Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
68 Reviews
1234.985295
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

BSF is both as a family, loving, helpful and supporting, and as a huge source of information. Even if our son is affected by a rare disease, we never feel alone, and BSF give us the strenght to live w... more

July 31, 2014

Amazing association, extremely active in fund raising, in raising awarness on a rare disease, on supporting affected families and promoting medical research

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 15, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

BSF is both as a family, loving, helpful and supporting, and as a huge source of information. Even if our son is affected by a rare disease, we never feel alone, and BSF give us the strenght to live with Barth Syndrome, and give us hope that the future of our kids will be brighter

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When I found out my son had Bath Syndrome it was overwhelming in every way. BSF have been a TOTALLY INVALUABLE resource in so many ways. Clear information for me as a parent, for medical professionals, help with planning school placements and a mine if useful information I didn't even know I would need ! Alongside this the opportunity to hear from other parents, give and receive support and understanding from someone who knows what it like. Via the list serve and also at our local clinic and family fun days. Thank you BSF YOU ARE AWESOME
September 20, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 9, 2012

With out BSF I would be isolated and lost. My eldest son was born with Barth Syndrome and the doctors knew so very little about it. The foundation has enabled us to reach out and speak with people w... more

September 20, 2014

The Barth Syndrome a Foundation provides wonderful
Support and immeasurable hope. It gives families from all over
the world a place to connect with each other and share the happiness and sadness
that comes with this often fatal and very rare disorder. The conference
put together
biannually by BSF is one if the most incredible
experiences a boy with Barth and his family can have. For a non-profit that supports
a syndrome that is so very rare it is very mighty and in a short space of time
it has funded research so we now have hope that our boys will grow to be
Men.
November 9, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

With out BSF I would be isolated and lost. My eldest son was born with Barth Syndrome and the doctors knew so very little about it. The foundation has enabled us to reach out and speak with people who just understand. It is such a comfort to know that somebody else just "gets it". It is also wonderful to know that there are so many wonderful people who at the click of a button will be there to share their knowledge and lend their support. I will never forget the first conference we attended when my son saw other Barth Boys for the first time and tall ones at that! It was like all of his Christmas's had come at once. The change in him was amazing. A small group of people have made a very big impact and I am so very grateful to them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization has changed our lives. When my 15 year old son was diagnosed with Barth syndrome, we were overwhelmed and lost. Through finding the Barth Syndrome Foundation, we were able to find specialists and information as to how to treat this extremely rare illness. Within just one week my son was starting to feel better. It has helped our whole family understand the illness and to know that we are not alone. The physical and mental support is just priceless.
September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Our son has been living with Barth Syndrome for 21 years. Since the very beginning, when 3 mothers found each other on the Internet, this Foundation has been second to none. To this day, it is, without question, a great source of information, guidance, education & support. In fact, there are two women specifically, Shelley Bowen & Lynda Sedefian, who deserve a loud, long, "Standing ovation"...
July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

The Barth Syndrome Foundation and their affiliate the Barth Syndrome Trust in UK changed my life. I am a mother of a person with Barth Syndrome. The support and information we received from this organisation helped me strongly in finding my way to cope in a better way with this terrible disease.
The doctors of my son get better information about treatments that work and about those that don't work. The BSF finances very important research, that is not only important for patients with Barth Syndrome, but that can be very helpful for other rare diseases and for widelyspread diseases as Alzheimer and neutropenia after cancer treatments. I met other affected families via meetings organised by BSF and many of those families have become real life friends and are more supportive and compassionate than my own family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more money to do more good work

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

Thanks to the Barth Syndrome Foundation's website for making us aware of our son's condition before the Doctors even diagnosed him! I truely believe BSF helped save my son's life! Here is our story:... more

July 30, 2014

My son has Barth Syndrome and the Barth Syndrome has not only saved his life through proper diagnosis of his disease but they continue to fight for a cure with cutting edge research. Heart on a chip using Barth Syndrome boys own IPS cells and replacement enzyme therapies are being studied to hopefully find a cure someday. The boys, families, doctors and scientists are all truly amazing! Parents of these boys raise alot of the money for the foundation by breaking boards in karate, fencing, grass volleyball, bowling, poker, bingo, jewelry sales, Iron-man races among many others.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 15, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Thanks to the Barth Syndrome Foundation's website for making us aware of our son's condition before the Doctors even diagnosed him! I truely believe BSF helped save my son's life! Here is our story: My son was in the hospital for 2 weeks at 3 months of age with failure to thrive and he had stopped eating by mouth. He had a NG tube put in and medications giving after finding out he was in heart failure. The subject of a heart transplant was brought up but his heart responded to the medication. Through blood tests we also found he was neutropenic so putting all the pieces together we searched the internet every chance we could and came upon a number of diseases. We narrowed it down to Barth Syndrome and then asked for the specific DNA test to confirm it. We were denied the test because the urine test was not conclusive for Barth Syndrome. The Barth Syndrome Foundation let us know the urine test is not always a good indicator so we kept fighting for a DNA test and finally received one. Later we received a letter which was an official apology from the genetics doctor at the hospital who had initially refused the DNA test to us. The Barth Syndrome Foundation to this day stands with us, educates us, comforts us and prepares us for the road ahead. At their bi-annual conference in Florida, which we have attended two so far, we have met so many other boys affected by this dreadful disease and that has brought us the most hope of all!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

It is absolutely stunning what BSF manages to do in so many areas. Financing and coordinating scientific research, bringing patients with Barth syndrome together (online and face to face), supplying information for patients, families and physicians. And the bi-annual conferences bring all these topics together. No other patient group has been able to do any of this on such large skill, let alone for a rare disease.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely nothing. They know very well what they are doing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

BSF is a like a second family for us. When our son was diagnosed they were right there to comfort us and answer any questions that we had about Barth Syndrome. It is a loving, helpful and supporting group of people that work together for our boys. They have made a huge difference in our life. BSF is hope for a cure!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

BSF has made such a huge difference in our life when our grand-son was diagnosed with Barth Syndrome when he was 3 months old. We were overwhelmed with questions nobody could answer and we found in BSF a wonderful community of parents and experts offering knowledge, advice and support. The Internet Site is a remarkable source of information for many aspects of the disease and for every day life issues, the Listserv also provides quick and useful information through shared experiences. BSF is an excellent foundation which gives hope for a better future for the children and adults affected.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

it is perfect

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers