Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.928575
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

The Batonga Foundation does a wonderful job providing education to young girls in Africa. It is a critical organization that not only empowers young girls to dream of a future, despite their circumstances, but it also helps make it a reality.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Reach out to college campuses, if they aren't doing so already, to see if students would be interested in volunteering. Especially women's colleges.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

The Batonga Foundation is committed to ensuring girls in Africa receive an education. This not only changes the trajectory of a girl's life, it can change the course of the nations in Africa by stimulating economic growth as well. The Batonga Foundation sees that vision and works to realize it, that's why it's top rated.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

A great nonprofit dedicated to combatting any and every imaginable obstacle to girls' education. The Batonga Foundation will stop at nothing to keep its girls in school!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Batonga Foundation is a jewel of an organization that has yet to tap its potential for helping to educate girls in Africa. I was introduced to Batongal more than a year when a friend invited me to attend a fundraiser for the organization. After hearing the remarks of those in attendance, I was impressed with its mission. A few months later I offered to assist Batonga. The challenges currently facing Batonga is the development of a strategic plan that will address future fundraising strategies that will allow the organization to hire at least some additional staff members; a plan of action for expanding the board; the development of a data base of donors and alumni; and the development of marketing materials that clearly tells the story of the wonderful work that this small organization is doing to change the lives of girls in Africa.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

1. Develop a strategic plan of action for the next ten years. 2. Expand the board beyond the few members currently on the board. 3. Develop a plan of action for raising funds to sustain the organization for at least five years. 4. Develop a plan of action for establishing "partnerships" with other organizations that can help in funding the education of a number of the girls in each country. 5. Developing a plan of action to look at sending some of the graduate on to college or additional training

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

One of my dearest friends introduced me to The Batonga Foundation

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

I do not know.

What is its top priority in the long run?

I do not know.

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

Batonga is a unique organization in that they are deeply impacting the lives of more than 1,200 girls in Africa with very little resources. Because of the tools provided to Batonga girls such as scholarships, vocational training, and microfinace loans, these girls are given the opportunity to grow into healthy, independent young women actively contributing to their country's economy. I am honored to be a part of the Batonga team and am constantly impressed with the innovative, effective solutions they come up with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

Batonga is a unique organization because it not only provides change it provides sustainable change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 2, 2012

more

June 2, 2012

Batonga is a terrific Foundation that I have been proud to support. They make a big difference in the lives of women in Africa!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 30, 2012

more

May 30, 2012

The work that the Batonga Foundation, under the expert and committed leadership of Angelique Kidjo, has done and is doing has already made a tremendous positive difference in the lives of hundreds of girls in five African countries. Making it possible to attain a secondary or higher education not only educates the girls, but will also affect their future families and communities. Educating these young girls and broadening their intellectual horizons is a strong step toward an enlightened Africa. What a gift Batonga gives! As a member of the Grobanites for Africa team, I made donations to sponsor girls' education, and also encouraged other Grobanites (fans of Josh Groban) to do the same. Receiving letters and pictures from my girls made me realize how their lives were changing for the better. The Batonga Foundation made our connection possible.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 27, 2012

more

May 27, 2012

As Co-chair of Grobanites for Africa, I know the donations our group has made has made a difference in the lives of so many young women in Sierra Leone and throughout Africa. We receive updates and letters from the groups of girls we are able to sponsor. We know we are a part of making a difference in their lives, and they will be making a difference in their community and sharing their education with many more. Batonga makes it possible for these girls to receive that education. Girls are changing Africa and education makes the difference.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2012

more

May 25, 2012

The Batonga Foundation offers a simple solution to the complex challenges in Africa. By offering education to girls and women throughout Africa, the Batonga Foundation serves as the needed support for Africa's local communities. By strengthening the knowledge base of underprivileged women, Africa’s mothers, sisters and daughters will be able to make better decisions and become empowered to lead. In every social challenge, women have led the way for major impact. The Batonga Foundation offers the tools for women to take on greater responsibilities to tackle the social challenges of Africa.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers