Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
101 Reviews
123.6336645
Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
July 21, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 21, 2014

I am the mother of four (4) year old twin boys. The oldest twin (by a minute) was diagnosed within the spectrum of autism. I first observed a change in him at the age of 2. We were devastated when my son stop talking and we lost eye contact communication with him. Since that realization, my husband and I been researching and implementing many of the therapies we discovered during on-line searches. We have tried whatever made sense to us at the time, including change in diet – all organic, eliminating certain foods and adding others. We believe that a holistic approach would be best for our son. We are determined to help our son overcome the challenges of Autism by attacking the symptoms early and consistently. Some of the therapies tried are: OT, BA, Speech, gluten/dairy free diet, swimming, etc., you name it we have tried it.
In the past 2 years we have exhausted every penny of our saving (we have two others children) paying for the therapies tried in an effort to help our son overcome the challenges of autism. Our goal is to help our son become a healthy well adjusted adult that will be able to make a positive contribution to his family and society. We don’t know how long we are going to be around, but we are determined to help him reach his full potential.
Someone I met through “Parents of Children with Autism” `told me about the horseback riding program/therapy and how much it helps her son. Financially, we couldn’t afford to pay for the horseback riding lesson as another tool in the multi-faceted approach in my son’s therapy/program. As I mentioned above, currently, we have him working with a speech therapist, ABA, OT and swimming for which the total cost is the equivalent to my monthly salary. Through online research I luckily discovered AUTISM SPECTOM DISORDER FOUNDATION. I immediate wrote to them and was happily surprised to receive a quick response to my email. I requested help to pay for the Equine Therapy and thankfully received the financial assistance necessary to afford my son’s therapy. This help was a God send, within a week I could see positive results. My son was able to say a few words, for example, he was asking for the horse, and even requested to go horseback riding. “Mommy, let’s go ‘diggy dap, diggy dap.” Those few words gave me hope that one day my baby will be able to fully communicate. I would like to thank this organization from the bottom of my heart for the financial help they have provided for my precious boy. I cannot express in words how grateful I am to the Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation for your scholarship, support and the work you do to assist my family and other families with Autistic Children. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for your financial assistance that has helped my son gets the necessary treatment which helped him to utter those few words.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Created of the same, because they surpase my expectation KUDOS

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 16, 2014

Words can't express what a Blessing you have been for our family!!! Thank you for allowing my son Justice the opportunity to be heard! Because of the ipad he received he is able to communicate more effectively! He is also learning So much more! You have opened a door that has been closed for many years. Justice was diagnosed with ASD at the age of 2 and he has been nonverbal since. It was so frustrating for him and us as parents when he needed something or wanted to tell us something but didn't have the words to express himself. Now he is able to tell us his needs and he is also learning shapes, colors, and more! Thank you for giving MY Justice the Justice he needed to SUCCEED!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes need to be made.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 16, 2014

At age 11 our son was just diagnosed with ASD. After many years of getting lost in the system with various doctors and psychiatrists and schools we are finally seeing improvements! Thanks to Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation we were able to get financial aid to send our son to Camp for Kids offered by Autism Pensacola. Without the financial aid we could not have afforded to send him. He has grown so much in the few weeks of camp it is amazing to us. I only wish we had moved here a long time ago and found this resource many years ago. My husband is also taking ABA lessons so we can learn what we can to to help our son continue to grow. It is nice to know that we are on the correct path now and seeing our son smile and grow in self confidence means the world to us. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have the federal government support them 100%!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 16, 2014

Thank you so much for giving my son a voice and learning tool! He loves his IPad! He learning letters and numbers with excitement! The iPad will forever change his and the rest of the families lives! Thank you so much!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 14, 2014

Thank you so much for the great opportunity for my grandson Cameron to attend Kids for Camp. This is Cameron's first year and he loves it. It's amazing how much he is learning to do. I am excited for him each and every day that he attends. He is using more words to communicate than he did before camp. Without your support we would not have been able to afford to send him. Thank you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

As far as I can see, no changes are needed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 13, 2014

My daughter Imani is attending Autism Pensacola Kids for Camp this summer for the 1st time and it has been super great. She is 3 and is mostly non-verbal, since the 1st week of camp I can see a marked improvement in her speech especially the using of a few words meaningfully. We feel so blessed to be apart of this program and we are sincerely grateful to Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation for their financial assistance, as the affordability of these programs are just as important as the great need they serve... THANK YOU

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 13, 2014

Thank you for the opportunity for my daughter to attend camp this summer it would have been very difficult for her to attend without the help of financial aid we are very grateful for the experience she really has been enjoying herself and it has also help with keeping her engaged during the summer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 12, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 12, 2014

Our son Patrick is autistic, non verbal, with severe sensory issues. Since birth, I have been on a journey to find therapies for Patrick that would benefit him. He has had speech, occupational and physical therapies. Recently, in the last two or three years, Patrick has had the opportunity to participate in hippo therapy in Centerburg, Ohio. Immediately I noticed a connection that he made with his self awareness, that I had not noticed in his other therapies. I feel it is due to the nature of the horses at the hippo therapy, that helped Patrick to become aware of himself more and his surroundings. I thought he would be afraid to ride a horse, since it is so big!!! However, much to my delight, he was eager and willing to learn about the horse. And not only that, he can hug the horse and just be himself around the horse, with no type of judgement or attitude!! Human attitude, I mean. It gives him a sense of peace and contentment. I am so grateful for the scholarships that Patrick has received, since we have a large family and have had a hard time making ends meet. I wish there were more awareness of the benefits of hippo therapy, to people on the autism spectrum.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
July 11, 2014

My daughter and son on the spectrum have both made wonderful progress at a camp for children on the spectrum. It is because of the generous help from ASDF that they were able to go.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

I am a public school teacher of elementary students on the autism spectrum. For several summers, I have worked at Autism Pensacola's Kids for Camp, one of the programs supported by Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation. Typically, we target a handful of skills and work on them intensely. One of my campers has never experienced anything like Kids for Camp. This camper has gained 16 new skills in the first 6 days of attending the 2014 Kids for Camp, and these are skills that were not even targeted! Simply by being in this specialized environment where staff are able to make every interaction a learning opportunity, this boy is flourishing! Thank you for your support Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers