Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Christianity, Economic Development, International, International Development, Religion

Mission: Networking the Baptist family to impact the world for Christ.

Results: The Baptist World Alliance (BWA) mission is expressed in broad ministries and distilled into effective programs. The BWA promotes Baptist unity throughout the world such as at Annual Gatherings, evangelism and training conferences, and in Congresses, held every five years. (BWA's Baptist Family Celebration 2020 will be in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.) The BWA resources churches in evangelism training around the world through conferences providing resources for each local organization that participates. The BWA remains faithful to Baptist principles regarding human rights and religious freedom by helping people who suffer from injustice. Our consultative status before the United Nations gives us a voice for the oppressed of all races and religions. The BWA responds to people in need through its relief and development arm, working to prevent hunger and sickness through support of ongoing educational, agricultural and medical programs. The BWA has ongoing development programs in dozens of countries. The BWA promotes relevant theological reflection through study groups, exchanges with other expressions of the Christian faith, and meetings of scholars and theologians who collaborate to address the issues of today and express Baptist perspectives on those matters.

Target demographics: the wider communities where our 235 member conventions, churches and institutions reside, and to equip them in their desire to faithfully participate in God's purpose to reconcile all things to God's self in Christ Jesus.

Geographic areas served: 122 countries and territories in Africa, Asia-Pacific, Caribbean, Europe, Latin America, North America

Programs: evangelism, relief and development, human rights and religious freedom, theological reflection and worldwide fellowship.

Community Stories

17 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

3

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

The ministries of the Baptist World Alliance have made and are making a difference in the world. What's cool about that statement is that it's true…not an exaggeration…when it comes to making a world-wide impact in the lives of people from all walks of life and from all areas of the world. That's why they are called the Baptist World Alliance! I have had the opportunity to witness this organization working and serving for the last 25 years of my adult life. I have experienced personal growth and a deeper understanding of the world in which I live while attending their conferences, serving on their committees, reading their publications, talking to people who have been directly impacted by their ministries and praying for the staff and the ministering bodies committed to realizing that "together we can do more!" I thank God daily for the work and ministry of the Baptist World Alliance.

1 Wendell J.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

BWA has helped me a lot to know who i am as a christian and my purpose in God's Kingdom. Going to the difference BWA conferences, I understand that BWA don't just preach the gospel but also implement it in difference love, caring and evangelism outreach. It's encourage me to be a better christian .

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 09/14/2016

Thanks for being part of the Baptist World Alliance's work around the world! Your support is making a difference!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The BWA is a wonderful place for global Baptists to connect, collaborate and support one another. The unity in our diversity is to honor the triune God.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 09/14/2016

Grateful for your support!

Previous Stories
5

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

The Baptist World Alliance is cause for Baptists across the globe to celebrate our unity within our diversity. As a denominational staff-leader, I appreciate how the BWA is able to connect our regional body with others around the world as co-servants with Christ. We are grateful for this network to the world, linking us hand-in-hand for the Good News.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2015

We are blessed to be your network to the world!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The BWA does incredible work around the world to advance the cause of Jesus Christ and his Kingdom.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 09/14/2016

Thanks so much for your prayers and support!

3

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The BWA is the official network of the world's Baptists. It is truly global and spiritually and ethnically diverse.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2015

We are blessed to be able to do this global work with you! You mean the world to us!

3 John332

Volunteer

Rating: 5

A genuine international organization - all member bodies are involved at all levels.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2015

We are grateful for the opportunity to be a part of this kingdom work with you!

5

Volunteer

Rating: 5

BWA acts immediately when it comes to giving aid for eg Nepal, Haiti etc, I am from South Africa and part of committee for the BWA local arrangements for upcoming congress in just over 2 months and will be meeting all you loving wonderful people and feel good to be associated with an organisation such as this.
Ronnie Reddy
GS Baptist Association of SA

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2015

We're so grateful for your support! Thanks for uplifting the global Baptist family. We can't wait to worship with you in Durban.

3

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Baptist World Alliance is a great organization that puts together people from all over the world to do good in a world that is tending in the other direction!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2015

We are grateful to take part in this work! Thank you for your comments.

4 DrJBJII

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The Baptist World Alliance is the best of the best. Truly a quality staff and army of passionate volunteers making a monumental difference in the world.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2015

We are grateful to be partners in this kingdom work! You mean the world to us!

Previous Stories
4

Professional with expertise in this field

Rating: 5

The Baptist World Alliance has:

Provided introduction to the most dynamic, remarkable, faithful people I've ever known;
Allowed an intimate window on the world of what God can do, even in difficult circumstances; and,
Taught me that the ultimate, essential Gospel of Jesus Christ goes anywhere and everywhere.

In short, they make me happy and proud to be a part of the Baptist Christian family!

Jim Johnson, Senior Pastor, the Church at Clarendon

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/13/2014

Jim, thanks for the privilege of partnering with us to equip the global Baptist family for the work. We are so grateful for Clarendon's leadership.

4

Volunteer

Rating: 5

We are pleased to support the Baptist World Alliance and the global mission this organization pursues. Our church budgets annual mission support for the BWA, and we also support BWA as part of our own monthly giving to Christian causes. The BWA is commended for transparency and faithfulness to the mission of Baptists worldwide.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2015

John, thank you so much for your kind words. it is with partnerships with organization like Campbellsville and individuals like you, that we are able to continue to equip the global Baptist family.

5

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Our church supports the Baptist World Alliance and its humanitarian program, Baptist World Aid, because we trust its leaders and their partners around the world. The BWA is characterized by respect, compassion, effectiveness, accountability, and integrity. Especially for those who feel marginalized or powerless, the BWA offers meaningful connections with a larger family of faith, practical help, and hope.

Previous Stories
5

Donor

Rating: 5

Our church receives an annual offering for world hunger which we send to Baptist World Aid, the relief and development agency of the Baptist World Alliance. Our gifts are used to respond to humanitarian crises following natural disasters, civil unrest, and other situations of great need. We have confidence that our donations are used efficiently and conscientiously to alleviate suffering and provide practical help. Because the Baptist World Alliance has trusted member organizations and partners in over 120 countries around the world, there is a minimum of overhead and a maximum of cooperation.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

kathe 05/07/2014

So honored to work with you to help change the world!