Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

esta ha siso la mejor oportunidad de ayudar a las mujeres en mi pais a travez de la atencion,el entrenamiento,la experiencia es extraordinaria y muy humanitaria con un alto grado de profesionalismo y responsabilidad,como ginecologa me siento honrada en poder aportar mi colaboracion ,sigamos adelante

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I am a OB/Gyn resident working with Basic Health both in a volunteer and research capacity. I was fortunate to connect with Dr. Cremer through my residency and have continued to be amazed by her passion and commitment. She is dedicated to creating a comprehensive model for cervical cancer from screening, surveillance, supporting treatment and evaluating care through research. I was fortunate to travel to El Salvador with the team for the CareHPV launch and cervical cancer educational seminar. The enthusiasm this organization creates for work on cervical cancer was contagious. The participants went home with new knowledge and energy for the mission. This organization does an excellent job of utilizing teh skills fo volunteers and subject matter experts for maximum benefit. I hope to soon be able to particpate in a VIA delegation and plan to continue with research efforts for cervical cancer screening in low resources settings.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

Desde que la misma organizacion me brindo la oportunidad de capacitarme sobre su trabajo, he comprobado la ayuda que esta brinda a las diferentes comunidades beneficiadas con su proyecto, en la prevencion y tratamiento de la patologia cervical. Tambien en la implementacion de nuevas tecnologias y actualizacion al respecto.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

I have been honored to work with Basic Health International on a number of projects over the past 10 years. They have a very specific mission -- to reduce the suffering associated with cervical cancer in El Salvador -- which makes them extremely effective. The staff is highly qualified and has the experience, expertise and dedication to approach cervical cancer from multiple fronts, from training health care professionals in cervical cancer screening, to supporting women as they undergo treatment, to researching new setting-appropriate methods for screening. As a volunteer, I always feel welcomed and well-utilized. They make excellent use of my time, identifying projects that match my skills and providing the support I need to make progress. It is highly rewarding volunteer work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

I'm a medical student working with Basic Health International through the Fulbright program. Specifically, my research project examines patient preferences with regard to provider-collected sampling or patient self-sampling for HPV testing. I chose to work with Basic Health because I believe that their research model addresses one of the key challenges for medicine in developing countries - that of sustainability. By working alongside the Ministry of Health, Basic Health can ensure that the projects they perform are in a successful position to be continued by Ministry of Health over the long-term. Working with this organization has laid the groundwork for important skills that I'll continue to use and refine over the course of my career, including experience with research, organizational structure, leadership, sustainability, Spanish-speaking, professional contacts, and seeking funding opportunities. Working with Basic Health has been as life-changing for me as it has been for the patients they help.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012

more

September 17, 2012

As the founder and president of RoomsThatRock4Chemo, it was my pleasure indeed to be introduced to, and work together with Basic Health International in transforming the chemotherapy unit at Maternity Hospital in San Salvador, El Salvador. Under the excellent and professional direction of Dr. Mauricio Maza, BHI worked with dedication and professionalism, willing to do whatever it took to get the project completed “on time and under budget". The BHI family included, doctors, board members and professionals of all levels, everyone contributing and therefore making a difference to those that must endure chemotherapy.

I was able to learn more about the BHI mission of eradicating cervical cancer that devastates so many women of all ages in El Salvador. As they explained their mission in greater detail, I was overwhelmed by the kindness and compassion that was visible in their eyes and hearts as they spoke of their dedication to detect, treat, and stop this horrible cancer.

BHI is truly a non-profit that is worthy of praise. I hope we are able to collaborate again in the not too distant future. Thank you BHI!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 14, 2012

more

September 14, 2012

I have spent considerable time with the staff, physicians and board members of Basic Health International and have come away with the sense that BHI is tackling one of the most important healthcare issues in Central America. Cervical Cancer is the highest killer in Central America of women and for most it is entirely preventable. A cancer diagnosis can shake the foundation of families both financially and emotionally. Basic Health is committed to eliminating that suffering for so many with a team of professionals with extraordinary compassion. BHI is doing exactly what is needed.

1) Creating Awareness
2) Partnering with other non-profits to open up access to screening and treatment in Rural Communities
3) Developing innovative ideas i.e. the portable bed that could be utilized in Rural settings around the world
4) Generating funding to provide free screenings and treatment
5) Conducting research to evaluate cervical cancer prevention methods for areas with limited resources

I have been in Healthcare Philanthropy for the last seventeen years
both grant making and fundraising and without a doubt Basic Health
International is a Great Non-profit.
Taylor

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

public relations, client relations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see them receive more funding to reach their goals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

The humility of the hard working staff, physicians and board.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide administrative or other support at our offices in New York, NY or Pittsburgh, PA. Volunteer