Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
114 Reviews
123.780745
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
August 27, 2014

more

August 27, 2014

I was blown away when my friend called me one day and said, "Does your son need an i-pad mini". She met a man from ASDF , and he told her about how his organization supports people with Autism. He said that my son could receive an i-Pad mini if he needed one. I thought this was too good to be true. It wasn't, though. Within 2 weeks he had a new i-Pad. My son's school uses i-Pads for teaching and for communication. He now has one of his own that he can use at school and home. As a family affected by autism, we are so grateful that ASDF is out there providing support and resources. They actually sought us out and they were so generous and helpful!
August 25, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 25, 2014

My 6 year old son received a swim scholarship from the Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation and I am so grateful. At the Paul J Lydon Aquatic Center in Danvers, MA, he is getting the one to one instruction that he needs to be successful. His confidence has increased and he looks forward to his lesson each week with Sandy. His social skills have increased and he has even made a friend at the pool. He has even begun looking at the kids in the swim classes and asking when he will be able to get group lessons, so he is becoming more aware of his surroundings. It's amazing to see how much progress he has made since he started swimming and was afraid to get in the pool; today he jumps right in and is ready to go! I am so proud of him and his achievement, which would not be possible without this funding. Thanks to all involved in this foundation, you have made my family's financial situation a little easier by making the swim lessons possible.
August 20, 2014

more

August 20, 2014

I am a parent of a child that received a mini ipad from Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation. The ipad could not have come at a better time as shortly after receiving it she was hospitalized for two weeks. She was in the process of preparing for her EOG's (End of Grade) testing when this all happened and we were worried that she would miss valuable classroom time as a result. I am happy to say that my daughter was able to "Facetime" with her Teacher's and receive classroom instruction while in the hospital and stay on track to take her EOG's after her discharge. I do not know what we would have done were it not for this device. Thank you to this Foundation does not seem enough!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes that I would recommend.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
February 11, 2014

The Hobart Family YMCA has been able to serve children who are on the spectrum ages 3 to 12 years in our summer day camp programs for the past two years because of the generous support from The Autis... more

August 6, 2014

Thank you so much for the support you give to our youth at our Y. What a joy to see the campers enjoy their time interacting with some of the other campers, swimming in our pool and creating pieces of art.
Nicholas loves coming to camp and swimming in the pool. His mother was so happy that
he has been a part of our camp program for the past couple of years. She relates that he has gained confidence and has grown physically as well experience many fun times. Thank you to the Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation for making this camp experience a reality in his life. Thank you to the Hobart Family YMCA for including youth of all abilities in your program.
Daniel has grown so much this summer and he loves his camp counselor. He comes home and is so animated about his experience." Let me tell you that is some accomplishment, because he does not communicate with many words on a daily basis." Thank you for helping children to experience summer camp.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes I would make.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Hobart Family YMCA has been able to serve children who are on the spectrum ages 3 to 12 years in our summer day camp programs for the past two years because of the generous support from The Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation. Without the support of this organization 20 campers (10 campers in preschool and school-age) would not have had the opportunity to come to camp. I'd like to share some of the comments made by parents of the campers we served. Orlando's mom writes: "Thank you for all the financial support you gave my son so he could participate in this wonderful day camp. He has made great strides in spite of his autism and I owe it to programs like yours and the YMCA which gave him the ability to lead a "normal" life. He does not want to miss going to camp. If he did not have this opportunity this summer to attend camp, he would have been at home not making any progress. Again. thank you from the bottom of our hearts." Alex's grandmother writes: "Thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing the financial support so my special grandson could attend your excellent day camp program for the last two years. Alex has improved in his social and communication skills. He also made some new friends and enjoyed his art class. He was very happy and excited to go to camp each day. Again, thanks for the help that was given to him. I pray many people who can will donate to both of your organizations so many more children with and without disabilities can continue to receive financial support as well as social and emotional support." Jon and Mimi's mom writes this: "on what I thought was a whim is what I call Divine Order after calling the Hobart Y and speaking with Mrs. Sharon to inquire if there was sibling discount for the Preschool summer day camp program since I have two adopted special needs children both on the Autism Spectrum. What happened next exceeded my greatest expectation: I was told about the Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation and the availability of them helping to cover the cost for both of my dear ones to attend day camp. I have seen so much progress with both of them. They have enjoyed each day of camp and it does a Mother good to see her children so happy. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for being willing to support such excellent programs in our community. May God continue to bless your organization."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a change, but would hope that the community would support this organization in a greater way. They need more donors who believe in their mission and story and the vital work they support. Kudos to the Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

Like many children on the autism spectrum, my son is drawn to water. The pool is where he feels most at ease. It is his joy and truly is his "happy place." I revel in the fact this he is able to share this joy with me, however it also terrifies me because one of the leading causes of death for individuals with autism is drowning. This statistic is elevated in individuals who wander. My husband and I knew early on that our J would need to learn to swim at an young age because of his love of water and his propensity to wander when the rare opportunity presents itself.

When we looked into swimming lessons we quickly figured out that due to the nature of his specific needs, a typical group lesson would not be a safe option for him at the present time. Unfortunately the costs associated with raising a family, paying for insurance and copays for J's many weekly therapy sessions did not leave much, if any, room for lessons with a private 1:1 instructor. Through the generous support of the ASDF, our son was able receive scholarships to fund the 1:1 swim lessons that he needs with an incredible, experienced, caring professional. His instructor and the ASDF have become really important members of J's team because without their help he would not be building the lifesaving skill set that he desperately needs. Thank you for all that you do!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

tweak the wording of their vision statement on this webpage to match the vision statement on their website. My child isn't "suffering" from autism. He's "impacted" by it for sure, but I'd like to say that with the support of his team, that he's "thriving." A minor change that makes a big difference for my kiddo who will one day read this review and learn about the wonderful work of this organization. :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 30, 2014

My Daughter, Sarah was adopted from Ethiopia in 2011. She is three years old now and was recently diagnosed with being on the autism spectrum. She loves horses and we have a local equine therapy group that gives therapy sessions for children with autism.
I wrote to the Autism Spectrum Disorder
Foundation and they generously agreed to pay for a 6 week session of equine therapy for Sarah. It was SUCH a good experience for her! She worked on speech therapy and receiving directions. She loved it and has asked to go back for another session in the fall. We are so thankful to ASDF for giving her this opportunity!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None that I can think of.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 29, 2014

My children were both able to go to camp this year because of this organization. We were also Christmas gift card recipients when we would not have been able to afford gifts for our kids.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing :-)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 27, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 27, 2014

Dear Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation,
Thank you so much for your generous donation to Autism Pensacola, Inc. supporting the 2014 Kids for Camp. My child, King Richard, is having a wonderful time at camp. We are so fortunate to have the support of your organization to help Pensacola put
on such a great summer learning lab for our children. King requires a program that is highly structured and designed to meet his special needs. King is really enjoying the opportunity to participate in the JTP classes this year. This program helps to improve his work skills. Because of your help King was able to have a wonderful summer experience at camp filled with fun and laughter. Kids for Camp offers a variety of activities including; singing, dancing, trips to the movies, mall, beach, etc. and more importantly, King is learning life skills while having fun. Thank you for making a difference in the lives of our children.
Thanks for your support, Ann & David Richard

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 21, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 21, 2014

I am the mother of four (4) year old twin boys. The oldest twin (by a minute) was diagnosed within the spectrum of autism. I first observed a change in him at the age of 2. We were devastated when my son stop talking and we lost eye contact communication with him. Since that realization, my husband and I been researching and implementing many of the therapies we discovered during on-line searches. We have tried whatever made sense to us at the time, including change in diet – all organic, eliminating certain foods and adding others. We believe that a holistic approach would be best for our son. We are determined to help our son overcome the challenges of Autism by attacking the symptoms early and consistently. Some of the therapies tried are: OT, BA, Speech, gluten/dairy free diet, swimming, etc., you name it we have tried it.
In the past 2 years we have exhausted every penny of our saving (we have two others children) paying for the therapies tried in an effort to help our son overcome the challenges of autism. Our goal is to help our son become a healthy well adjusted adult that will be able to make a positive contribution to his family and society. We don’t know how long we are going to be around, but we are determined to help him reach his full potential.
Someone I met through “Parents of Children with Autism” `told me about the horseback riding program/therapy and how much it helps her son. Financially, we couldn’t afford to pay for the horseback riding lesson as another tool in the multi-faceted approach in my son’s therapy/program. As I mentioned above, currently, we have him working with a speech therapist, ABA, OT and swimming for which the total cost is the equivalent to my monthly salary. Through online research I luckily discovered AUTISM SPECTOM DISORDER FOUNDATION. I immediate wrote to them and was happily surprised to receive a quick response to my email. I requested help to pay for the Equine Therapy and thankfully received the financial assistance necessary to afford my son’s therapy. This help was a God send, within a week I could see positive results. My son was able to say a few words, for example, he was asking for the horse, and even requested to go horseback riding. “Mommy, let’s go ‘diggy dap, diggy dap.” Those few words gave me hope that one day my baby will be able to fully communicate. I would like to thank this organization from the bottom of my heart for the financial help they have provided for my precious boy. I cannot express in words how grateful I am to the Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation for your scholarship, support and the work you do to assist my family and other families with Autistic Children. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for your financial assistance that has helped my son gets the necessary treatment which helped him to utter those few words.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Created of the same, because they surpase my expectation KUDOS

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 16, 2014

Words can't express what a Blessing you have been for our family!!! Thank you for allowing my son Justice the opportunity to be heard! Because of the ipad he received he is able to communicate more effectively! He is also learning So much more! You have opened a door that has been closed for many years. Justice was diagnosed with ASD at the age of 2 and he has been nonverbal since. It was so frustrating for him and us as parents when he needed something or wanted to tell us something but didn't have the words to express himself. Now he is able to tell us his needs and he is also learning shapes, colors, and more! Thank you for giving MY Justice the Justice he needed to SUCCEED!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes need to be made.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers