Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
127 Reviews
123.9055145
Write A Review
October 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 13, 2014

I am the executive director of a small non-profit. One of our signature programs is our summer camp, Camp WANNAGOAGAIN! We host 111 campers for 2 weeks. It costs $1,100 per camper. We raise enough mon... more

October 15, 2014

As the director of a non-profit, I spend a good amount of my time raising money to support our programs for youth with an autism spectrum disorder. One of our favorite programs is our summer camp, Camp WANNAGOAGAIN!
Each summer we host 115 campers of all abilities from 5 years old to 20+ for
two weeks. Our program is highly structured and staffed with experienced counselors. It's expensive. We are committed to never turning a youth away from camp because of money.
The ASD Foundation has helped us reach this goal for the last 4 years. They are generous AND they make it a simple process to request funds and to report who benefited from the money. We use it for Camperships and last year 10 campers were awarded Camperships using the ASD Foundations donation.
Thank you for all you do to help us work to our mission.
February 13, 2014

I am the executive director of a small non-profit. One of our signature programs is our summer camp, Camp WANNAGOAGAIN! We host 111 campers for 2 weeks. It costs $1,100 per camper. We raise enough money to cut the cost to families to $450. For many that is just too much. We don't say no to anyone due to money! Thankfully the ASD Foundation raises money too. Last year they sent 10 kids to camp! They helped 10 kids and their families. Camp week is also a time for respite for parents and siblings. Thank you for you support and for keeping the process simple, but accountable. It helps us work our mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None at this time.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2014

more

August 20, 2014

I am a middle school autism teacher. This foundation provided IPAD minis for my students at their Title I school. I cannot state enough how much thier generosity has impacted my students. These students come from disadvantaged backgrounds and do not often receive the same things that students from advantaged backgrounds receive. To see the joy on their face when they use an IPAD mini is priceless. These machines have numerous benefits for my students. They help motivate the students to complete their work and meet thier goals, they provide a source of information and also can be used to work on language skills. It is no secret that many students with autism experience a deep connection with the IPADs and the IPADs bring much joy and order to those whose lives are often lacking in both. In addition the student love to share the IPADs with each other and this helps them socialize with each other, which is another area that is difficult for them as well. The IPADs are the way of the future and I am confident that they will help special needs students in the future bridge the gap with thier peers in the general education classes as well as enable them to share in class discussions and group discussions with thier peers. Because many students with autism are visually oriented the IPADs provide a way for them to communicate because they can pull up pictures and websites to express themselves. This organization is amazing and they will never fully know the positive impact they have made on my students. Their contribution is much appreciated!!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization is amazing. I would not make any changes.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

I am the Executive Director of Stirrups 'n Strides Therapeutic Riding Center. We have many Autistic children that ride in our therapeutic program & I have seen "miracles" happen to these children when they become involved with riding a horse. I can't thank the ASDF enough for giving us scholarships for 4 of our children to ride for this coming riding season. So many of our children's families can't afford to pay, so we have chosen 4 of these families for your scholarships & I can't tell you how appreciative they are. The lives of these children can change dramatically as they learn to follow directions, sequencing, & being able to concentrate for the entire lesson!! Thank you so much for what you do, you are one of our Angels.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 10, 2014

I am a swimming instructor at Lydon Aquatic Center. I teach several autistic students. These students receive one on one instruction in swimming thanks to funding from Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundat... more

July 30, 2014

I am a swim instructor for autistic children. I am fortunate to see them gain physical skills and confidence. The water is a fantastic sensory experience which soothes and calms. My students look forward to their pool time. They enter the pool area with smiles. Learning to swim is important for keeping these children safe. Families are strapped with the many expenses for their autistic child and these students would not have this learning without the sponsorship from ASDF!
ASDF has provided private lessons for many children over several years. The autistic students cannot manage the group sessions and need the one on one interaction that a private lesson affords. I am grateful for the opportunity ASDF provides me to work with these fantastic children. Thank you ASDF for funding private lessons to autistic students!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a swimming instructor at Lydon Aquatic Center. I teach several autistic students. These students receive one on one instruction in swimming thanks to funding from Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation. Without this funding, these families would struggle with one more expense in an already tight family budget. These wonderful children thrive in the water. They are drawn to water and its soothing and sensory qualities. Swimming provides an outlet for joy, exercise and freedom of movement. They learn skills that will keep them safe. Swimming is an activity that the entire family can do together promoting healthy family interactions. Thank you so much to Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation for funding this program. Their support is invaluable!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 27, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 27, 2014

