Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I grew up in the Kingsport area and have attended many plays at Barter Theatre. Every show I have seen at Barter has been excellent. Most recently, I have seen three plays for the 2012-2013 season. "October, Before I Was Born" was outstanding. The cast and crew did an awesome job! "Tarzan" was amazing. The set design was wonderful and the actors were great! "Zombie Prom" was such fun! It was being performed on Stage 2. The show was very entertaining and again, the cast was excellent. I hope in the future, I get many more opportunities to show my support for Barter Theatre. If you are ever in the Abingdon area, you really need to visit Barter!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

We are privileged to have Barter Theater in our area. The acting is superior and ranks right up there with Broadway. I have never been disappointed with any play we have seen. The price of tickets is affordable with many great options to save even more. Barter theater is part of our lives. We love it!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

There's no theatre in the country quite like Barter Theatre. It has a rich history (75+ years in operation, founded by Robert Porterfield during the Great Depression) and a full, supportive sense of family for its employees and the surrounding community-at-large. Barter beautifully balances its community involvement with a boundary-breaking focus on growth, which is a cornerstone of great theatre. One of their mottos is "Art = Growth" and it continues to promote growth for each and every person who experiences Barter. Artistic growth, educational growth, expanding horizons, community growth... Barter has touched people beyond count. Thank you, Barter!

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

In the middle of a quaint, quiet town, you will find a true american treasure! Barter Theatre has launched many a successful acting career and continues to put on impressive stage productions with the most talented performers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Barter's shows are never disappointing. The theatrics are breathtaking, witty, and entertaining.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Barter Theatre's founder, Robert Porterfield, famously said, "If you like us, talk about us...." and I'm glad to have the opportunity to do so here. As a lifelong resident of Southwest Virginia, my first exposure to Barter was when the Barter Players came to my school each year for a performance. I have been attending their shows every year that I can remember, and have many great memories of those experiences. Barter is not only a great place to enjoy a show, it is a true steward of arts and culture for Southwest Virginia, the Appalachian Region, and the state of Virginia.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

Barter Theatre is not just the state theatre of Virginia, but is so much more. It serves southwest Virginia by offering outstanding plays and outreach to the community. The Barter Theatre introduces live theatre and the arts to students and residents of southwest Virginia--many for the first time. It serves as an nationally honored theatre in the picturesque downtown of Abingdon, Virginia in the heart of the Appalachian region. The Barter Theatre offers something for everyone. Before each performance they remind the audience: "If you like us, talk about us. If you don't, keep your mouth shut." I don't know of anyone who has experienced Barter Theatre who wants to "keep their mouths shut." The Barter Theatre offers something to everyone while remaining true to its historic roots and commitment to the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Barter Theatre is a true gem to Southwest Virginia and the rest of the Commonwealth. It is must visit for anyone coming to the area. Heck, it should be a reason make a trip to the area. No one should pass up an opportunity to attend a play at Barter. It is also a foundation to the arts community. They partner with local schools and colleges to provide education and training opportunities for the aspiring.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Barter Theatre is a unique gem of Southwest Virginia. Nestled right in the heart of historic downtown Abingdon, it is a perfect example of the magic that can happen when you combine incredible talent and heartfelt passion. The actors play out the stories with such believability that it is easy to lose track of your watch and your mind as it wanders into whatever world is being created right before your eyes. Before each show, the visitors from the farthest distance away are recognized. As a local, I can't help but swell with pride knowing that visitors from all over the world are going to have an evening to remember in Southwest VA thanks to the Barter Theatre.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

Barter Theatre is a tremendous asset to our community! The plays are always top notch and provide a huge helping of culture to the Southwest Virginia region. It is such a treat to plan a trip to the theatre!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers