Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
90 Reviews
1234.944445
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
April 29, 2014

more

April 29, 2014

Be The Star You Are Inc reached out to my daughter a few months back and I have to say, I've seen her grow and stretch as she has participated in their weekly radio program. I'm so excited and amazed to see where BTSYA is going in their endeavor to reach out to teens and the public in such a positive manner. In our home, we thrive on selfless serving and we are proud to partner with a program that emulates that in its entirety!
April 27, 2014

more

April 27, 2014

I am a Young Adult author, and was interviewed by several wonderful teens on Be The Star You Are as part of their cultural diversity program. The teenage hosts were articulate and energetic, and we all loved talking about reading great books for teens. Working with BTSYA was a terrific experience. I admire everything this organization is doing to promote and support our youth globally.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 25, 2014

more

April 25, 2014

To say that BTSYA changed my life would be an understatement. Before becoming a part of this incredible nonprofit, I had no idea that I would love doing radio as much as I do. Even though I’ve only been a reporter and co-host on Express Yourself! Teen Radio for a few months now, I’ve watched myself grow, blossom, and discover one of my greatest passions: radio. Having the opportunity at such a young age to be on a radio program and to speak with some remarkable people from all over the world has been, to say the least, an extraordinary experience. For all the life-changing opportunities that BTSYA has presented to me, I am forever grateful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None I can think of

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 21, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 24, 2013

Volunteering with Be the Star You Are!® has and will always be a part of my life. I've been helping since I was a young teen myself and throughout the years I have grown in confidence and skills beca... more

April 21, 2014

Be the Star you are is an amazing organization. I have been involved with BTSYA for almost 15 years in various ways. After all this time I still so impressed with the organizations passion, positivity, and desire to make this world a better place. I have seen first hand how BTSYA has impacted the lives of others and improved the community in which they are serving. Currently serving as co-host of BTSYA Radio, for the Health Matters segment, I help bring important information to our listens. I even feel more empowered and educated by the topics we discuss. I think BTSYA is one of the most amazing charities and I encourage others to support and get involved with this power house of positivity!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 24, 2013

Volunteering with Be the Star You Are!® has and will always be a part of my life. I've been helping since I was a young teen myself and throughout the years I have grown in confidence and skills because of the work I perform with the organization. As the producer and host of Health Matters on our radio broadcast, Starstyle®Be the Star You Are!®, I have the opportunity to bring the latest research and healthy living tips to listeners around the world to increase awareness and wellness on a weekly basis. I recommend Be the Star You Are!® to anyone who wants to grow as a leader.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

I've been volunteering with Be the Star You Are!® since I was a young teen and have been co-hosting the internationally broadcast radio show for the past decade. Be the Star You Are!® really serves the community, country, and world, and I salute all the volunteers, authors, and other supporters who continue to serve. It's a privilege to be part of an authentic organization that truly makes a difference, one person at a time

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2012

I have been volunteering to help better the lives of Teens through BE THE STAR YOU ARE, since i was a teen myself. Be the Star You Are works to promote literacy through positive media. I personally felt empowered through my involvement. This charity is one that I love and believe all in the community should show their personal support for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

Being part of Be the Star You Are has given me the opportunity to read tons of books (which I already did) and help out people by writing book reviews that anyone can access on the website. Spending a little bit of extra time to try to convince a fellow book enthusiast to pick up an excellent book has allowed me to help out my community while enjoying the things I love. Be the Star You Are is an amazing organizations which i am proud to be a part of.
April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

I have had such an amazing experience with Be The Star You Are! They have encouraged me to reach further into my community and to do better. I am always striving to serve and show others that they too can be socially responsible. I believe that BTSYA is an EXCELLENT resource for youth and others to learn how to be socially responsible AND reach for their dreams!

--Asya Gonzalez, She Is Worth It and Stinky Feet Gurlz
April 16, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 11, 2012

Be The Star You Are! is an incredible organization that has been helping the national community for many years. The founder, Cynthia Brian, has done amazing work encouraging and educating a wide demog... more

April 16, 2014

Be the star your are is an amazing program that helps youth all over the country, even the world, gain knowledge, perspective, and guidance through many of life's challenges. The radio show has impacted so many lives through education and discussion of a variety of important topics. On a more personal level, the director, Cynthia Brian, has been a mentor to countless teens and young adults through her interaction with the charity. This organization is second to none!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 11, 2012

Be The Star You Are! is an incredible organization that has been helping the national community for many years. The founder, Cynthia Brian, has done amazing work encouraging and educating a wide demographic of a global audience since the inception of the internet-based radio show. Personally, I have tried to bring her messages to my own community in an attempt to spread Cynthia's good word. I encourage everybody to pass along Cynthia's charity work and radio show to anyone and everyone who might benefit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2011

The "Be The Star You Are" charity and radio program have been amazing for underprivileged youth and families since their beginning. The radio show has been wonderful in bringing to light important issues, as well as striving to educate the public and youth. Cynthia Brian, founder, continues to do great things through these programs and deserves more credit than we could ever give her. Thank you.

