Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.927275
Write A Review
March 23, 2014

more

March 23, 2014

take our family here ( Little Cypress Creek Preserve) to bike and hike all the time. We love it, the trails are not too difficult to children to bike and you can see tonnes of neat things, great learning environment. Also have taken one of daughters troops there and planted trees with one of the preserve staff- awesome experience- especially for city kids who need to get outside more.
Thanks for the opportunity and work you do. We all need to spend more time in places like this!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

tears are in my eyes, I woke up this morning, and looked at a paper I grabbed yesterday only to see the, that the deerpark bayou was in doubt of being lost, only the paper is over 10 days old. I immediately went to your site to see the outcome and see its saved!! THANKYOU, thanks for fighting for this, YOU DID IT!!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 19, 2013

more

April 19, 2013

I found it stimulating & heartwarming finding out how my little neighbors the beavers died. Caught in traps near their homes & the yards they cleared of brush, weeds & soft wood trees. They made it so easy to find the paper & other trash washed down the creek banks. The children of my friends & relatives who often came to enjoy the playful antics of the beaver "pups" will no longer see the bever families or enjoy the walks & listen to the slapping sounds of play in the slowly moving waters in the new "Greenway along Spring Creek".

It makes a lasting impression & lesson, of MAN in his infinate wisdom, playing GOD, on young people & I suppose it is a good history lesson on our youth who will take this all over someday. You can bet that the old timers who used to swim this creek & young men who roamed the creekbanks of Spring Creek appreciate the elemination of this element of the Greenway. Maybe some of the sponsors of Bayou Land Conservancy need to know how the selection process goes regarding park inhabitants.

Seems to me the persons of Spring Trails HOA, should resign in shame before the membership finds out what they have been doing with HOA funds & OUR resources, but I'm sure they are to full of themselves to do that.

Pct.3 Commish. James Noack sure didn't put up much of a fight when he found out how the extermination of our little park residents were murdered. The folks of Spring Creek Greenway Nature Center at least got off their duffs & notified somebody. Maybe some people on the Harris Co. side will care more about our little park residents. I
I

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

May 1, 2012

more

May 1, 2012

Our Boy Scout Pack 1100 enjoyed themselves last Saturday. We're thankful that we have an area close by that allows us to learn about conservation as well as being able to give back to the community as well. We'll get the rest of our family out there soon.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

Awesome weekend with great advice to native plants and animals. I would love to do it again, and would certainly recommend to others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

Bayou Land Conservancy has a great staff of talented and knowledgable biologists and nature interpreters. They are welcoming and serve a great cause!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2011

more

March 29, 2011

i took my media academy students to this place (BayouLand Conservancy) and they really enjoyed it. They allowed us to bring our equipment to produce a documentary as well as take photos. They divided us into two teams and students really got into walking into the lake bed taking samples, examining bones and trees. I think the best part was the hiking through the park and exploring the various areas. Great place. it needs more publicity.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

this was my first visit

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

seek funding for more exposure. Public Service announcements need to be produced and broadcasts online, radio and local television & cable. Because this organization has limited funding it should seek to partner with local high school broadcast & film programs.

March 29, 2011

more

March 29, 2011

Our experience here Bayou Land Conservancy was very rewarding. Our students were able to complete a lot of hands on activities. I was very express with the pre and post test. Each volunteer were well trained and informed with the knowledge to answer questions that were asked. I liked the idea of breakng into smaller groups. This allowed more one on one as well as peer tutoring. The staff reviewed vocabulary that was used with the unit as well as introduced new ones. I was very expressed how well the ELL students used the vocabulary. Thank you very much for allowing our students to experience this great opprunity.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This experience gave my students the opprunity to review as well as use the vocabulary that was taught in class. It was great for your hands on learners.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make any changes.

March 29, 2011

more

March 29, 2011

This is a great organization that is not only doing great things to protect our natural areas, but also to educate the public about these precious habitats.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping in the overall educational goals of my high school Environmental Science class.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...

March 29, 2011

more

March 29, 2011

My experience with the Bayou Land Conservancy (formally known as the Legacy Land Trust) was fantastic. The knowledge staff and hands-on learning experiences helped my students connect science material that we were learning in the classroom, such as food webs and adaptations, to real things in nature. I work in school where 90% of our students are English as Second Language Learners, so this sort of visual and tactile experience was incredibly impactful for them.

The entire trip, from planning to execution, was incredibly well organized and thoughtful. Not only I was impressed, but so were my studetns! Theyreally enjoyed all of the hands on activities, in particular the pond sampling. On the bus ride back to school, students were trying to point out red maple trees that they had seen and learned about during their visit!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my classroom! My students are able to tie classroom material back to the experiments and investigations that they experienced at the Bayou Land Conservancy. This sort of hands-on, interactive learning is extremely powerful, especially for the population of students that I serve here in Houston who are predominately English as Second Language Learners.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see a monthly newsletter of some sort sent out to all science educators in neighboring districts! This way, teachers and administrators will be more aware of the enriching and innovative learning experiences that occur at the Bayou Land Conservancy.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Teach students about nature out in the field.
Work on a baseline inventory on a new conservation easement.
Clear trail at a new preserve. Volunteer