I am a professional in the field of autism and I run two camps each year for children with autism spectrum disorders. We generally serve about 100 children each year. Our goal is to serve families who don't always have the means for their children to have opportunities for special camps and such. Each year the good people of The Autism Spectrum disorder support at least twenty of our campers while they have a week of fun along with social skills, adaptive PE, sensory time, and other things that help them have a fabulously successful week. It brings me such joy to see the faces of these kids and their parents each time we have camp. We are enormously grateful!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

I am a public school teacher of elementary students on the autism spectrum. For several summers, I have worked at Autism Pensacola's Kids for Camp, one of the programs supported by Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation. Typically, we target a handful of skills and work on them intensely. One of my campers has never experienced anything like Kids for Camp. This camper has gained 16 new skills in the first 6 days of attending the 2014 Kids for Camp, and these are skills that were not even targeted! Simply by being in this specialized environment where staff are able to make every interaction a learning opportunity, this boy is flourishing! Thank you for your support Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
September 19, 2011

I first heard of ASDF when someone questioned me about their fundraising program. I then learned from the website that they fund camps for children with autism. We applied for and receivedover $10,0... more

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As President/CEO of Autism Pensacola, I have been blessed to witness the impact on the lives of those with autism in our area that was a direct result from the generosity of Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation. We have been blessed to be part of the Holiday Gift Card program for several years and I have seen many happy tears and heard many parents proclaim how their Holiday has been saved by this gift. In addition, for the past 4 years, ASDF has supported our nationally acclaimed Summer Learning Lab(camp) that not only gives kids a great time but teaches them and their teachers so much. The families ASDF supports are our most needy and they are so grateful every summer to have this life changing experience because of ASDF. I am so grateful and admire ASDF so much. Thank you for making a difference in Pensacola Florida!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They continue to get better and better!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 19, 2011
9 people found this review helpful

I first heard of ASDF when someone questioned me about their fundraising program. I then learned from the website that they fund camps for children with autism. We applied for and receivedover $10,000 to use to fund needy campers at our summer learning lab camp in Penascola, FL. They have also enabled us to support two needy families with basic funds for housing during a period of critical need. Additionally, ASDF has provided funds to support families in need at Christmas through our local organization. I am aware that they fund swimming programs, and therapies as well as camps. We are very grateful for the work of ASDF.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Our area is one of the poorest in Florida. The families ASDF allowed us to support would not have been able to be a part of our summer camp without these funds. The two families helped with basic needs were at their wits end about how to continue when we were able to step in and use ASDF funds to make a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more awareness of the good work they do. The high fundraising cost is because they use a professional fundraiser to make this happen. I think with time, this cost will go down.

May 16, 2014

I teach elementary aged students with autism. All five of my students are exceptional young boys and I am honored to be their teacher. One student, in particular, has so much potential, but, because of communication barriers, it is sometimes difficult to pull his knowledge out. He has a school issued iPad for communication and academic development during the school year, but it must be returned before summer. This young man has made tremendous progress this year and it worried his family and myself so that he would regress during the two month summer break, so I reached out the Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation Inc. for help. Within an hour of telling them my student's story, they were not only willing, but eager, to supply my student with a mini iPad so that he may have a strong and clear voice, 24/7, 365. The Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation & Michael Slutsky understand the potential all individuals with autism have and make sure that those individuals have the necessary tools to be successful. In less than a week of contacting the Foundation, the mini iPad arrived. The device is now being programmed by myself so that this young man can continue to be successful, academically & socially! We are forever grateful for the generosity displayed by the Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation Inc. and Michael Slutsky.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am extremely pleased with all my interactions with the Foundation. Personnel were extremely caring, polite and professional. The gifted device arrived quickly and in perfect condition.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been teaching swimming to students with special needs for many years. The support we receive from the Autism Spectrum Disorder group is invaluable. It allows these youngsters to have one on one instruction in the pool. The lessons are important for their personal development and enhancement. I am delighted and thankful to be associated with this group.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation Inc has made a huge difference in my classroom. I have been teaching for 10 years in the mild to moderate autism program at my district. I can't say enough how much I love what I do! With the support of the IPad within my classroom has taken my students learning to the next level. I can finally get technology within their hands. My students use it for their personal schedule along with preteaching and reteaching math and reading concepts. Thank you for you support!

Tammy

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NA

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers