Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

My first experience with Basic Health International was two years ago during a study abroad course offered by Hampshire College to expose students interested in public health to an non-profit organization doing real work in the field.This experience with BHI in El Salvador, observing community outreach and training programs, entirely re-directed my undergrad thesis project and studies. I was inspired by my interactions with BHI team members. Their support of new ideas, encouragement and responsiveness to feedback was incredible. It is because of BHI's innovative approach to responding to the needs of their community, and genuine support of feedback that I have been able to continue work on a student developed project, designing portable exam beds for use in rural settings. From the onset this project has been fostered by BHI's remarkable team and I look forward to continue to learn from and work with individuals who are so dedicated to their work and mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

Basic Health International takes an innovative approach to tackling the crisis of cervical cancer in El Salvador by not only conducting screenings throughout the country using low resource techniques, but continually training and working with the Ministry of Health in El Salvador to make these methods and programs sustainable. Additionally, BHI continues to put forth influential and highly important research on screening methods and treatment. I feel fortunate to have worked with such an amazing organization, my involvement with BHI has been absolutely life changing. I feel like I was able to work on projects that I felt excited and passionate about. BHI provided me with experience in international women's health, public health and helped build my research skills. Everyone in the organization is so inspiring, completely dedicated and will utilize your skill sets effectively. I can't imagine where I would be if it wasn't for BHI and I'm sure all the women whose lives they've saved feel similar sentiments.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I've been volunteering with Basic Health for five years. In that time, I've watched the organization make huge strides towards eradicating cervical cancer in El Salvador. They are dedicated to their efforts to be an EFFECTIVE non-profit, as is evidenced by their continuous collaboration with the Salvadoran Ministry of Health. The staff and volunteers are passionate and bright, and work very hard! They are welcoming and interested. Expect to be inspired!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

esta ha siso la mejor oportunidad de ayudar a las mujeres en mi pais a travez de la atencion,el entrenamiento,la experiencia es extraordinaria y muy humanitaria con un alto grado de profesionalismo y responsabilidad,como ginecologa me siento honrada en poder aportar mi colaboracion ,sigamos adelante

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I am a OB/Gyn resident working with Basic Health both in a volunteer and research capacity. I was fortunate to connect with Dr. Cremer through my residency and have continued to be amazed by her passion and commitment. She is dedicated to creating a comprehensive model for cervical cancer from screening, surveillance, supporting treatment and evaluating care through research. I was fortunate to travel to El Salvador with the team for the CareHPV launch and cervical cancer educational seminar. The enthusiasm this organization creates for work on cervical cancer was contagious. The participants went home with new knowledge and energy for the mission. This organization does an excellent job of utilizing teh skills fo volunteers and subject matter experts for maximum benefit. I hope to soon be able to particpate in a VIA delegation and plan to continue with research efforts for cervical cancer screening in low resources settings.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

Desde que la misma organizacion me brindo la oportunidad de capacitarme sobre su trabajo, he comprobado la ayuda que esta brinda a las diferentes comunidades beneficiadas con su proyecto, en la prevencion y tratamiento de la patologia cervical. Tambien en la implementacion de nuevas tecnologias y actualizacion al respecto.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

I have been honored to work with Basic Health International on a number of projects over the past 10 years. They have a very specific mission -- to reduce the suffering associated with cervical cancer in El Salvador -- which makes them extremely effective. The staff is highly qualified and has the experience, expertise and dedication to approach cervical cancer from multiple fronts, from training health care professionals in cervical cancer screening, to supporting women as they undergo treatment, to researching new setting-appropriate methods for screening. As a volunteer, I always feel welcomed and well-utilized. They make excellent use of my time, identifying projects that match my skills and providing the support I need to make progress. It is highly rewarding volunteer work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

I'm a medical student working with Basic Health International through the Fulbright program. Specifically, my research project examines patient preferences with regard to provider-collected sampling or patient self-sampling for HPV testing. I chose to work with Basic Health because I believe that their research model addresses one of the key challenges for medicine in developing countries - that of sustainability. By working alongside the Ministry of Health, Basic Health can ensure that the projects they perform are in a successful position to be continued by Ministry of Health over the long-term. Working with this organization has laid the groundwork for important skills that I'll continue to use and refine over the course of my career, including experience with research, organizational structure, leadership, sustainability, Spanish-speaking, professional contacts, and seeking funding opportunities. Working with Basic Health has been as life-changing for me as it has been for the patients they help.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2012

more

October 7, 2012

I have been working with Basic Health since 2009 as a volunteer, helping with field research, and working on a community-based project. They are truly invested in building stronger communities within El Salvador, supporting useful locally-relevant research, and they are absolutely wonderful folks to work with. I always feel empowered and engaged with everyone at the organization, and I owe much of my international research experience to Basic Health. Basic Health not only has good intentions, but they take their work incredibly seriously and are thoughtful and diligent about making their work useful to those they serve. The collaborative nature of the organization and the open communication between volunteers and providers makes working with Basic Health a true joy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

I have been working for Basic Health as an intern for about a year now and it has been an incredible experience. Working with Basic health has allowed me to gain invaluable experience in public health and the world of global health. Because Basic Health is a fairly small organization my experience ranges from social networking and administrative support to designing a research study. The atmosphere at Basic Health is very welcoming to interns and volunteers and I highly recommend this organization for anyone looking for an internship or opportunities to work in public health or global health.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide administrative or other support at our offices in New York, NY or Pittsburgh, PA. Volunteer