Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
127 Reviews
123.9055145
Write A Review
July 14, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 14, 2014

Thank you so much for the great opportunity for my grandson Cameron to attend Kids for Camp. This is Cameron's first year and he loves it. It's amazing how much he is learning to do. I am excited for him each and every day that he attends. He is using more words to communicate than he did before camp. Without your support we would not have been able to afford to send him. Thank you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

As far as I can see, no changes are needed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 13, 2014

My daughter Imani is attending Autism Pensacola Kids for Camp this summer for the 1st time and it has been super great. She is 3 and is mostly non-verbal, since the 1st week of camp I can see a marked improvement in her speech especially the using of a few words meaningfully. We feel so blessed to be apart of this program and we are sincerely grateful to Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation for their financial assistance, as the affordability of these programs are just as important as the great need they serve... THANK YOU

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 13, 2014

Thank you for the opportunity for my daughter to attend camp this summer it would have been very difficult for her to attend without the help of financial aid we are very grateful for the experience she really has been enjoying herself and it has also help with keeping her engaged during the summer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 12, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 12, 2014

Our son Patrick is autistic, non verbal, with severe sensory issues. Since birth, I have been on a journey to find therapies for Patrick that would benefit him. He has had speech, occupational and physical therapies. Recently, in the last two or three years, Patrick has had the opportunity to participate in hippo therapy in Centerburg, Ohio. Immediately I noticed a connection that he made with his self awareness, that I had not noticed in his other therapies. I feel it is due to the nature of the horses at the hippo therapy, that helped Patrick to become aware of himself more and his surroundings. I thought he would be afraid to ride a horse, since it is so big!!! However, much to my delight, he was eager and willing to learn about the horse. And not only that, he can hug the horse and just be himself around the horse, with no type of judgement or attitude!! Human attitude, I mean. It gives him a sense of peace and contentment. I am so grateful for the scholarships that Patrick has received, since we have a large family and have had a hard time making ends meet. I wish there were more awareness of the benefits of hippo therapy, to people on the autism spectrum.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 11, 2014

My daughter and son on the spectrum have both made wonderful progress at a camp for children on the spectrum. It is because of the generous help from ASDF that they were able to go.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

I am a public school teacher of elementary students on the autism spectrum. For several summers, I have worked at Autism Pensacola's Kids for Camp, one of the programs supported by Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation. Typically, we target a handful of skills and work on them intensely. One of my campers has never experienced anything like Kids for Camp. This camper has gained 16 new skills in the first 6 days of attending the 2014 Kids for Camp, and these are skills that were not even targeted! Simply by being in this specialized environment where staff are able to make every interaction a learning opportunity, this boy is flourishing! Thank you for your support Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
September 19, 2011

I first heard of ASDF when someone questioned me about their fundraising program. I then learned from the website that they fund camps for children with autism. We applied for and receivedover $10,0... more

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As President/CEO of Autism Pensacola, I have been blessed to witness the impact on the lives of those with autism in our area that was a direct result from the generosity of Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation. We have been blessed to be part of the Holiday Gift Card program for several years and I have seen many happy tears and heard many parents proclaim how their Holiday has been saved by this gift. In addition, for the past 4 years, ASDF has supported our nationally acclaimed Summer Learning Lab(camp) that not only gives kids a great time but teaches them and their teachers so much. The families ASDF supports are our most needy and they are so grateful every summer to have this life changing experience because of ASDF. I am so grateful and admire ASDF so much. Thank you for making a difference in Pensacola Florida!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They continue to get better and better!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 19, 2011
9 people found this review helpful

I first heard of ASDF when someone questioned me about their fundraising program. I then learned from the website that they fund camps for children with autism. We applied for and receivedover $10,000 to use to fund needy campers at our summer learning lab camp in Penascola, FL. They have also enabled us to support two needy families with basic funds for housing during a period of critical need. Additionally, ASDF has provided funds to support families in need at Christmas through our local organization. I am aware that they fund swimming programs, and therapies as well as camps. We are very grateful for the work of ASDF.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Our area is one of the poorest in Florida. The families ASDF allowed us to support would not have been able to be a part of our summer camp without these funds. The two families helped with basic needs were at their wits end about how to continue when we were able to step in and use ASDF funds to make a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more awareness of the good work they do. The high fundraising cost is because they use a professional fundraiser to make this happen. I think with time, this cost will go down.

July 11, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 11, 2014

ASDF has provided numerous scholarships for families who are unable to afford the cost of therapeutic riding services at our center. The Shane Center for Therapeutic Horsemanship is extremely grateful for ASDF's support in helping us improve the quality of life for kids and adults on the spectrum. The participants who have benefitted from the scholarships have each made significant progress towards their goals.
KSanchez

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 10, 2014

Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation helped our family by providing a iPad mini for her daily therapy. She has made great progress since receiving this and it is a great tool! She looks forward to her ABA sessions and is ambitious to use the iPad. Our daughter is only going to continue to do well and be successful and our family is nothing but grateful and thankful for Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation. THANK YOU!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

thank you so much ASDF for helping our daughter to continue at her equine therapy. we have been so blessed by you and your generous support of her - this therapy has been so good for her and the struggles she has due to her autism. working with the horses has really engaged her, brought her into the present moment and kept her there. so many times kids with autism are just disassociated with the world but caring for the horses has really engaged her. what a relief to know this fall we will again be able to participate thanks to your grant.

thank you again - we have hope for more and more success as she continues this wonderful therapy!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers