Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.927275
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

Bayou Land Conservancy has a great staff of talented and knowledgable biologists and nature interpreters. They are welcoming and serve a great cause!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

BioBlitz was wonderful.. thank you so much for offering such a great event. my kids loved netting the macro-invertebrates and seeing the coral snake. These opportunities really make a difference by helping build and grow our appreciation for nature that we and our future generations need to continue to have.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

I became involved in Bayou Land Conservancy when I learned about the wonderful work it does to protect our vital natural resource around or waterways. It is truly a fantastic group that does great work for the public good.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

In short, BLC is a fantastic organization. The group not only preserves important watershed land, but then uses that protected land to educate the community. In particularly, BLC brings school children to these preserves and get them outside. It's one thing to protect land and the environment - it's equally as important to educate people why they should care. BLC does them both - and well - and with a superb staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

I became involved with Bayou Land Conservancy when I learned of their committment to preserving the environment. As a green builder who strives to educate people in being good stewards to the economy becoming part of BLC just made sense. Their track record speaks for itself. The respect they hold in the community is top notch and the organization itself is run by very qualified and talented people. I look forward to a long history with BLC and plan to continue to give of my time and resources to help insure its success.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Personal fulfillment and community involvement

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create a system where fund raising was automatic so that less time could be spent on fundraising and more time could be spent on doing the good works for the environment and the community

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

I was introduced to the Executive Director and the rest was history

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

To adequately staff to be able to maintain the quality of service as more and more properties are added

What is its top priority in the long run?

To grow the organization with staff, office and resources to better reach out to more properties and communities

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

Through my short two years with Bayou Land Conservancy, I've learned more about Houston's great outdoors and our need for conservation programs than my 35 plus years as a Houstonian. Bayou Land Conservancy's hard work provides benefit to the entire city...that's a population of 4 million strong and growing. I've enjoyed working with Bayou Land Conservancy these past two years and I look forward to many more.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

BLC is a wonderful organization with tremendous upside. If you are looking for a way to give back to our community, learn ways to help our earth, and create a better environment for all, consider becoming a member. The group is made up of hard working, dedicated folks with great ideas and a strong commitment to make our community a better place to live.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 14, 2011

more

April 14, 2011

I am an 8th grade teacher and recently brought about 40 students to the Bayou Land Conservancy. Cynthia Salvaggio, the Environmental Educator, and her volunteers did an outstanding job facilitating outdoor learning for the students. The students learned about invasive species, how to gauge the health of an ecosystem, and the importance of wetland preservation. The experiential learning included a hiking scavenger hunt for native and invasive species and removal of invasive plants. Most memorable for the students was putting on rubber boots, grabbing a net, wading through a pond, and skimming insects and other organisms from the top of the water to explore the type of creatures living in the water. Students learned that various organisms can signal either really clean or toxic water.

In addition to the breadth of experiences provided, I was impressed by Cynthia and her volunteers' professionalism, passion, and dedication to education. I highly recommend visits to other school groups as well as the general public.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

creating opportunities for my students that would not otherwise exist.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

advertise more.

March 31, 2011

more

March 31, 2011

I came to Bayou Land Conservancy as an intern for Spring 2011. When I first started, I was pleasantly surprised to learn that the organization was responsible for preserving the natural beauty of a beautiful piece of property right in my own neighborhood! It has been truly inspiring to work beside staff that are so passionate about what they do. I have especially enjoyed going out into the field, getting to see for myself the land that will protected by easements for generations to come. As a volunteer, I also had the opportunity to lead at-risk Houston youth on nature walks and in an invasive species removal project. The "No Child Left Inside" education program is a fantastic way to get kids outside and thinking about water conservation and environmental stewardship.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Little Cypress Creek Preserve

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase funding for the "No Child Left Inside" program and get more kids out on our preserves.

More feedback...

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Instilled in me a greater appreciation for the outdoors and introduced me to my new hobbies, hiking and bird-watching.

March 31, 2011

more

March 31, 2011

I brought my environmental science class to explore watersheds with the Bayou Land Conservancy. The program called, "No Child Left Inside" was an absolute breath of fresh air quite literally! My students were apprehensive before we left but were ready to go back the very next day in class. They were wading through water and hurrying back to have specimens identified, had a friendly invasive species removal competition, and along the way learned the names of all the trees and shrubs we take for granted.

My class thoroughly enjoyed all activities. They got to actually take time examining what was in front of them without any pressure and thus, truly be able to appreciate it. They learned everything first hand taught in the book about watersheds and invasive species, and they had fun doing it. Even my students that I didn’t expect to respond came out of their shell and surprised me with what they were able to share and contribute, things that I taught them in class, but never heard them express.

I liked the program offered by Bayou Land Conservancy because there was an environmental educator who tailored the day after what we were learning in class and had everything I needed to show my administration this is an educational field trip. They had a pre-test, informative watershed booklet, and post test along with scavenger hunt to show off their knowledge.

The fieldtrip was absolutely wonderful for all involved, students, administration, myself, and the legacy gained some conservation supporters.

If you want to see your children or students shine, I highly recommend taking your students to explore watersheds with Bayou Land Conservancy!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the classroom because the students relate everything back to their experience on the field trip. They speak up more in class and are more comfortable as a group than before.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Teach students about nature out in the field.
Work on a baseline inventory on a new conservation easement.
Clear trail at a new preserve. Volunteer