Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.885715
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Barn Cat Buddies have stepped up to the plate to help in many situations. Dogs included! Several cats have had major surgeries and no one has been turned away. The animals are what matters the most. This organization relies on volunteers and donations. Several foster homes are in place but as always more are needed to keep up with the demand. Barn Cat Buddies also educates the public about being a responsible pet owner.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

A wonderful organization out to help the homeless cats.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Barn Cat Buddies was doing TNR in our area before almost anyone knew what the initials stand for. I met Diane, the founder, years ago when I was doing scrapbooking programs. I started helping her feed a feral colony almost by accident. She had trapped, neutered and returned over a dozen cats to the colony. This was in 2007 and I have been feeding that colony ever since There were 16 cats when I started but over the years, I have rehomed fifteen, two died of natural causes, some were dropped off (they were rehomed) adopted two myself, and we now have five in the colony, whom I see and feed every day. I have also helped Diane with feeding and trapping other colonies. Now with Sara as president and the organization has expanded and associated with Angels of Assisi, they are doing fantastic work with and for cats and those who love and care for them. There are hundreds of casts alive and happy today because of Barn Cat Buddies' efforts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would take a miracle, but I would like to see the people of this area be more responsible for their cats and give Barn Cat Buddies less work to do. Wouldn't that be a perfect world?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I HAVE WORKED WITH BARNCAT BUDDIES FOR MANY YEARS AND THEY WITH ME. THE BCB EXPERIENCE IS NOTHING BUT POSITIVE FOR THE PEOPLE AND THE CATS THAT THEY ASSIST. THIS ORGANIZATION IS DOING GREAT THINGS TO FURTHER THE WELFARE OF COMMUNITY CATS. IT IS WONDERFUL TO SEE DISADVANTAGED CATS TRANSFORM INTO HEALTHY PRODUCTIVE MEMBERS OF THEIR COMMUNITYS AND FAMILYS.
JO

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

PROVIDE MORE FUNDING AND MAKE MORE HOMES AVAILABLE FOR CATS THAT NEED RELOCATION.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

BCB saves the lives of kitties and finds them great homes whether as mousers in someone's barn or in a warm and cozy home. Their hands-on care of abandoned kittens and cats, their foster program and t... more

October 4, 2013

I am not only volunteer but also a client served and a donor. After adopting two kitties from Barn Cat Buddies, I couldn't help but get involved. This rescue/TNR program is top-notch. The board and the volunteers work so hard helping to save kitties, care for feral colonies, foster and find caring homes for all rescued kitties. After our first two adoptions, I started donating money and food with regularity and then started working as a volunteer. Sara Stein and Diane Novak and all the volunteers work tirelessly to keep things up and running with spay/neutering, vaccinations, fundraising events, fostering and finding homes. I now have a third adoptee from the group. I could not think of any group with which I would rather be affiliated. janet B., Roanoke, VA

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

volunteer to do even more for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

BCB saves the lives of kitties and finds them great homes whether as mousers in someone's barn or in a warm and cozy home. Their hands-on care of abandoned kittens and cats, their foster program and their assurance that all kitties have their shots and have been spayed or neutered give their charges a great start toward a healthy and happy life. My kitties, Astrid and Calista, are Barn Cat Buddies; though, they get to live indoors. They are beautiful and healthy cats that were great additions to our home. I am pleased to continue to work with and donate to this organization that saves cats from euthanization and prevents unwanted litters of kittens. And Diane Novak and everyone else who works with BCB are compassionate, caring and dedicated.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I came across this organization while I was searching for my eagle scout project. They needed a dozen or so shelters to house the cats that they rescued and a feeder. At first it just seemed like an easy project, but the more I talked with the representatives I realized that this organization is doing a wonderful thing by saving these cats. They sacrifice their own time and money to save these animals, and I deeply admire that. You can tell they care deeply about these cats and everyone that volunteers for them. They are so grateful for even the smallest gesture, and they don't take anything for granted. They deserve this award.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I volunteered to foster abandoned kittens that Barn Cat Buddies took under its wing (took care of vetting, spaying/neutering, and worked to find them homes). Particularly appreciate they they consist solely of unpaid volunteers and operate completely on donations. Very small group of people who make a huge difference. If not for them, the kittens I fostered would like have been killed. Instead, every one of them now has a loving home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have worked with Diane and the other hard-working volunteers at Barn Cat Buddies for the last 4 years. The service that this organization provides to the Roanoke area (Franklin County, Roanoke County and Bedford County) is invaluable. Their purpose is to find barn homes for homeless cats. All animals are fully vetted prior to being placed in their new home. Some cats are also placed in loving homes if they have been socialized properly.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Forwarding applications for barn cats and pet cats to the organization's management team for further investigation and decisions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the active volunteer base.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

They do a wonderful service, and I feel very good about helping them to fulfill their mission.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers