Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.927275
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
May 1, 2012

more

May 1, 2012

Our Boy Scout Pack 1100 enjoyed themselves last Saturday. We're thankful that we have an area close by that allows us to learn about conservation as well as being able to give back to the community as well. We'll get the rest of our family out there soon.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 1, 2012

more

May 1, 2012

The Bayou Land Conservancy or BLC as we refer to it, is committed to the conservation of not just bayous as the name suggests, but our watershed system in the Houston area. With the amount of construction and other earth moving projects that are constantly taking place, it is vital to dedicate space for our delicate eco-system. The BLC serves as the conduit to that end. Providing education to the public and to youth organizations and schools, as well as assisting in the purchase of land to be preserved. I have worked with the board members as well as other key personnel. The passion and dedication is second to none. A great group of people focused on an excellent cause. Thumbs up guys!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2012

more

April 30, 2012

Houston is one of the most diverse cities in the United States, and is an amalgamation of cultures, languages, and nationalities. As the 4th largest city we have successfully paved and urbanized most of our natural green spaces in an attempt to accommodate our growing population of 4 million citizens. The Bayou Land Conservancy recognizes this challenge and the need to preserve, restore, and educate people on the importance of this dwindling resource. The BLC provides a concerted effort to maintain at least some remnants of this valuable resource for future generations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

I was expecting the morning to be a constant battle with my 7 year old, but the staff and scenery not only kept him engaged but he actually learned a lot. My son is not the outdoor type but he was truly inspired by the staff and the surroundings. I learned a lot as well, who knew such awesomeness was so close.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Absolutely, I am a numbers not a science person, but a recalled most of what I told today because it was relevant to my lifestyle without being condescending, which is impressive since it also kept a bunched children engaged as well.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Suprisingly informed.

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

Awesome weekend with great advice to native plants and animals. I would love to do it again, and would certainly recommend to others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

When I met Jennifer at another non-profit function and learned what BLC does, it was a "no-brainer"! I had to be involved. Another friend, who was a Board Member at the time, asked if Ii would consider throwing my hat in the ring for a volunteer Board position. I jumped at the chance. Since joining, and from the first Board Orientation meeting, I could feel the excitement and energy of the staff and the other Board Members. I have truly enjoyed the community outreach programs and found myself getting even more excited, as I talked with sheer strangers about the exciting preservation work BLC has done and is continuing to do. I cant say enough about the Cypress Creek Greenway and I love talking (bragging?!) to folks about it. I got first hand experience on Earth Day, with the No Child Left Inside program. And the staff, as well as the other Board Members, are not only incredibly professional and skilled at what they do, they are people I am also proud to call friends. I am a lawyer by training, and a non-profit expert, so it is very gratifying to me that I can contribute some of my professional skills, to help things keep running smoothly. I am proud to be a volunteer supporter and a Board Member and cant wait for the next community campaign or outreach program, to talk to folks about the marvelous work BLC does.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

From a friend who is a Board Member. Also, met the Executive Director at another non-profit function

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

I have been a board member for a couple of years and volunteered several years before that. BLC has consistently worked hard to make the greater Houston area a greener place. Their efforts in the last year helped start the regulatory process for gravel mining along rivers, which had been almost entirely uncontrolled resulting in significant damage to waterways. In addition to our conservation and preservation efforts the conservancy has an active environmental education program that is popular among area schools.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

I've been fortunate enough to have been associated with Bayou Land Conservancy almost since their inception and have been on most of their easements. They have a very dedicated staff and Board and their commitment to preserving unique and important ecosystems within the Greater Houston Metro Region is unparalleled. Every time we survey a new easement I leave with a feeling of gratification that this unique property will be protected and with a feeling of gratitude towards BLC for the important work they are doing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

We had a great time at the earth day event Bayou Land Concervancy hosted. Jennefer Lorenz's enthusiam is infectious and the energy she puts into her work is inspiring. I look forward to being more involved and educated about what is being done to protect the vital resources around our local waterways.

Photos

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

I recently participated in the earth day event Bayou Land Concervancy hosted. It was wonderful to see how young people engaged with nature as well as the grin on some adults faces, who had just used a canoe for the first time in their life. A great organization that anyone would be proud to be asscocaiated with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Teach students about nature out in the field.
Work on a baseline inventory on a new conservation easement.
Clear trail at a new preserve. Volunteer