Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.888895
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

I am a resident of Franklin County and live in a rural area. Several years ago hungry feral cats began arriving at our home, especially around our inground pool area. At first there were only two and of course we began feeding them and putting out water. Several months ago the numbers increased to ten. I had heard about an organization that helped with feral cats so I contacted Diane with Barn Cat Buddies. She spent a great deal of time instructing me on the humane use of trapping, how to keep them calm once trapped and where to take the cats for spay/neuter(ing) and rabies shots. Diane kept in contact with me throughout the trapping process and has continued to be a support to me and others in this worthwhile endeavor. We have successfully trapped seven of the ten cats and they are back with us all in good health. Without her help and help from the organization the feral cat population in Franklin County would be much greater. A small gain has been made, however with additional monetary resources there would be more humane traps to go around, advertising would reach more persons in the county letting them know there is help, veterinary costs to trappers like me could be reduced, and there would be less loss of cats due to illness, hunger, and cats crossing roads. Thank you for your consideration.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

Barn Cat Buddies has been a valued member of the Best Friends NMHP Network for several years. The work they are doing for community cats in Virginia is extraordinary. They have received grant funding and gone above and beyond their goals with the money. Diane is very knowledgeable and routinely advocates for community cats. We are proud to have them as a partner in the network.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

I have been dealing with barn cat buddies for about 7 years. It started at my office when there were cats and kittens living near the dumpster in back of my office. They lent me traps, and instructed me how to use them. With some help from my clients, we successfully vetted and found homes for all the animals. The mother was so severely ill her treatment was extensive, and one of my clients said he would take her and never return her to the outdoors again she still happily remains a house cat even though she has access to the outside world.
Through the years my finances have fluctuated. I also like to do some rescue, but sometimes there was no money for vetting. Barn cat buddies stepped up to the plate so that I could help my neighborhood cats in need. One who had a HUGE abscess from a fight, and it was right before Christmas. Thank you!!
I have sent many people to barn cat buddies for help with trapping, spaying and neutering, for general questions, and for help placing animals.
Recently barn cat buddies funded my foster kittens- two who had been wild, and the mother killed by a car. The man who rescued gave all away but two, and his landlord would not allow him to keep them. His only option, since the shelters were full, was to leave them in an abandoned lot. They were so tiny- and could not fend for themselves. I called barn cat buddies and she asked if I could foster them until she could place them. Barn cat buddies funded their shots, deworming, flea control, mites until they were healthy and ready for adoption.
Is that life changing work? I think if you asked these animals, they would say yes. ;) Also, spaying and neutering the feral population is so important. I appreciate all the work that barn cat buddies does for our town and the surrounding towns. I realize it is very hard work, that is emotionally and physically difficult sometimes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it! Its great- if I had the money I would fund paid volunteers and also a transition space for rescues.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I came across this organization while I was searching for my eagle scout project. They needed a dozen or so shelters to house the cats that they rescued and a feeder. At first it just seemed like an easy project, but the more I talked with the representatives I realized that this organization is doing a wonderful thing by saving these cats. They sacrifice their own time and money to save these animals, and I deeply admire that. You can tell they care deeply about these cats and everyone that volunteers for them. They are so grateful for even the smallest gesture, and they don't take anything for granted. They deserve this award.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 19, 2013

more

April 19, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this organization. We had a big tom cat that was abandoned by his owners and became quit a nuisance for the neighborhood. The cat had become feral and there didn't seem much hope for him. I would feed him, but I have a senior cat who lived in fear from this aggressive tom. Diane rescued this poor little soul and found him a new home. It restores my faith in humans that there really are people who care about unwanted animals. Thank you Barn Cat Buddies for all that you do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

Diane, with Barn Cat Buddies, has bee a lifesaver for 2 different kitties. One was not very social and thanks to their program, they found him a barn, in order to save him. Last I heard, the new owner's decided to make him, part of their family, instead of a barn kitty. Second, was a very social stray, where if they hadn't found him a home, I'm certain he would have meet certain death, because we live a very busy street. With-in one week, he was neutered and vetted and off to a wonderful home, as a barn cat. She helped me in every way possible, from using their trap to setting up, his new home. I have made donations to them in the past and will again. Money well spent. They do such great work, in helping our cats in need. They love the animals as much as we do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 2, 2013

more

February 2, 2013

We are grateful that these people are around to save and care for the cats that are needy. We adopted 2 amazing cats in December. The fact that they are so loving and well cared for, speaks volumes about the work that these folks are doing. We are totally satisfied with our adoption and the way it was handled. Thank you for the wonderful job you do. Keep up the good work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Barn Cat Buddies is the bomb. They not only save lives, they help feed and vet many cats that otherwise would not get help. In these hard times we live in people can't always afford to take care of their cats and Barn Cat Buddies is there with, food, supplies, spay and neuter services that are discounted or even free.They help people trap strays and get them vetted and find homes or release them back where they can live out their lives. I have taken in several strays that needed a home. The experience has been awesome to say the least. These people are great and they love these animals. The love and compassion they show these animals and the people involved with them is top notch. I hope they will always be here for the cats and other animals they save.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

So many cats are left to their own defenses. Many previously owned, and dumped for whatever reasons. Sometimes they become feral. They no longer trust humans (who can blame them?). Often local pounds/shelters/rescues do not feel they are adoptable anymore. The thinking the cats would be better off dead is common. What many don't realize is that these cats still can serve an important part in our community! They are wanted! They are needed! Those of us with a farm know the tremendous efforts they can put forth in saving hundreds to thousands of dollars a year in grain loss prevention! You see, without a cat around, mice, rats, and squirrels will invade the grain room, and the feeding areas for livestock. Those critters then leave their droppings, aka feces, in those areas which can make the livestock sick. THANKFULLY Barn Cat Buddies DOES realize how much this can impact a farm's income. They supply the community with useful cats who help eliminate and control those critters! From storage units, business establishments, to local farms cats are supplied to become a part of those employees. Sometimes they remain feral, and other times the cats learn to trust, and respect humans again. But whether the cat wants only to be fed, and watered daily, or it wants to be rubbed and loved on, their impact is tremendous! Please think about adding a cat or two to your establishment!! Barn Cat Buddies can fill that need!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter and I had specific needs for a cant. We wanted to find the right cat to join our family. I told Diane about our 10 year old Brittany and how it was very important that the new member of the family love dogs as much as we did. Diane paired us with Sasha and Celeste. They both love Doc and appear to tolerate the humans in the house (as long as I feed them first thing). BCB is wonderful!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers