Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
127 Reviews
123.9055145
Write A Review
August 31, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 31, 2014

Dear Mike,
There is an incredible world out there for therapy style apps. My Dgt. is having a fabulous time reviewing her loaded i pad. She is coming out of her shell. She has found an app for Charades. (truly a shocker) She is talking and acting out the Disney characters-once with a
stranger in the doctor's office waiting room. I never dreamed she would open up like this.
Thanks so much,
Dawn
July 11, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 11, 2014

ASDF has provided numerous scholarships for families who are unable to afford the cost of therapeutic riding services at our center. The Shane Center for Therapeutic Horsemanship is extremely grateful for ASDF's support in helping us improve the quality of life for kids and adults on the spectrum. The participants who have benefitted from the scholarships have each made significant progress towards their goals.
KSanchez

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am using this opportunity to say a big thank you to the ASDF foundation for providing my son with an iPad. Ever since he started using the iPad, he went from non verbal to verbal. He now talk in sentences. When people who knew him when he was nonverbal see him, they are usually in awe as to how rapid his change took place. Thank you so much ASDF
Sincerely,
R.s

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My son, Connor, has limited communication skills and his speech is mostly unintelligible. The Ipad provided by the Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation has opened a whole new world of communication for Connor.

Prior to the Ipad, Connor had a bulky, heavy assistive technology device which
he rarely used, probably because it made him feel so different. Now, when his speech is unintelligible, he pulls out his Ipad installed with TouchChat, and clarifies his speech; this is a significant benefit as it minimizes the frustration for both Connor and his communication partner.

The Ipad has also provided Connor with other communication options. For instance, he uses the Ipad to take pictures of places he has been such as Jimmy John's, Giant and Staples, or anything he finds interesting. The pictures are a great way to initiate conversations, sharing his interest and adventures with others.

In addition to the improved communication opportunities, there are so many educational applications that hold Connor's attention.

The Ipad has not only had a significant impact on Connor's life, but our family life as well, by providing some insight into Connor's thoughts which would otherwise be inaccessible. It is said, "The way we communicate with others and with ourselves determines the quality of our lives"; the Ipad provided by your organization has changed the quality of Connor's life and those around him.

With much thanks and appreciation to your organization and staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Thank you for all you do. I work for a head start. With the ipad for one of our autistic children, the child has learned to focus more. He has learned his colors, letters and numbers. Thank you for helping this special child. Thank you for all that you do to our special children.
Juanita
Palafox
DJ Lerma Head Start

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes needed. Excellent work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I recieved a package to send to neighbors. I DID NOT volunteer to do this and will not contact anyone. I live on a State Route and do not know most of the people on this route.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This is not a valid charity. I received collect-from-your-neighbors materials and send-it-backfrom these people stating incorrectly that I had volunteered by phone, but addressing me as Mr (I am a woman).

Because I disapprove of this form of fundraising, I knew that I had not agreed to
anything of the sort --indeed, I had not even talked to their fundraisers -- and threw the materials away. I have since received a follow-up letter asking me for the donations and/or one of my own.
I realize now that I should have reported the earlier letter to the postmaster.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 13, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

I was unhappily surprised to find out the very low percentage that ASDF actually receives from donations. I too, had an unsolicited phone call to solicit donations from neighbors, and I agreed because I have a nephew with autism. Since I had never heard of this specific charity, I checked it out on the Vermont attorney general web site, and only one percent of funds raised go to .families! Please, if anyone is considering donating, read all of these reviews.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 12, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

they sent me the info it looks proper. they did not serve my area , so i yahooed and found this site with everyone giving negative response. i too have a granson inflected

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 15, 2011
15 people found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2011
15 people found this review helpful

We have received over 20 appeals from this organization in the last two months. The only phone number is an 800 one. We have left messages, but no one has called back. From what I have read of this organization, it is less than reputable.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The only result I've received from this organization is stonewalling.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would ask that the organization be more approachable and forthcoming about its alleged projects. Right now it seems to be only a vehicle for its founder to make money

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers