Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.927275
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 1, 2012

more

May 1, 2012

The Bayou Land Conservancy or BLC as we refer to it, is committed to the conservation of not just bayous as the name suggests, but our watershed system in the Houston area. With the amount of construction and other earth moving projects that are constantly taking place, it is vital to dedicate space for our delicate eco-system. The BLC serves as the conduit to that end. Providing education to the public and to youth organizations and schools, as well as assisting in the purchase of land to be preserved. I have worked with the board members as well as other key personnel. The passion and dedication is second to none. A great group of people focused on an excellent cause. Thumbs up guys!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2012

more

April 30, 2012

Houston is one of the most diverse cities in the United States, and is an amalgamation of cultures, languages, and nationalities. As the 4th largest city we have successfully paved and urbanized most of our natural green spaces in an attempt to accommodate our growing population of 4 million citizens. The Bayou Land Conservancy recognizes this challenge and the need to preserve, restore, and educate people on the importance of this dwindling resource. The BLC provides a concerted effort to maintain at least some remnants of this valuable resource for future generations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

When I met Jennifer at another non-profit function and learned what BLC does, it was a "no-brainer"! I had to be involved. Another friend, who was a Board Member at the time, asked if Ii would consider throwing my hat in the ring for a volunteer Board position. I jumped at the chance. Since joining, and from the first Board Orientation meeting, I could feel the excitement and energy of the staff and the other Board Members. I have truly enjoyed the community outreach programs and found myself getting even more excited, as I talked with sheer strangers about the exciting preservation work BLC has done and is continuing to do. I cant say enough about the Cypress Creek Greenway and I love talking (bragging?!) to folks about it. I got first hand experience on Earth Day, with the No Child Left Inside program. And the staff, as well as the other Board Members, are not only incredibly professional and skilled at what they do, they are people I am also proud to call friends. I am a lawyer by training, and a non-profit expert, so it is very gratifying to me that I can contribute some of my professional skills, to help things keep running smoothly. I am proud to be a volunteer supporter and a Board Member and cant wait for the next community campaign or outreach program, to talk to folks about the marvelous work BLC does.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

From a friend who is a Board Member. Also, met the Executive Director at another non-profit function

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

I have been a board member for a couple of years and volunteered several years before that. BLC has consistently worked hard to make the greater Houston area a greener place. Their efforts in the last year helped start the regulatory process for gravel mining along rivers, which had been almost entirely uncontrolled resulting in significant damage to waterways. In addition to our conservation and preservation efforts the conservancy has an active environmental education program that is popular among area schools.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

I became involved in Bayou Land Conservancy when I learned about the wonderful work it does to protect our vital natural resource around or waterways. It is truly a fantastic group that does great work for the public good.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

I became involved with Bayou Land Conservancy when I learned of their committment to preserving the environment. As a green builder who strives to educate people in being good stewards to the economy becoming part of BLC just made sense. Their track record speaks for itself. The respect they hold in the community is top notch and the organization itself is run by very qualified and talented people. I look forward to a long history with BLC and plan to continue to give of my time and resources to help insure its success.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Personal fulfillment and community involvement

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create a system where fund raising was automatic so that less time could be spent on fundraising and more time could be spent on doing the good works for the environment and the community

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

I was introduced to the Executive Director and the rest was history

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

To adequately staff to be able to maintain the quality of service as more and more properties are added

What is its top priority in the long run?

To grow the organization with staff, office and resources to better reach out to more properties and communities

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

Through my short two years with Bayou Land Conservancy, I've learned more about Houston's great outdoors and our need for conservation programs than my 35 plus years as a Houstonian. Bayou Land Conservancy's hard work provides benefit to the entire city...that's a population of 4 million strong and growing. I've enjoyed working with Bayou Land Conservancy these past two years and I look forward to many more.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

BLC is a wonderful organization with tremendous upside. If you are looking for a way to give back to our community, learn ways to help our earth, and create a better environment for all, consider becoming a member. The group is made up of hard working, dedicated folks with great ideas and a strong commitment to make our community a better place to live.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 31, 2011

more

March 31, 2011

As a long time volunteer and board member I have seen the BLC grow as an effective tool in preserving habitat and act a respected advocate for policy change that improves the environment. The conservancy's No Child Left Inside environmental education effort is a great way to get young people thinking about issues that effect the long term health of our area and it understand our place as stewards of the larger world.

All in all they do an amazing amount of good adn are always looking for ways to expand their efforts.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping with biosurveys and educational programs

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find more ways for them to add educational experiences

April 27, 2010

more

April 27, 2010

I joined Legacy Land Trust three years ago because I am committed to preserving Houston area wetlands so that all of the wildife and vegetation that depend upon them can continue to thrive. Everyone at Legacy Land Trust works diligently to maintain and grow our protected areas so that the we and future generations can enjoy the outdoors free from the blight of urban over-development. The

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The number of easements that I have signed since becoming chair has far exceeded our expectations, which means that more land is being preserved for area wildlife and vegetation than ever before.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The "No Child Left Inside" program because we are teaching children to respect the environment, learn from it and be excited about protecting it.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

The staff members of LLT give 110% + to the organization so that as much land as possible can be preserved and as many children as possible can be exposed to nature and conservation benefits.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Preserve more land and expand the "No Child Left Inside" program.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Teach students about nature out in the field.
Work on a baseline inventory on a new conservation easement.
Clear trail at a new preserve. Volunteer