Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.971435
Write A Review
November 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 9, 2013

This group saved my sanity! When my son was almost four months old, I was in tears because I wanted to wear him, but he screamed and cried any time I put him in our Ergo or Moby. At a loss, I googled ... more

November 11, 2014

I found this group when my son was 3 months old and screaming every time I tried to wear him in a carrier. I literally wept tears of joy when a friend recommended them as a place to help me wear my son comfortably. At the first meeting, they corrected my wearing "errors," and found me a carrier that fit me and my son perfectly - I was hooked! I became a member on the spot, and began going to monthly meetings, trying out a different carrier each month. Two years later, I still wear my son, and now volunteer as the librarian for one of the meetings. It's an amazing, helpful, loving group of people - I don't know what I would have done without them!
May 9, 2013

This group saved my sanity! When my son was almost four months old, I was in tears because I wanted to wear him, but he screamed and cried any time I put him in our Ergo or Moby. At a loss, I googled Babywearing, and found that there was going to be a meeting in my neighborhood just a few days later! I took my carriers and my son with me, and became a member that very same meeting. The helpful Volunteer Babywearing Educators (VBEs) found a couple of other, different carriers that fit my body better, and I have "checked out" a different carrier from their library every month since then. Proud to say I wear my baby every day since finding them, and whenever other parents ask me about my carriers, I tell them about this group. They have definitely changed my life. Incredibly helpful, knowledgeable, and kind!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

This group is wonderful for anybody who wants to learn about babywearing. They are warm, open, and helpful. There are regular meetings that can accommodate anyone's schedule. The carrier library is stocked with carriers for anyone to try. Every new parent in the area needs to take advantage of this amazing resource!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I attended my first meeting in September 2013 with my 2 month old daughter. I knew nothing about baby wearing at that time. The volunteers were very friendly and very well educated about all the various types of baby carriers. I left with a greater knowledge of baby wearing and a ring sling for my daughter and I to try out. My daughter and I couldn't be happier that we became involved in this group!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I found this group when I bought my first woven wrap. They've been incredibly helpful trying different types of carriers and I love the monthly rental library. Some of my favorite carrier options were found through their lending libraries. All the VBEs are incredibly sweet and helpful, so much so that I'm considering becoming one to "pay it forward". Everyone leaves the meetings with a better brighter outlook on babywearing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I have always been an avid babywearer, but until I learned about BWI of DC-MD-VA, I had no idea about the diversity of babywearing options available, or that there was an incredible community of support and education. I attended the BWI International Conference in 2012, and was so impressed by the education I received at the conference. Every month, I find the members welcoming, and I am constantly continuing to learn new things about babywearing options and safety from the other members and volunteers. I have made so many great friends through my work with BWI.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to expand the reach! We have so many more areas in the DC-MD-VA area in need of this type of service and support, and I hope that we continue to expand to meet these needs!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I started attending the BWI meetings in July 2013 when my son with a newborn. I arrived to the meeting knowing very little about baby wearing, and left knowing about all different types of carriers. The VBEs were very knowledgeable and patient with us newbies. They displayed a passion for what they did that planted a seed in me. That seed has blossomed and now I am very passionate about babywearing. Though they do cover the basics at every meeting I learn more and more which is why I keep attending even after I discovered the perfect carrier and carry for my now three month old. I hope to soon become A volunteer babywearing educator so that I can help other parents in their quest to be closer to their babies. While there are other sources from which I learned, I keep returning to the BWI meetings, not only for the knowledge, but for the camaraderie and like-minded conversation of the other babywearing mamas. It is a very comfortable and laid-back environment where I don't have to worry about my two-year-old and her shenanigans because I know that the other mothers understand what it is like.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more get-togethers outside of the meetings where babywearing would be seen in different settings. I think it would help new parents feel more comfortable to try babywearing around other people who are more experienced, especially since it isn't really considered conventional.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I discovered this group shortly after moving to the DC area and after the birth of my second son. I had worn my first quite a bit, but the wonderful leaders showed me various options and tips to take babywearing to a whole other level. It has greatly helped me in managing two young children. A huge help and a great support group!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2013

more

August 25, 2013

Before I had my first child, I knew nothing about babywearing, as no one in my family has done it in recent years. However, babywearing came naturally to us from birth, and this group has helped expose us to a variety of carriers and methods, as well as the opportunity to borrow carriers from their lending library. It has also been wonderful to meet other like-minded local parents.

We have been members now for two months and our daughter loves to be wrapped! I intend to continue our membership for as long as we are wearing our daughter, and probably through to our next child.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 24, 2013

more

August 24, 2013

I discovered this group after my first child was born. I was intrigued by being able to wear my baby so I could be hands free. When I attended my first meeting, everyone was so friendly and helpful, and they showed me how to successfully wear my 6 month old in a sling. The sling was my best friend for several months. When it was recalled, the group let me borrow one from the carrier library, which was so helpful. Volunteers also showed me other carriers and helped me learn how to use them, which led to my purchase of a mei tai and a soft structured carrier.

With my second child, I used all 3, plus a Moby, almost constantly. I had been so intimidated by wraps but they patiently showed me how to tighten the wrap and safely carry my baby.

Three kids later, I'm still babywearing! With my 3rd, it was even more important to have him wrapped up as I cared for his sisters. I went back to another meeting and everyone was just as welcoming as I remembered!

I have recommended this group to many of my pregnant friends and others with newborns/infants.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

This group is awesome. When my baby was 3 weeks old I needed help figuring out how to use one of my carriers, walked away with loads of info and better options for me and baby :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers