Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.916675
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
January 12, 2014

My daughter has danced with BSS for 7 years. The quality of instruction is second to none. Most importantly, BSS has instilled a strong sense of community, responsibility, maturity and commitment in... more

November 11, 2014

My daughter has danced at BSS for 8 years, and I have nothing but respect for this marvelous institution. In addition to instilling a love of dance and providing superior instruction, BSS has given her a strong sense of responsibility, community and respect for others. Her relationships with her teachers and the administration go far beyond the classroom. They are mentors, field trip chaperones, and role models. As far as nonprofits go, BSS uses its donations to directly benefit our community -- giving so many children with a desire to dance the opportunity to learn from the best. It is an absolute pleasure to see the diversity or our city represented on stage during the year-end performance. I am proud to be associated with BSS as a parent, volunteer and donor, and will continue to support the school even after my daughter graduates this year.
January 12, 2014

My daughter has danced with BSS for 7 years. The quality of instruction is second to none. Most importantly, BSS has instilled a strong sense of community, responsibility, maturity and commitment in her. I think they strike the right balance between competition and teamwork as well. You do have to audition for larger roles in productions (and there are clearly some standouts) but everyone is able to participate and find their place in the spot light. Even the location of the schools contributes to my daughter's independence at a young age. The girls have extensive rehearsals at various times of day, and over time have earned the right to leave the facilities and take advantage of the restaurants, shops and libraries of downtown Stamford. I am so pleased that the school is representative of the larger Stamford community -- doing so much outreach and offering numerous scholarships to children who wouldn't participate otherwise. BSS is a second home for my daughter and I'm proud to support it

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 1, 2014

more

November 1, 2014

Ballet School of Stamford has served as a place of inspiration and a second family and home for my now high school-age daughter since she was a toddler. School director Marti Etter and the entire staff bring a high degree of integrity and technical sophistication to the dance curriculum and show compassion and care to every student on a 1:1 level. I'm also impressed with the diversity of the school. Children of all backgrounds--from Stamford, Bridgeport, New Canaan, Greenwich, Bedford, NY and other nearby towns--come together to partake in the joy of dance. Each student, no matter his/her dance ability or neighborhood, is welcomed and encouraged, and strong friendships spawn between students who would otherwise not have a chance to meet. This is a ballet school with heart. I'm proud to be the parent of a BSS student, as well as a volunteer and donor for the school.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Having volunteered since the opening of the school, I am more impressed, inspired and delighted every year by the quality of ballet education offered here. High standards, caring faculty, dynamic leadership all contribute to the magic of the school.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I cannot say enough great things about Ballet School of Stamford. My daughter has been dancing at BSS for the past 7 years and she absolutely loves it. The instructors and staff genuinely care about the dancers and want to see them succeed and be the best they can be. They have instilled self-confidence and pride in my daughter's abilities as a dancer, and as a person overall trained with focus and self-dicipline both physical and mental that will serve her well in life. She has forged long-lasting friendships with her classmates as well as her instructors. Most of the staff and instructors have been at BSS since my daughter began. It's so nice (and rare!) to have that kind of continuity, especially at a non-profit. Clearly, the staff at BSS love what they do and it shows - in their kindness, determination and exuberance for dance.
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

The highly qualified and professional staff at the Ballet School of Stamford have inspired my daughters love of and commitment to dance . She gets incredible individual attention from every one of the staff which, in today's world, is hard to come by! I highly recommend the Ballet School of Stamford!
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

My daughter began taking classes at the Ballet School of Stamford at age 3. I am so thankful for the caring and expert teachers that have given her not only the beautiful gift of ballet, but also self confidence, poise, and grace. The staff is talented, as well as kind, and they create a beautiful environment for all students to learn, love, and respect Ballet and each other.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

We switched from another local studio four years ago. At the time my older daughter was 9. We switched because her primary interest is ballet. Since she began she has improved every year. The teachers are excellent The teachers have the right balance of firmness and nurturing. My younger daughter began dancing at the Ballet School when she was 4. The instruction for the young children is great. The teachers are patient and kind and the students love it.

I love that there is no pressure to promote children on pointe before they are physically ready. Once they begin pointe it is in small amounts so as to prevent injury. They work with each student individually to help them develop into the best ballet dancer they can. The end of year show is spectacular. Unlike many studios, class time is not lost rehearsing for the show. Those interested in performing have rehearsal outside of class time. This way their development is not hindered.

I love that it is a non profit. Dance is important and students shouldn't be restricted to only those who can afford it. In class, one cannot tell the socio-economic background of the students. The school is very diverse.

I highly recommend and will continue to have my daughters dance at the Ballet School.
March 6, 2014

more

March 6, 2014

This is a wonderful non-profit. The school brings culture and dance to the area. They give many scholarships to provide instruction and a safe place to those who cannot afford it.

My daughter is not a scholarship student but has been dancing with the Ballet School of Stamford for 11
years. The school has amazing instructors. This has become a home away from home for my daughter. Besides getting the best dance instruction in Faifield/Westchester, they are taught discipline, compassion and team work. It has given my daughter a wonderful outlet with the rigors of high school. This is a fabulous non-profit organization and school!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 25, 2013

more

January 25, 2013

I recently enrolled my 15 year old daughter in BSS after her high school could not fulfill her needs for an extra curricular activity. I am really happy that i choose this one because they make us feel like we are not the new family and they welcomed us in. My daughter stated that even the other students treat her like family and are very helpful. They are helping me to make my daughter a well rounded individual and to become more aware of the endless possibilities out there for her. She is a very shy child and this class has built her confidence so much that she is auditioning for her first play.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2010

more

September 29, 2010

My daughter has attend the school for a number of years and has grown as a dancer and a young woman under the direction of the wonderful staff of the school. Aside from receiving excellent Ballanchine-style ballet training, she has learned about personal health and hygiene, accepting disappointment (in not receiving roles), supporting classmates, personal responsibility, time management, etc. She really looks forward to the summer program every year where they are really allowed to explore their passions as well as dip their toes into new dance styles. I'm proud to be a part of a school that is an excellent citizen of our diverse city too. BSS's outreach is excellent. They are always willing to step up and contribute to public school functions in any way they can.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

witnessing my daughter's maturity as a dancer and human being!

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the experience it provides students outside school. An opportunity to make solid friendships based on a share interest.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

committed to BSS's mission and passionate about its students success.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Secure more permanent performance space. Extend its outreach.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers