Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

My first experience with Basic Health International was two years ago during a study abroad course offered by Hampshire College to expose students interested in public health to an non-profit organization doing real work in the field.This experience with BHI in El Salvador, observing community outreach and training programs, entirely re-directed my undergrad thesis project and studies. I was inspired by my interactions with BHI team members. Their support of new ideas, encouragement and responsiveness to feedback was incredible. It is because of BHI's innovative approach to responding to the needs of their community, and genuine support of feedback that I have been able to continue work on a student developed project, designing portable exam beds for use in rural settings. From the onset this project has been fostered by BHI's remarkable team and I look forward to continue to learn from and work with individuals who are so dedicated to their work and mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

Basic Health International takes an innovative approach to tackling the crisis of cervical cancer in El Salvador by not only conducting screenings throughout the country using low resource techniques, but continually training and working with the Ministry of Health in El Salvador to make these methods and programs sustainable. Additionally, BHI continues to put forth influential and highly important research on screening methods and treatment. I feel fortunate to have worked with such an amazing organization, my involvement with BHI has been absolutely life changing. I feel like I was able to work on projects that I felt excited and passionate about. BHI provided me with experience in international women's health, public health and helped build my research skills. Everyone in the organization is so inspiring, completely dedicated and will utilize your skill sets effectively. I can't imagine where I would be if it wasn't for BHI and I'm sure all the women whose lives they've saved feel similar sentiments.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I've been volunteering with Basic Health for five years. In that time, I've watched the organization make huge strides towards eradicating cervical cancer in El Salvador. They are dedicated to their efforts to be an EFFECTIVE non-profit, as is evidenced by their continuous collaboration with the Salvadoran Ministry of Health. The staff and volunteers are passionate and bright, and work very hard! They are welcoming and interested. Expect to be inspired!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2012

more

October 7, 2012

I have been working with Basic Health since 2009 as a volunteer, helping with field research, and working on a community-based project. They are truly invested in building stronger communities within El Salvador, supporting useful locally-relevant research, and they are absolutely wonderful folks to work with. I always feel empowered and engaged with everyone at the organization, and I owe much of my international research experience to Basic Health. Basic Health not only has good intentions, but they take their work incredibly seriously and are thoughtful and diligent about making their work useful to those they serve. The collaborative nature of the organization and the open communication between volunteers and providers makes working with Basic Health a true joy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

I have been working for Basic Health as an intern for about a year now and it has been an incredible experience. Working with Basic health has allowed me to gain invaluable experience in public health and the world of global health. Because Basic Health is a fairly small organization my experience ranges from social networking and administrative support to designing a research study. The atmosphere at Basic Health is very welcoming to interns and volunteers and I highly recommend this organization for anyone looking for an internship or opportunities to work in public health or global health.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 15, 2012

more

September 15, 2012

A month ago as a member of Rooms that Rock for Chemo, I had the pleasure of working together with members of BHI on a project in San Salvador renovating chemo therapy rooms at the Maternity Hospital. It’s one thing to hear about and support a foundation in their efforts, it’s another to work with them and see them in action. The drive and commitment of those involved was amazing. Their efforts and goal of addressing women’s medical needs around the world is very much needed, and I can say from first-hand experience “They are definitely making a difference”.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 9, 2012

more

September 9, 2012

Please go to this link to read about my involvement with Basic Health:http://obgyn.med.nyu.edu/about-our-department/department-divisions/global-womens-health/global-health-projects/blog-el-salvad

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide administrative or other support at our offices in New York, NY or Pittsburgh, PA. Volunteer