Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.833335
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Thea Chassin is fabulous at bringing the Alopecia Areata community together. There is no resource anything like Bald Girls Do Lunch.

The BGDL newsletter is particularly informative and upbeat.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am suffering from middle age hair loss and as a very private person found it nearly impossible to talk to others about my problem. I kept is inside every day I combed my hair and found more hair on the comb each time. Because my husband had worked with Thea on a number of very local community issues, he suggested that BGDL and Thea specifically would be the perfect person with whom to break my years of silence and pained privacy. And what a help she has been, taking an hour out of her busy day to provide me with counsel, referrals and a sense that I am not alone. Thank you, BGDL and Thea for helping me!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Bald Girls Do Lunch, the  long-needed resource for women with alopecia,  provides links to useful goods, services and information specific to that condition. BGDL brings women together through the  international online community, and of course through Lunch.  Many thanks to Thea Chassin for following her vision!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Ive been struggling with hair loss for about 5 years. I wore clip on hair and was tortured that everyone knew. I spent tons of money at the salon getting half a head colored and blow dried, but still I felt everyone knew I was half bald. One day I started buying very expensive wigs, and never found one I liked. To me wearing a wig was as bad as being bald. Finally after 5 different doctors, injections, biopsies, and creams I thought this is too stressful. My son suggested shaving what hair was left. I was so afraid to show my husband. When he saw it and kissed my head I felt so much stronger. I also have strong women friends that encouraged me to embrace my baldness, and today I only wear a wig at work. My boss thinks it would be too uncomfortable for everyone. Most days I feel beautiful and different. There are so many more things in life to be concerned about.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have Alopecia losing all of my hair five years ago at age of 59. I had never heard of Alopecia until my dermitologist told me that was why I was losing my hair. I began searching the Web and found Bald Girls Do Lunch Inc. a nonprofit with a terrific lady who founded BGDL, Thea Chassin. I have gone to three luncheons in Seattle, Salt Lake, and Denver. I have met the most up lifting women who, along with myself, share a life's experience we never would have dreamed could happen. I'm thankful for Thea and Bald Girls Do Lunch for bringing us together. Helen M.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was first diagnosed with alopecia at the age of 12. It was the worst time for me. Since then, hair has come and gone. Two years ago it went. There is no hair anywhere on my body. I suffer from body image issues, anxiety, and depression from my condition. Bald Girls Do Lunch came to Denver at the right time for me in my coping stages. In one short evening, I was able to begin to come to terms with my appearance because I wasn't alone. Isolation contributed to my poor mental health. Bald Girls Do Lunch showed me that there are other people dealing with the same issues as me. I felt understood. Nothing has been as valuable as that one night.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

What a great thing that the bald girls among us finally have a forum, a support group, an ear to listen. We have needed this for many, many years. Thanks to Thea for having the courage and guts to start such an organization...so many people will no longer feel alone!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Amazing support and empowerment for women living with medical hairloss particularly alopecia. In a society which continually defines beauty through media, Bald Girls makes a profound and essential statement about true beauty and self-worth. Given a comfortable venue, women come togther find support, understanding and connection.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assemble information kits for public awareness and package sleep hats for our newly diagnosed. Like to surf? You can provide us a list of general practice dermatologists in your city. Volunteer