Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

Wonderful rescue that does everything from save pit bulls to free spay/neuter clinics in low income neighborhoods to training classes, pit bull outreach, national evaluations and more. They're the most-recognized pit bull rescue in the country - just really great people who do really great work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
August 23, 2012

I became a volunteer handler at Berkeley Animal Control Services primarily so I could learn from and help Bad Rap. They have an awesome program that allows trained BACS volunteers to take pit bulls fr... more

April 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I remain a huge fan of Bad Rap and their two-pronged mission to educate people and restore the American pit bull terrier to its rightful place in our country. They have been a huge help to me with my rescued pit. Their website and Facebook page are an excellent way to learn about the dogs and see the rescues they bring into their fold. All of us who follow them celebrate the placement of each dog. Many go on to have their own blogs so we can even keep up with them in their new homes. No, their miniscule staff doesn't have time to answer every email that comes in, but they are quite transparent about what goes on at the Bad Rap Barn. The dedication of this organization to training people to handle and enjoy these great dogs is amazing, and I will continue to support their efforts.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I became a volunteer handler at Berkeley Animal Control Services primarily so I could learn from and help Bad Rap. They have an awesome program that allows trained BACS volunteers to take pit bulls from the shelter to Bad Rap training classes. The idea behind this relationship is that a pit bull who is even slightly trained and somewhat socialized is much more likely to be adopted. Also, anyone who adopts a pit from the BACS shelter gets to attend Bad Rap's classes at no charge! I ended up adopting my "trainee" when no one else was interested. She was a terrible fence-fighter and very dog-reactive, but I saw potential. The Bad Rap trainers got us through the basics, gave me some socialization tips, and generally were just THERE for me when I needed questions answered. My dog passed her Canine Good Citizen test (much to my surprise) within a few months. Now we've moved on, and she's working on being certified as a therapy dog and an allergy-alert service dog. The Bad Rap folks gave both of us the confidence we needed to start out relationship, and I will be forever grateful for their expertise and patience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 18, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 18, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Two refugees from Spindletop arrived at BAD RAP August 21, 2012. The dogs have disappeared. BAD RAP refuses to give any information about these two dogs who survived a nightmare only to disappear. As a group which rakes in almost a half million dollars a year in public donation money, this group owes an explanation to the public about these two dogs. Where are they?

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers