Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.966675
Write A Review
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization and I have had a professional relationship for over a year now. I am a lead Key Spouse mentor for Patrick AFB. I support active duty and their family members. This organization had been amazing. They have never said no to anyone that had asked their assistance. This is truly a rare quality now days.
October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

AVET Project is like no other. They truly give everything they have in an effort to support the military, veterans, and their family members. On several occasions they have given to me and my family (recognition at hockey games, tickets to basketball games, donated athletic gear for my kids) as a show of support to military members serving in uniform. They believe in what they do. They live it. And they will give you the shirt off their back in order to make sure a military member is taken care of.

I seriously have not ever experienced a non-profit as committed and passionate about what they do.
December 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Charlie and i am a disabled vet of OEF. While in the National Guard the AVET project would not only donate time, but they made the best breakfast....lol. The organization was there for the soldiers and always gave a tentative ear. I personally had a few issues with the VA and my claims. The AVET project was there at a minutes notice to listen and help. They put me in touch with the right people who could help me. And best of all........for free. AVET project would always find the correct resources, and never quit if they couldn't. For some odd reason i could not get help from any other nonprofit organization who supposedly are there for the troops. AVET project have always been there for me at no cost. Thank you AVET project.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I had never heard about AVET until I was offered a retreat with them on a cruise.

After the first group meeting, when we introduced ourselves with the talking stick, I felt a little out of place.

I am still in the military, currently serving in the Reserves, and did not think I
had the right to take a slot and be lucky enough to be on the retreat. In my mind, I believed, there was someone else more deserving than me. After listening to all the stories both my husband and I were extremely humbled by what everyone had to say and what they have gone through and still going through.

As the weekend progressed I realized it was not about who deserved it more but it was about the camaraderie and the ability to learn how to cope and take care of each other. I may not have PTSD, a TBI or some other traumatic injury from the war but I have been there and I have seen a lot of injured troops. I now believe my reason for being there was not about me and my husband and what we may have or have not been through, it was about learning about others and how we need to step it up an take care of them.

We need more voices out there fighting to take care of our troops, and more wonderful people like Kim and Garren organizing these events for our troops. This retreat opened my eyes up to that!

The PR&R was an amazing, educational event for me. It instructed all of us on relaxation techniques with Dr. Fairchild and Dr. Vehec. They showed us pain management is not all about life through chemical treatment (medications) but through external stimulation and non medical techniques. Personally, I found a topical cream to help my headaches and an Alpha Stimulator to relieve pain and help me relax. People can achieve 100% relief they just need the tools and education on how to receive and apply such treatments.

The retreat also showed me I do deserve the benefits for Vets because I have and still am severing my country. Each and every one of us deserve to be taken care of due to the sacrifices we make for our country.

The PR&R was humbling, rewarding, educational, relaxing and fun. I met and got to hang out with an amazing group of people. The military, no matter what branch you served in, is a family. We proved that over 3 days!

Thank you to Kim and Garren Cone for an incredible experience and the friends they brought with them to help and take care of us. Also, a big thank you to the sponsors for allowing them to invite the troops on the memorable journey.

Trish

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I cannot remember when it was when I was first introduced to AVET. But it was for a retreat for women held in their home. I was amazed at the care that Kim and Garren gave to us women, especially in this day and age when most organizations seem to forget about us women warriors. The retreat was awesome. I was also introduced to a doctor who also served in the military and was seeing a lot of veterans who were being discharged with personality disorder instead of the proper diagnosis of PTSD or TBI. I had already been on disability for the PTSD. But it was through Dr. Fairchild that after almost 20 years I was finally given the diagnosis of TBI. AVET also introduced me to Rolling Thunder a motorcycle group for Veterans. I was also introduced to Sanctuary Island a group who does fundraising so disabled veterans can experience horseback riding. I know I am probably forgetting some of what they have done for me as there is so much I cannot remember. But I am not even in their local area, and they still reached out to me and helped me in ways I could never thank them for. In this day and age when other veterans organizations such as Wounded Warrior Project and others are making a killing with 6 or 7 figures of income at the cost of those who donate to these organizations, AVET uses 100% of all donations on the soldier or veteran and does not take a salary for their service. I would highly recommend this organization and trust in its integrity to do the right thing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give Kim and Garren 1000 or more years to continue to do what they are doing. There are not many organizations around who truly love the veteran as much as this organization

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

AVET Project is an outstanding organization. Kum amd Garren take the time to get to know everyone! Im so blessed to have them n my life and even more so to be able to call them friends!!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I got the chance to attend AVET's retreat for disabled combat vets after I got back from Iraq, they call it PR&R for recooperation and reintagration, and it was a awesome experience! I did not know this group or the people who run it when I first walked in the door but after the retreat was ending, me and the other vets did not want to leave. They treated us like kings! The place was incredible on the rogue river in oregon. We ate the best foods (probably gained 10 pounds) and did lots of fun stuff like jet boat ride down the river and fishing for salmon and got therapy massages oiutdoors by the river. Joanne is awesome. she taoght us so much about how to cope with PTSD and how to learn to relax. we got lots of good info on how to file a claim with VA and get our id cards for hospital issues. AVET even bought our fishing liscense and paid for my transportation costs! At the end Garen gave each of us a separate action plan with very real clear directions to help us get stuff done. He's a vet like us so he could relate to our problems and he is just a cool guy. His wife Kim took such great care of us the whole time, she is a amazing lady and really loves the military. we each got a huge bag of neat stuff we all can use to. I still feel kinda gulty because EVERY soldier should get to go to one of these PRR deals! Sure glad they selected me. I highly recomend this progarm to every body and hope they keep doin everthing they do because it really helps us guys alot.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

please read my other writing

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

only thing i can say is they should be allowed to do this for EVERY vet! Never been treated this good before!

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers