Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.916675
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
January 30, 2014

more

January 30, 2014

The BPFNA is the best of what being a Christian and a Baptist is all about. For over twenty years as a member and for a time as a Board member this organization has been a large part of my life and a breath of fresh air in a world that often sees Christians who are Baptist as narrow-minded and fundamental.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

More by conviction than by heritage, I am a Baptist. As a child of poverty in the Appalachian poverty belt during the Great Depression, I learned early that racism hurtss more than poverty, and injustice offends the Jesus who commands love. Since 1984 I have worked for, and often with The Baptist Peace Fellowship of North America. They have provided spiritual resources for the struggle for peace in our neighborhood and in our world. Following their publications and on the internet leads to even greater enthusiasm for schieving the "Peaeable Kingdom" envieioned by Martin Luther King, Jr. Sometimes I reject identification with Baptists who support wars and reject equality for those who are different by exclaiming, "I'm not THAT kind of Baptist." The BPFNA is a community of Baptists with which I gladly identify.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enlarge the base of its membership, both congregational and individual.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

The BPFNA makes me proud to be a Baptist. The organization connects me with folk around the world who are living out Jesus' call to be peacemakers, and encourages me in my own peacemaking efforts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

Fifteen years ago, when I came out as transgender, I never dreamed I would ever have a place in Baptist life again. Even though I am a committed Christian, was raised Baptist and ordained a Southern Baptist minister, the rhetoric I heard from Southern Baptist leaders about LGBT people was entirely negative. Then I heard about the Baptist Peace Fellowship of North America (BPFNA). Longing for Christian companionship, I drove three days each way to attend last summer's conference (Peace Camp) in Spokane, Washington. It was one of the best weeks of my life. Not only did I find acceptance, I found home. This organization is a powerful witness for peace and reconciliation and stands as a beacon of hope, life and love to LGBT people searching for Christian community. The leadership is outstanding, the mission true to the Gospel of Christ and the fellowship a living incarnation of God's love. I am delighted and grateful to God that I found BPFNA, and I look forward to future Peace Camps. I cannot commend it to others highly enough.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have Peace Camps every month of the year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I have know 2 staff members for many years and know they are trustworthy. I have been "Baptist" for all my 80 years and what better goals than "Peace & Fellowship."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

With a system of updating 5-year plans evolutionary change seems built-in.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I have attended three summer conferences of the Baptist Peace Fellowship of North America, Inc. I was so inspired and motivated to continue the work of peace and justice that I became the president of the Baptist Peacemakers of RI, which now partners with the BPFNA. My church, Community Church of Providence, has also become a partner with the BPFNA.

Recently the BPRI sponsored a Conflict Transformation workshop led by the Rev. LeDayne McCleese Polaski, Program Coordinator of the BPFNA. Thirty people, along with the Rev. Tom Wiles, Executive Minister of the American Baptist Churches of RI, attend. Rev. Wiles would like to see more of this type of work within our churches.

Some folk from the BPFNA do Conflict Transformation work in other countries to help bring peace to the various regions. Some have traveled to Liberia, the Sudan and several other countries where there is conflict. We need more of this type of commitment in our nation and world today.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage many more churches and organizations to partner with the BPFNA in order to expand their work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

My wife and I are members. We attended BPFNA Peace Camp for five summers. We took teen-aged grandchildren twice. The vision of peacemaking from our Baptist tradition and the practical matters of peacemaking encourage and challenge us. To work for peace with justice is both hard and joyful. Particularly the practice of conflict transformation. Often churches do not support those who give this priority. BPFNA equips us to spread a culture of peace where we now see, hear and read fear.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Perhaps start supportive regional groups or a better on-line community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

BPFNA has an INCREDIBLE program in non-violent Conflict Transformation, training local leaders here in the USA and around the world. The training is not just pie in the sky "theory" but hands on practice in real time conflict situations including Christian-Muslim conflicts in Kenya and several other African countries. The training sesisons are open to people of all faiths and no faith.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

As a former board member and long time supporter, this organization continues to be of great service to the Baptist communities in North America and around the world. With Peace Camp offering some of the best opportunities for inter-generational education, advocacy, and relationship-building to equipping peacemakers with Conflict Transformation training to advocacy and presence in areas of conflict around the world to its award-winning publications, the BPFNA is a model of effectiveness and comprehensive programming for faith-based peace and justice organizations. I am proud to be associated with them and to support them year after year in their work and vision.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

This organization has the most profound influence on children and youth that I have ever experienced in my 60 years of work with young people. The young people who have grown up in summer Peace Camps show their maturity, insight, global awareness and human sensitivity on the evening the youth have responsibility for the service. I have been deeply impressed every time (5 times) I have been part of the experience. The youth from our own church have known great benefits even though they have only attended one or two camps. The youth are our future and the BPFNA pours its soul into the youth program giving the world a more promising future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers