Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.982465
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
November 15, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

BSF has helped so much with so many issues. Being able to discuss with other parents issues that we face everyday and over time, makes dealing with this disease more manageable. Support, Information and a personal touch go a long way in helping to ease the stress you feel when you child is critically ill. The president has been there for me and my family for 13 years, the first of which were very critical, and now will be there for me and my family once again as we got through another critical medical issue with our son. I am so thankful for the Barth Syndrome Foundation and the list serve that keeps us together and keeps us strong for our children. A very fine group with a very great mission!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

An excellent organisation providing unique information and support to affected individuals and their carers. They are a pioneering force in scientific research and strive constantly towards bettering the care of affected individuals via an ever evolving flow of information for healthcare professionals. As the mother of an affected boy I have received invaluable guidance and support from BSF.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I received a phone call from the Family Services Director of the BSF the same day my wife and I registered online with the foundation. Our 19 month-old son was officially diagnosed the day before, and we felt as if our lives (and his) were turned upside down. We were scared and unsure of the future. That call made a big difference, and since then, the BSF has continued to exceeded my expectations in every way possible. Its Board of Directors, it's employees and its members are all working together to help find a cure and to make life for those who deal with Barth Syndrome better. Their biennial Family and Medical Conference literally sets the standard for other such events. I can’t truthfully imagine my life now without the BSF’s involvement. We are huge fans.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I´m Miguel´s father. Miguel was( he ascended to the heaven) 5 years old; he was 4 when we diagnosed BS. From this moment we knows what´s can happened with BS thanks to your´s web. For us BSF was THE HOPE. We were not alone.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I was diagnosed Barth Syndrome about 15 years ago. BSF helped me to understand and cope with the problems i had to deal with. Because information is shared and the members are very supportive.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

When our son was diagnosed with Barth Syndrome, we were terrified. BSF not only helped us through some of the toughest times in our lives, it also showed us hope and support beyond anything imaginable. If you are one of the few affected families around the world with this rare disease, you feel alone and misunderstood by everyone. In most cases, not even the Drs that are working on saving your child's life know anything about Barth Syndrome. The info and expert advice, coupled with medical and scientific advisory board and all the researchers working on the cure are INVALUABLE!!! You will never meet another group of people as dedicated and unwavering as BSF!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The Barth Syndrome Foundation came into my life just this year when my son was born in March 2012. Having my first child was an amazing experience, but once he showed signs of heart failure it brought me to my low. I was happy but yet worried, especially when your two day old son goes to the NICU after he was born. Thank god we caught his heart issues and breathing issues right away, otherwise it would of been no good for us going home with him ourselves. It scares me everyday with this deadly disease my son has called, Barth Syndrome. As of now he is doing good, thanks to all of his numerous doctors and constant doctor visits. It takes alot of strength to stay strong and keeping strong not knowing what will happen each day with my son, but I do and that's all I can do. The Barth Syndrome Foundation has been a tremendous help with dealing with this disease. Everytime I am worried, I talk with other parents who are worried about the same thing with their son, it's nice because we all understand where eachother is coming from. It's nice we actually all became a family. I was told to take each day by day and that's what I am doing. My son is doing good now, but I don't know what the future holds, but I hope it holds a cure for these wonderful, amazing little boys who are soo strong and who are LOVED unconditionally.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

The Barth Syndrome Foundation has continually guided us since our son was first diagnosed at the age of 18 months. He is now 8 1/2 years old and doing very well - much because of the connections and supports that we have with this wonderful group of caring professionals, volunteers, and parents.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Barth Syndrome Foundation came into my life in July 2011 when my son was diagnosed. I was very scared and nervous at first not knowing what was ahead of us. We found out that Brayden had dilated cardiomypothy first along with some development delays. We thought that he was just progressing at his own rate although he was having a hard time gaining weight. He was falling below the weight curve everytime that we went to the doctor. We finally swiched doctor's to get another opinion and immediately she says to us "Has anyone ever told you that your son has a heart mumur". We have not heard that in the past so she referred us to AI DuPont Hospial for Children which is about two hours from our house to go to the cardiac center there. After doing testes, our cardioligists suggested that Brayden had Barth Syndrome so we did more test to confirm that and it was back true that he does. I have recently been tested and have found out that I am a carrier although I am unsure where it came from as my mother is not a carrier. The Barth Syndrome Foundation has been wonderful to us. I have met and gained friendships with people who are miles away but it is like we are long lost friends since we can relate so well. The information and support that you gain is amazing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Our son is one of the older people surviving with Barth syndrome in the world. Until BSF was created literally no one knew about this disorder including the Docters treating my son, and of course our friends and family had no idea what we were facing either. We felt totally isolated and alone - adrift with no help, no understanding and terrified by the thought that Barth Syndrome would inevitably kill our son. BSF changed ALL of that for us and gave us hope, knowledge, comfort and a way to take some control over our son's disorder and his ongoing treatment. BSF has changed us from being isolated victims awating our fates to being warriers in the fight to find a cure and part of a cummunity that cares for itsdelf and makes the world asafer and better place for those affected. Barth syndrome is still a potentially deadly disorder, but so far, BSF has saved my son's life and given us all hope.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers