dedication of our teens and volunteers, there will be no limit to what we can achieve.   Will you please open your wallet and donate today? http://www.bethestaryouare.org/donate.htm Checks to PO Box 376. Moraga, Ca. 94556. With applause to all supporters!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 23, 2013

As I write this 5 star review, Be the Star You Are!® is in the middle of its 14th year as a 501c3. Throughout these years, the charity has exhibited a stellar record of growing leaders, beginning with youth. This past year has seen tremendous growth in our radio outreach programs. On our teen program, Express Yourself!™, http://www.ExpressYourselfTeenRadio.com, more than 18 young people from around the US participate as hosts and reporters interviewing guests from around the world. On our author/book program, Starstyle® Be the Star You Are!®, http://www.StarStyleRadio.com, we continue to inspire listeners in more than 219 countries with segments on health, lifestyle, gardening, and of course, books with interviews of the pioneers on the planet. Thousands of books were donated to the families affected by Hurricane Sandy this past winter and more books were donated to shelters, hospitals, and schools. Volunteers herald from countries around the globe as we continue our mission of "read, lead, succeed." Thank you to everyone who continues to support Be the Star You Are!® with your time, money, and expertise. Make sure to check our http://www.BetheStarYouAre.org, http://www.BTSYA.org.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

Thanks to all the supporters and volunteers of Be the Star You Are!® who have done so much to make this grassroots charity a TOP NON PROFIT for the past three years. As you read this, Be the Star You Are!® has launched Operation Hurricane Sandy Disaster Relief to supply books and resources to families adversely affected by the super storms on the East Coast. We hope you'll join the campaign and help as much as possible so that kids have a gift for the holidays. EVERYONE COUNTS. More info here: http://www.btsya.com/hurricane_sandy_relief.html

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012

2011-2012 has been an amazing year of growth for Be the Star You Are!® charity with several new programs launched including the creative community website for writing, arts, music, videoes, etc at www.BTSYA.com, Operation Tornado Relief which sent thousands of books valued at $49,000 to the Joplin, Mo schools and hospitals, and the new teen radio program, Express Yourself!™ broadcasting on the Voice America Kids Network, hosted by youth around the country ages 13-18. I am very proud to be a volunteer with Be the Star You Are!™ and delighted that it is a top rated non profit. Visit www.ExpressYourselfTeenRadio.com for the newest outreach program, where teens talk and the world listens.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer with:1. our Letters for Literacy program2. our Book Review Team3. our Social Networking Team4. a community event5. deliver books to those in need6. become a reporter on our teen radio program7. finding beneficiaries who need our support8. fundraising9. Find a sponsor for our next national Essay Contest Volunteer