I work as a firefighter in the area of Los Angeles known as Watts. For those of you who aren't familiar with the area, it is one of the most underprivileged and gang-ridden areas of the entire country. So many of Cynthia's ideas and topics have helped me to talk with the people, especially the youth, of Watts during my encounters in various situations at work. I only wish people in my area could listen to Cynthia, as I will never be able to relay her message with any justice to her ability and passion.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Sharing Cynthia's message and ideas with the families and youth in my area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Share it directly with the families and youth in Watts.

April 15, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 25, 2013

If, at the start of 2012, someone asked me if about BTSYA, I would've replied that I had no idea what this nonprofit organization provides. However, just a few months later I would learn how BTSYA he... more

April 15, 2014

BTYSA never fails to succeed and amaze with their accomplished goals and efforts. This organization has provided me an opportunity to reach out and give back to my community. It also opened doors for me to write with the local newspaper. Whenever I submit my submissions, BTSYA doesn't just glance over them. Cynthia, the founder of BTSYA, edits them once, twice, or even multiple times to make sure that they are published with the best quality. BTSYA brings irreplaceable benefits and contributions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 25, 2013

If, at the start of 2012, someone asked me if about BTSYA, I would've replied that I had no idea what this nonprofit organization provides. However, just a few months later I would learn how BTSYA helps teenagers and other people (e.g. the volunteers themselves) launch themselves into a media-and-literacy-oriented world. I can't believe that it's already been a year since I've been with BTSYA, and mentor Cynthia Brian never fails to impress and improve everyone, including me. She provides great feedback when it comes to articles, and has helped me publish my work in The Lamorinda Weekly. Without BTSYA, I wouldn't have been able to do any of this, so thank you!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

Cynthia still aims to put BTSYA and its volunteers first, and this organization is so influential there are even high school clubs regarding BTSYA. BTSYA always thinks of others too, especially since there is a fundraiser to ship books and supplies over to the victims of Hurricane Sandy. All in all, BTSYA and Cynthia never fail to put others first -- a vital trait that exists in great volunteer organizations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2012

I first met Cynthia when she was describing how she grew up, managing to make her dreams come true with her own two hands. She then offered the same opportunity to the rest of the audience -- the opportunity to reach their dreams with their own hard work -- and that's how I came to work with Be the Star You Are. BTSYA is a great organization that helps teens voice their thoughts and ideas to the world, and gives teens the chance to aspire to be star. Not only does BTSYA have a great mentor, Cynthia, to help all of her teens wholeheartedly, BTSYA also gives amazing opportunities to teens to work on the radio or newspaper, or even model. BTSYA is a truly helpful organization that impacts so many teens' lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

Signing up as a volunteer with Be the Star You Are this past summer was my first step to an active commitment in my community, an involvement that has helped me grow beyond my shell and take a leadership role directing concert fundraisers and a writer for the local newspaper. I have organized street performances for BTSYA outreach and fundraising, which I think are a great example of taking the best of one's individual talents and combining them with others' to make a direct and positive impact on the local community, especially using that connection to promote the important cause of literacy. I am extremely thankful for these opportunities and hope to continue exploring my abilities and the possibilities of contributing positively to my community with Be the Star You Are.
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

I've been volunteering with Be the Star You Are! for more than 3 years now, and the charity has been life-changing in the opportunities it has provided for me. It has given me the chance to reach out to audiences through radio, given me the confidence to share my opinions when meeting strangers, allowed me to connect with others I would never have had the opportunity to be a part of, and helped me to develop a more confident voice in writing. I'm about to enter my first year of college next year, and the life-skills and lessons this charity has connected me with will allow me to pursue a concentration in neurobiology and English because through the radio, I met individuals studying similar interests and I found that I could really make a contribution to these subjects if I used the lessons I had learned from writing, volunteering, and getting to know other members of this team.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make more people be involved!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer with:1. our Letters for Literacy program2. our Book Review Team3. our Social Networking Team4. a community event5. deliver books to those in need6. become a reporter on our teen radio program7. finding beneficiaries who need our support8. fundraising9. Find a sponsor for our next national Essay Contest Volunteer