Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
135 Reviews
123.9703745
Write A Review
September 25, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
February 8, 2014

I am a Board Member representing a Theraputic Handicapped Horseback Riding Program in Central Florida called Stirrups'n Strides Theraputic Horseback Riding Program. We are a registered non-profit 50... more

September 25, 2014

As a volunteer with a non profit Theraputic Horseback Riding Program we have many riders with Autism Spectrum Disorder and I cannot describe the benefits of horseback riding for these children. They absolutely connect with these giant animals and their personalities shine. They develop a bond that enables them to mature and grow. We have one autistic rider who has even gone on to win 2 national championships! Such an accomplishment! This foundation has generously provided 4 of our riders with a full year riding scholarship! Without this organization, these riders would not be able to ride. What a difference this foundation has made to us, in being able to help these children, and to the familes who could not otherwise afford to bring their children. Thank you for your support!

Sandra Donaldson
Stirrups 'n Strides therapeutic Riding Center
Ocala, Fla
February 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a Board Member representing a Theraputic Handicapped Horseback Riding Program in Central Florida called Stirrups'n Strides Theraputic Horseback Riding Program. We are a registered non-profit 501-3c program and we totally rely on donations to keep our organization going. This year the Autism Spectrum Foundation generously donated enough funds to sponsor 4 of our autistic riders for lessons for the entire season. Without their help these riders would not be able to ride. Our mission is to offer an opportunity for growth and mental and physical development. We hope that their fundraising efforts this year will again allow them to assist us. Please consider donating to this organization so that they may help us and other organizations assis those within the Autism Spectrum.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2014

more

August 21, 2014

I am a volunteer, certified therapeutic riding instructor and board member for a therapeutic riding center that benefits from ASDF. There is no doubt that through the help of this organization lives have been changed and people with Autism have found a place where they can excel and succeed in many ways that were not thought possible. The riders and their families in our organization have found news ways of overcoming prior obstacles in ordinary day and lives of our autistic individuals. I have seen youth begin to speak, smile, cry and laugh where there was previously nothing but silence. I have seen parents and care givers find hope that there is a wonderful life to be lead by these unique individuals. Thank you for your help in giving hope.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I can't even begin to tell you how disenchanted I am to find out the truth about ASDF. This is the 2nd year I've volunteered to canvas for donations. I was checking with one neighbor today who donated last year and he told me about an article in the AARP magazine about this very organization that stated that 60% of the funds donated go toward expenses. That's a huge chunk of change for those so-called do-gooder Board Members getting paid to coordinate this dysfunctional effort. Needless to say, I will not be doing this again next year. They called and called and called this year until I was so tired of not answering the phone that I finally picked it up and agreed to do this again just to get them to stop calling me. They ought to be ashamed of themselves. I will send in the donations I have collected because I collected them in good faith assuming that the majority of the donation was going directly to the cause. At least my conscience won't bother me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Abolish this cost inefficient organization and go work for a legitimate charity where the majority of the proceeds go directly to those who are directly affected by this disorder.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 18, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 18, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I reveived this packet in the mail and thought I was doing something for an organization that was credible. I should have done my homework! I sent this out to my neighbors and invited them to be contribute to this organization, only to find out that it was just a scam in 2012 Got another invite to do the same thing again in 2013. Sleezy is the best word to describe these people, phone calls asking you to volunteer and then you fall for it. Never again!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 23, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

February 23, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

I received an unsolicited phone call asking me to volunteer to send out letters to my neighbors. I talked to the woman for a while and because my niece has an autistic child, I agreed to do it. When the material arrived I read it over and the small print on the back of the cards to be sent out caught my eye. After reading it, I went on line and googled the name. This site came up. After reading the reviews, I am so glad I had that uneasy feeling. I will not be sending out the solicitation letters they will be filed in the trash. I will file a report on the website of the PA AG.... thanks to all who have taken the time to write a review....

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 7, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

February 7, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

! I received a phone call last week from a nice lady from the Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation. After chatting with her for about 5 minutes I agreed to make a $25.00 donation. Our grandson is autistic and I am happy to be able to help. I promptly received in the mail a thank-you letter and a SASE for my donation. Prior to making out the check, I looked them up on the internet and was horrified to see they are a SCAM! How dare they…

The reviews from others were very helpful, thank you. I was about to make out my check!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 26, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I, too agreed to do a mailing to neighbors last year, and was ver successful. This year I received a "Thanks for agreeing" mailing pack, not having agreed. Instead of the 15 or so addresses on the list last year there were 5, none of whom had given last year. Yikes! Red flags! I looked through the literature for the "great things we accomplished" and found that they sent 45 kids to a film camp, 100 to golf camp and an unspecified number to speech therapy camp. That's it! I will alert my neighbors and apologize for unknowingly scamming them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Thank you, everyone, for these reviews. You confirmed my suspicions and I will not be working with these people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

November 20, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Asked to solicit for them. Checked out on line. Discovered it's part of a group of scam organizations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

My grandson has a form of autism, so I agreed to mail out solicitation letters to my neighbors after receiving a call from the foundation. However, just before sending them out today, I decided to google the foundation because I was not familiar with them. I hadn't expected to find this site that revealed the "solicitation" is basically a scam; and that little if any money goes to assisting affected persons and their families. I now plan to investigate the foundation in my state and will not be sending out their material.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers