Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.954555
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
January 10, 2014

more

January 10, 2014

I am a Vietnam vet who volunteers with this group. Every penny in, goes out to support
active duty personnel, veterans, and their families. Avet has a host of core programs
designed to help empower our nations greatest resource; its "people", our families, our service personnel
reintegrate into society after service to our country. They educate active duty
personnel, support them with care packages when in country and for the ones that come home
with broken bodies and damaged minds, they guide them to regain their lives and dignity as they continue to contribute to our country's prosperity as civilians. I wish they were around during my
era of coming home. This group makes a difference every day! Steven Rasbach

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They already have it right!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 28, 2013

more

December 28, 2013

I have volunteered with AVET Project for 5 yrs. My name is Alice Kreitz. This year, I had the pleasure of being Mrs. Santa Claus at countless Christmas dinners; childrens' parties; gift wrapping sessions; toy runs; serving the deployed from our area of the Space Coast; and meeting the returning men and women at Patrick Air Force Base who have been defending America in dangerous places. I feel as if the AVET Project does more for the current and retired military men & women than any other vets group in central Fl. I also attended the cruise in Nov., which was a time when the married couples could reunite without their children and get some much needed R & R and also speak to registered Psychologists and social workers and other individuals who would listen to them share their inner feelings.

The directors have dedicated their lives to the well being of the military and work as volunteers. Other groups pay their directors large salaries, and I'm truly not sure what they do in this area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I were able to donate a lot of $$$$ to AVET Project, I would because I would like to see the directors spend LESS time having to scrounge of every penny they need to supply the military folks with the food and services they richly deserve. Doesn't seem right that one vets group gets millions and another one who seemingly does so much, gets ZERO. Makes NO sense to me. Alice Kreitz, constant volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 17, 2012

Working hard for our military family with the resources we have. Together we can help more. more

December 28, 2013

As President of AVET Project, I am always humbled when I read and hear about how our "all volunteer" nonprofit truly does change the lives of those we serve.

While we operate 7 core programs and a host of ancillary ones, AVET Project's "Project Recuperation & Reintegration" (PR&R)
retreat program MUST be a focus of ours in the coming year. Why, you ask? It's simple, really: PR&R changes the lives of our Post 9/11 warriors and their families. I personally invite everyone reading this to visit our website and associated social media pages - as well as listen to AMERICAN WARRIOR RADIO - to find out how PR&R accomplishes this!

WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to make our programs work, and if you can volunteer a few hours every month, we'll definitely put you to work supporting our troops!

May each and every American enjoy a wonderful 2014... just remember, it won't happen without the service and sacrifices of our military and their families. Please, help us help them. Visit our website and make a donation via our secure PayPal service NOW.

Most appreciatively,
Garren S. Cone

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 17, 2012

Working hard for our military family with the resources we have. Together we can help more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 28, 2013

more

December 28, 2013

My name is Charlie and i am a disabled vet of OEF. While in the National Guard the AVET project would not only donate time, but they made the best breakfast....lol. The organization was there for the soldiers and always gave a tentative ear. I personally had a few issues with the VA and my claims. The AVET project was there at a minutes notice to listen and help. They put me in touch with the right people who could help me. And best of all........for free. AVET project would always find the correct resources, and never quit if they couldn't. For some odd reason i could not get help from any other nonprofit organization who supposedly are there for the troops. AVET project have always been there for me at no cost. Thank you AVET project.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 28, 2013

more

December 28, 2013

My name is Denise Farias and i cannot say enough about Avet Project. I volunteer for lots of organizations and Avet is by far the best. Their passion and energy to help the military is unbelievable. They are great stewards with the donations and deeply care for everyone they help. I am very proud to work with such an amazing couple and only hope to be a part of the Avet Project for many years to come

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would ask that they get more donations as for what they do for our troops is never enough

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 28, 2013

more

December 28, 2013

I had never heard about AVET until I was offered a retreat with them on a cruise.

After the first group meeting, when we introduced ourselves with the talking stick, I felt a little out of place.

I am still in the military, currently serving in the Reserves, and did not think I
had the right to take a slot and be lucky enough to be on the retreat. In my mind, I believed, there was someone else more deserving than me. After listening to all the stories both my husband and I were extremely humbled by what everyone had to say and what they have gone through and still going through.

