Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.983615
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

BSF is both as a family, loving, helpful and supporting, and as a huge source of information. Even if our son is affected by a rare disease, we never feel alone, and BSF give us the strenght to live w... more

July 31, 2014

Amazing association, extremely active in fund raising, in raising awarness on a rare disease, on supporting affected families and promoting medical research

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 15, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

BSF is both as a family, loving, helpful and supporting, and as a huge source of information. Even if our son is affected by a rare disease, we never feel alone, and BSF give us the strenght to live with Barth Syndrome, and give us hope that the future of our kids will be brighter

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

The Barth Syndrome Foundation and their affiliate the Barth Syndrome Trust in UK changed my life. I am a mother of a person with Barth Syndrome. The support and information we received from this organisation helped me strongly in finding my way to cope in a better way with this terrible disease.
The doctors of my son get better information about treatments that work and about those that don't work. The BSF finances very important research, that is not only important for patients with Barth Syndrome, but that can be very helpful for other rare diseases and for widelyspread diseases as Alzheimer and neutropenia after cancer treatments. I met other affected families via meetings organised by BSF and many of those families have become real life friends and are more supportive and compassionate than my own family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more money to do more good work

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

Thanks to the Barth Syndrome Foundation's website for making us aware of our son's condition before the Doctors even diagnosed him! I truely believe BSF helped save my son's life! Here is our story:... more

July 30, 2014

My son has Barth Syndrome and the Barth Syndrome has not only saved his life through proper diagnosis of his disease but they continue to fight for a cure with cutting edge research. Heart on a chip using Barth Syndrome boys own IPS cells and replacement enzyme therapies are being studied to hopefully find a cure someday. The boys, families, doctors and scientists are all truly amazing! Parents of these boys raise alot of the money for the foundation by breaking boards in karate, fencing, grass volleyball, bowling, poker, bingo, jewelry sales, Iron-man races among many others.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 15, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Thanks to the Barth Syndrome Foundation's website for making us aware of our son's condition before the Doctors even diagnosed him! I truely believe BSF helped save my son's life! Here is our story: My son was in the hospital for 2 weeks at 3 months of age with failure to thrive and he had stopped eating by mouth. He had a NG tube put in and medications giving after finding out he was in heart failure. The subject of a heart transplant was brought up but his heart responded to the medication. Through blood tests we also found he was neutropenic so putting all the pieces together we searched the internet every chance we could and came upon a number of diseases. We narrowed it down to Barth Syndrome and then asked for the specific DNA test to confirm it. We were denied the test because the urine test was not conclusive for Barth Syndrome. The Barth Syndrome Foundation let us know the urine test is not always a good indicator so we kept fighting for a DNA test and finally received one. Later we received a letter which was an official apology from the genetics doctor at the hospital who had initially refused the DNA test to us. The Barth Syndrome Foundation to this day stands with us, educates us, comforts us and prepares us for the road ahead. At their bi-annual conference in Florida, which we have attended two so far, we have met so many other boys affected by this dreadful disease and that has brought us the most hope of all!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

It is absolutely stunning what BSF manages to do in so many areas. Financing and coordinating scientific research, bringing patients with Barth syndrome together (online and face to face), supplying information for patients, families and physicians. And the bi-annual conferences bring all these topics together. No other patient group has been able to do any of this on such large skill, let alone for a rare disease.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely nothing. They know very well what they are doing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

BSF is a like a second family for us. When our son was diagnosed they were right there to comfort us and answer any questions that we had about Barth Syndrome. It is a loving, helpful and supporting group of people that work together for our boys. They have made a huge difference in our life. BSF is hope for a cure!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

BSF has made such a huge difference in our life when our grand-son was diagnosed with Barth Syndrome when he was 3 months old. We were overwhelmed with questions nobody could answer and we found in BSF a wonderful community of parents and experts offering knowledge, advice and support. The Internet Site is a remarkable source of information for many aspects of the disease and for every day life issues, the Listserv also provides quick and useful information through shared experiences. BSF is an excellent foundation which gives hope for a better future for the children and adults affected.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

it is perfect

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

There is not a doubt in my mind that my son is doing so well today because of the work of the Barth Syndrome Foundation (BSF). Having 2 children born with Barth syndrome, I know all too well the effects of this devastating disorder. After losing my first son at 2 weeks of age to an undetected heart condition, I was told it was likely a fluke and to try for another baby. Imagine the surprise and absolute horror I felt when my second son was born with the same heart problem. Thankfully it was detected, and my second son underwent successful heart transplantation at 9 weeks of age. The awareness raised by BSF led his doctors to believe BTHS may be the cause of his heart failure, so they sought the input of a BSF affiliated cardiologist before listing him for a transplant. It was on the advice of that cardiologist that Devin was listed for, and eventually received, the donor heart. Although his cardiac health improved post transplant, BTHS is a multi-faceted disorder, and the work of BSF has allowed us to manage all of the other facets. Finally, the support and camaraderie offered by a group of people affected by such a rare and devastating disorder is made possible by BSF.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

When our son was diagnosed with Barth Syndrome in 2006, we felt lost and alone. With having a rare genetic disease that affects less than 200 males worldwide, it's hard for others to relate. Not even most close family and friends can truly relate. We decided to reach out to the Barth Syndrome Foundation, thinking that our son could help other boys like him by relating medical information. By reaching out, we found a WHOLE LOT more than just a place to share invaluable medical information. We found others who knew exactly what we were going through. Someone else finally understood our fears, hopes, struggles, and simple joys. We could share laughs, tears, and achievements with people who 'got' us. This group is full of knowledge and wisdom about things that no other group could share in the same way. This foundation is AWESOME!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2012

Without the BSF my son would probably not be as healthy as he currently is. We have learned from experts that we would have never met before the foundation existed. It is the most sharing, giving, i... more

June 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

BSF is the example to follow when setting up a Foundation. What they have accomplished in 11 years is remarkable. The knowledge and resouces available to families is excellent anf you won't find a tighter knit community than BSF. The willingness of the doctors and scientists who volunteer their time to help families anywhere in the world is amazing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

Without the BSF my son would probably not be as healthy as he currently is. We have learned from experts that we would have never met before the foundation existed. It is the most sharing, giving, insightful, and caring group I have ever belonged to. It has given me hope that my granddaughters, who could be carriers of BTH, will never have to go through what my sons and family have. We are a fighting a disease that is very rare but we will win!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our son is affected by this disease and when he was diagnosed over 10 years ago, the Barth Syndrome Foundation dramatically changed his path of treatment and has been a life line for us. The medical advisory staff is incredible! The people involved and the families affected are extraordinary! The foundation provides instant access of help from other families as well as experts in the disease and can truly save lives by just one phone call, text, or email!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers