Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.846155
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Bald Girls Do Lunch, the  long-needed resource for women with alopecia,  provides links to useful goods, services and information specific to that condition. BGDL brings women together through the  international online community, and of course through Lunch.  Many thanks to Thea Chassin for following her vision!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Bald Girls Do Lunch is a successful and dedicated organization achieving its visionary goals under the leadership of Thea Chassin. Her commitment is inspiring and she has a great ability to move projects forward and to assure that they reach completion. Bald Girls Do Lunch provides a great and valuable service for the alopecia areata community and should be lauded for its wonderful work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Maximum Exposure PR has worked with Bald Girls Do Lunch on many occasions. The organization is reliable, professional, and helps women is so many ways. We would be honored to work with Bald Girls Do Lunch on another event in the future. It was a pleasure working with the organization and with Thea, the founder. Bald Girls Do Lunch is an amazing organization helping many women across the country.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Ive been struggling with hair loss for about 5 years. I wore clip on hair and was tortured that everyone knew. I spent tons of money at the salon getting half a head colored and blow dried, but still I felt everyone knew I was half bald. One day I started buying very expensive wigs, and never found one I liked. To me wearing a wig was as bad as being bald. Finally after 5 different doctors, injections, biopsies, and creams I thought this is too stressful. My son suggested shaving what hair was left. I was so afraid to show my husband. When he saw it and kissed my head I felt so much stronger. I also have strong women friends that encouraged me to embrace my baldness, and today I only wear a wig at work. My boss thinks it would be too uncomfortable for everyone. Most days I feel beautiful and different. There are so many more things in life to be concerned about.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a 59 year old woman with Alopecial Universalis. I had suffered with bouts of Alopecial Areata through the years but after completing chemotherapy for breast cancer I went on to lose all the hair on my body. It took me a while to figure out that it was never coming back and I was so self conscious and felt so unattractive. Through Thea and Bald Girls Do Lunch I have been able to connect with others who share the same problems and experience the same emotions. The group is a wonderful source for practical solutions to every day problems, support groups and a source for the latest in research for a cause and cure. I suppport this wonderful effort and am sooo glad it has been there for me and others like me

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have Alopecia losing all of my hair five years ago at age of 59. I had never heard of Alopecia until my dermitologist told me that was why I was losing my hair. I began searching the Web and found Bald Girls Do Lunch Inc. a nonprofit with a terrific lady who founded BGDL, Thea Chassin. I have gone to three luncheons in Seattle, Salt Lake, and Denver. I have met the most up lifting women who, along with myself, share a life's experience we never would have dreamed could happen. I'm thankful for Thea and Bald Girls Do Lunch for bringing us together. Helen M.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was first diagnosed with alopecia at the age of 12. It was the worst time for me. Since then, hair has come and gone. Two years ago it went. There is no hair anywhere on my body. I suffer from body image issues, anxiety, and depression from my condition. Bald Girls Do Lunch came to Denver at the right time for me in my coping stages. In one short evening, I was able to begin to come to terms with my appearance because I wasn't alone. Isolation contributed to my poor mental health. Bald Girls Do Lunch showed me that there are other people dealing with the same issues as me. I felt understood. Nothing has been as valuable as that one night.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Bald Girls Do Lunch is a one-of-a-kind organization that meets the needs of specific population - women with alopecia areata - whose needs would otherwise go unanswered. The organization is dynamic, current, and very personalized to allow for every woman coping with the challenges of alopecia areata to find something relevant and helpful for their own personal situation and needs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Bald Girls Do Lunch gave me the emotional, spiritual, mental and physical strength to face society as a Bald Person. Bald Girls Do Lunch changes people's paradigm on beauty to the point where they are no longer ashamed to walk in society as a Bald Person or one who has Made the Choice to Wear Wigs not has to do so. I have witnessed women both young and elderly attend a Bald Girls Do Lunch luncheon sit down embarrassed and ashamed come alive by the end of the meal. Then, to meet them over time at other affairs proud and strutting their Baldness or latest wigs and sharing tips to the newest attendees. Bald Girls Do Lunch is shining the light on Alopecia and taking the shame out of being a bald female. At one time men were ashamed of being bald - Now it's Our Time to rid females of shame - Thank you Bald Girls Do Lunch! leben2005

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Bald Girls Do Lunch is bringing a grass roots, woman-to-woman awareness and support to the plight of women with alopecia areata. Thea Chassin is single-handedly leading the charge to bring a larger awareness to the condition and challenge the science community to seriously work on finding a cure. She is helping give women a voice and fellowship as she travels the nation with a simple idea -- hey let's do lunch. Let's talk. Bravo!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assemble information kits for public awareness and package sleep hats for our newly diagnosed. Like to surf? You can provide us a list of general practice dermatologists in your city. Volunteer