As the weekend progressed I realized it was not about who deserved it more but it was about the camaraderie and the ability to learn how to cope and take care of each other. I may not have PTSD, a TBI or some other traumatic injury from the war but I have been there and I have seen a lot of injured troops. I now believe my reason for being there was not about me and my husband and what we may have or have not been through, it was about learning about others and how we need to step it up an take care of them.

We need more voices out there fighting to take care of our troops, and more wonderful people like Kim and Garren organizing these events for our troops. This retreat opened my eyes up to that!

The PR&R was an amazing, educational event for me. It instructed all of us on relaxation techniques with Dr. Fairchild and Dr. Vehec. They showed us pain management is not all about life through chemical treatment (medications) but through external stimulation and non medical techniques. Personally, I found a topical cream to help my headaches and an Alpha Stimulator to relieve pain and help me relax. People can achieve 100% relief they just need the tools and education on how to receive and apply such treatments.

The retreat also showed me I do deserve the benefits for Vets because I have and still am severing my country. Each and every one of us deserve to be taken care of due to the sacrifices we make for our country.

The PR&R was humbling, rewarding, educational, relaxing and fun. I met and got to hang out with an amazing group of people. The military, no matter what branch you served in, is a family. We proved that over 3 days!

Thank you to Kim and Garren Cone for an incredible experience and the friends they brought with them to help and take care of us. Also, a big thank you to the sponsors for allowing them to invite the troops on the memorable journey.

Trish

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 28, 2013

more

December 28, 2013

I cannot remember when it was when I was first introduced to AVET. But it was for a retreat for women held in their home. I was amazed at the care that Kim and Garren gave to us women, especially in this day and age when most organizations seem to forget about us women warriors. The retreat was awesome. I was also introduced to a doctor who also served in the military and was seeing a lot of veterans who were being discharged with personality disorder instead of the proper diagnosis of PTSD or TBI. I had already been on disability for the PTSD. But it was through Dr. Fairchild that after almost 20 years I was finally given the diagnosis of TBI. AVET also introduced me to Rolling Thunder a motorcycle group for Veterans. I was also introduced to Sanctuary Island a group who does fundraising so disabled veterans can experience horseback riding. I know I am probably forgetting some of what they have done for me as there is so much I cannot remember. But I am not even in their local area, and they still reached out to me and helped me in ways I could never thank them for. In this day and age when other veterans organizations such as Wounded Warrior Project and others are making a killing with 6 or 7 figures of income at the cost of those who donate to these organizations, AVET uses 100% of all donations on the soldier or veteran and does not take a salary for their service. I would highly recommend this organization and trust in its integrity to do the right thing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give Kim and Garren 1000 or more years to continue to do what they are doing. There are not many organizations around who truly love the veteran as much as this organization

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 23, 2013

more

June 23, 2013

Our unit, 715th MP CO, was recently deployed to the 'sandbox'. AVET showed up right behind 1SG and myself to get started on cooking breakfast for the troops and their families. They gave us all a good breakfast and then passed out donations from other organizations to make sure our troops were well feed. They, and our troops were escorted by the Patriot Guard to the Airport and given a special departure. We then have pictures from the AVET website to share of our troops as they left us for FT. Bliss. This meant so much to families and I cannot thank them enough. REspectfully, FRG Chairperson, Deborah Yevtich

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make them more of a household name while educating about their purpose.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2013

more

February 6, 2013

I really enjoy voluntering with Avet, the thanks WE Receive from enlisted personnel when we feed them meals always brings me to tears. The little we do is nothing compared to what they do for us. Through Avet we not only get to give back, but we receive a wonderfull warmth to our soul for making a small difference in someones life.
Not only have we enjoyed voluntering but we also love the great oportunity to experience so many things that as a normal person we would not get to see. The technology, the behind the door activity at the space center and the many different jobs our service men do. Thanks for these opportunities. I would encourage others to volunteer for this great organization. Avet Project.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 22, 2012

more

December 22, 2012

As a military wife moving from place to place is always hard. Not having family and friends can be very stressful. When I learned about the AVET project I was blown away about the services they offer the community and military families, both past and present. Kim always has everyone's best interest in mind and I have been blessed with a lot of support for her and the AVET project when I was I need. Some volunteers have become good friends and anytime I can help I am always ready to help out when they are in need. This organization is one I will always be proud of and reccommend to anyone. Honest, hardworking and caring genuine people are hard to come by but I can honestly say that every volunteer I have met in this organization falls into those categories!!! Rock on AVET Project!! Blessings- Virginia Vazquez

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers