Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

Basic Health International (BHI) is an incredible organization. It began as a group of clinicians that addressed several different needs in El Salvador, but has evolved to focus exclusively on cervical cancer in Latin America and the Caribbean. BHI has made amazing strides in educating providers, increasing access to screening/treatment and in cervical cancer research. They are truly a presence in the region and I have no doubt they will be a major player in decreasing cervical cancer fatalities around the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012

more

September 17, 2012

As the founder and president of RoomsThatRock4Chemo, it was my pleasure indeed to be introduced to, and work together with Basic Health International in transforming the chemotherapy unit at Maternity Hospital in San Salvador, El Salvador. Under the excellent and professional direction of Dr. Mauricio Maza, BHI worked with dedication and professionalism, willing to do whatever it took to get the project completed “on time and under budget". The BHI family included, doctors, board members and professionals of all levels, everyone contributing and therefore making a difference to those that must endure chemotherapy.

I was able to learn more about the BHI mission of eradicating cervical cancer that devastates so many women of all ages in El Salvador. As they explained their mission in greater detail, I was overwhelmed by the kindness and compassion that was visible in their eyes and hearts as they spoke of their dedication to detect, treat, and stop this horrible cancer.

BHI is truly a non-profit that is worthy of praise. I hope we are able to collaborate again in the not too distant future. Thank you BHI!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 15, 2012

more

September 15, 2012

A month ago as a member of Rooms that Rock for Chemo, I had the pleasure of working together with members of BHI on a project in San Salvador renovating chemo therapy rooms at the Maternity Hospital. It’s one thing to hear about and support a foundation in their efforts, it’s another to work with them and see them in action. The drive and commitment of those involved was amazing. Their efforts and goal of addressing women’s medical needs around the world is very much needed, and I can say from first-hand experience “They are definitely making a difference”.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 14, 2012

more

September 14, 2012

I have spent considerable time with the staff, physicians and board members of Basic Health International and have come away with the sense that BHI is tackling one of the most important healthcare issues in Central America. Cervical Cancer is the highest killer in Central America of women and for most it is entirely preventable. A cancer diagnosis can shake the foundation of families both financially and emotionally. Basic Health is committed to eliminating that suffering for so many with a team of professionals with extraordinary compassion. BHI is doing exactly what is needed.

1) Creating Awareness
2) Partnering with other non-profits to open up access to screening and treatment in Rural Communities
3) Developing innovative ideas i.e. the portable bed that could be utilized in Rural settings around the world
4) Generating funding to provide free screenings and treatment
5) Conducting research to evaluate cervical cancer prevention methods for areas with limited resources

I have been in Healthcare Philanthropy for the last seventeen years
both grant making and fundraising and without a doubt Basic Health
International is a Great Non-profit.
Taylor

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

public relations, client relations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see them receive more funding to reach their goals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

The humility of the hard working staff, physicians and board.

September 13, 2012

more

September 13, 2012

BHI is a group of decidated professional that are great to work with on women's health issues. It's a nonprofit that has a unique combination of research and policy experts, working together with clinicians to solve real health issues. What can I say, this group knows how to implement complex programs, in low resource settings.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 9, 2012

more

September 9, 2012

Please go to this link to read about my involvement with Basic Health:http://obgyn.med.nyu.edu/about-our-department/department-divisions/global-womens-health/global-health-projects/blog-el-salvad

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide administrative or other support at our offices in New York, NY or Pittsburgh, PA. Volunteer