Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.927275
Write A Review
July 11, 2013

more

July 11, 2013

I am currently doing an internship at Bayou Land Conservancy and I have never seen an organization that works diligently to preserve Houston area land and watersheds. Before I started my internship, I only used to worry so much about the consequence of erosion that I would have planted Chinese tallow without knowing the side effect. But now, I am learning a lot from a very knowledgeable staff on how to sensibly preserve green species for the future generation. It’s a blessing to have an organization with high devotion to create environmental awareness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 9, 2013

more

July 9, 2013

I started an internship at Bayou Land Conservancy this summer, and the quality of the staff and volunteers' restoration work and dedication to preserving the land and waterways is amazing. The staff is extremely knowledgeable about the land and the local wildlife and spend a lot of time and effort making sure the native species and habitats are well protected. We visited the Little Cypress Creek Preserve a couple of weeks ago and had a great time hiking and learning about the local species of insects, birds, and trees. The dedication and the quality of work at this organization is really impressive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2012

more

October 8, 2012

I recently visited the Little Cypress Creek area on a class field trip from Waltrip High School and the Bayou Land Conservancy members were very nice and allowed me to gather knowledge on the subject. It was a lot of fun and i learned about a variety of fields such as invasive species, ecology, and ways to determine water quality.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012

more

May 11, 2012

BLC's broad view of conservation allows and spurs the staff to open every door for all ages! From the No child left inside program, Know your Watershed, Zero Waste picnics, advocacy opportunities, plant it, clean it, smell it, look at it, learn it, teach it, and for the sake of civilization, preserve it! The leadership of J. Lorenz leaves nothing to be desired. Her committed staff is a result of that leadership. The growth of BLC is a result of her vision. clapclapclapping for BLC

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

I was expecting the morning to be a constant battle with my 7 year old, but the staff and scenery not only kept him engaged but he actually learned a lot. My son is not the outdoor type but he was truly inspired by the staff and the surroundings. I learned a lot as well, who knew such awesomeness was so close.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Absolutely, I am a numbers not a science person, but a recalled most of what I told today because it was relevant to my lifestyle without being condescending, which is impressive since it also kept a bunched children engaged as well.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Suprisingly informed.

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

I recently participated in the earth day event Bayou Land Concervancy hosted. It was wonderful to see how young people engaged with nature as well as the grin on some adults faces, who had just used a canoe for the first time in their life. A great organization that anyone would be proud to be asscocaiated with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 31, 2011

more

March 31, 2011

I came to Bayou Land Conservancy as an intern for Spring 2011. When I first started, I was pleasantly surprised to learn that the organization was responsible for preserving the natural beauty of a beautiful piece of property right in my own neighborhood! It has been truly inspiring to work beside staff that are so passionate about what they do. I have especially enjoyed going out into the field, getting to see for myself the land that will protected by easements for generations to come. As a volunteer, I also had the opportunity to lead at-risk Houston youth on nature walks and in an invasive species removal project. The "No Child Left Inside" education program is a fantastic way to get kids outside and thinking about water conservation and environmental stewardship.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Little Cypress Creek Preserve

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase funding for the "No Child Left Inside" program and get more kids out on our preserves.

More feedback...

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Instilled in me a greater appreciation for the outdoors and introduced me to my new hobbies, hiking and bird-watching.

March 31, 2011

more

March 31, 2011

I became a legal intern with BLC in the beginning of 2011. At first, I admit, I was a bit worried about sitting behind a desk all day reviewing contracts with minimal input from the staff.

Thankfully, I was dead wrong. The staff are some of the most fun, knowledgeable, and hardworking
people I've ever had the privilege of working with. Instead of a desk job, I found myself out in the field multiple times, actually exploring the land that we were protecting. Of course, soon after, I found myself back reviewing easements, but knowing what the property looked like made it all the more interesting.

After coming in worried that I was going to be stuck protecting myself from paper cuts, I was so pleasantly surprised that I ended up protecting land that I've had physical contact with.

I can't speak highly enough of my time with BLC.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I was amazed at the diligence with which the staff worked to acquire easements. While I was working there, we got our 40th easement. The property is fantastic, and its beauty really deserves to be protected.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move it closer to Houston proper. So many environmental activities happen there, and because of the distance, the staff here does have some difficulty in getting their name out.

March 31, 2011

more

March 31, 2011

Bayou Land is a fantastic organization in Texas. They are involved with the important work of managing conservation easements on over 10,000 acres of land for volunteer land owners. They lobby for water quality and wetland preservation throughout the state. And, not in the least, they provide valuable education for the next generation of conscientious consumers and nature enthusiasts.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

. . . the successes of the recent river legislation before the Texas legislature.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

. . . give them more funding.

March 31, 2011

more

March 31, 2011

I had a wonderful experience volunteering with the Bayou Land Conservancy. I helped lead middle school children in an invasive species removal project. The Bayou Land Conservancy is very enthusiastic about getting kids outdoors and learn about the environment and how to conserve it. I had a lot of fun!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My own neighborhood which is next to the preserve run by Bayou Land Conservancy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not. they are wonderful

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Teach students about nature out in the field.
Work on a baseline inventory on a new conservation easement.
Clear trail at a new preserve. Volunteer