Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
134 Reviews
123.9626945
Write A Review
December 22, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
December 22, 2014

I wanted to thank the foundation for their support and their generous help during this holiday season. The caring and hard work of the Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation, Inc. truly makes a difference in the everyday lives of families.

My son is an 18 year old autistic boy who also
happens to have a very rare cancer. It means the world to be able to make this Christmas special to him as we do not know how many we will have with him.

The wonderful gift card was a help to be able to provide my son a good Christmas dinner and presents. I was able to buy him the present he most wanted. I would not have been able to do this otherwise. We spend so much everyday trying to get him the right care that it doesn't always leave a lot extra for the "little" things like making a favorite meal.

The smile on my son's face is the best gift I will receive! This would not be possible without the ASDF.
December 22, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
January 22, 2014

The Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation helped numerous families associated with our organization, a school meeting the educational needs of children with an autism spectrum disorder, to attend summer... more

December 22, 2014

We are thankful to ASDF for helping make the holidays better for 10 families we serve who would not otherwise be able to provide for their families at this time. Each of them have one or more children with autism. Thanks to ASDF who is willing to give to "the little person" currently struggling instead of just large research corporations.
January 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation helped numerous families associated with our organization, a school meeting the educational needs of children with an autism spectrum disorder, to attend summer camp as well as assisting them during the holiday season. Families are so deeply touched that there is an organization that wants to impact their lives in a real way, where they live, and help with specific needs. I don't know of another organization dedicated to helping families in such a practical manner--through education, camperships, and special funds.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage more people to give to them

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 19, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
December 19, 2014

I want to thank you for your generosity... family has had a lot of hard ships this year and two autistic children not knowing of we could give them a good Christmas thanks to your foundation i got them both bikes blanket pillow and each a toy thank you so much truly a blessing receiving help this year for the holidays i would love to post pictures Christmas Morning... thank you again ... Tracey Smith

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 18, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
December 18, 2014

I would like to thank this organization for the help that was given to our family for Christmas. Me & my husband became unemployed & we have 4 of our grandkids we take care of, with mortgage , property txes, homeowners insurance, etc due, it was weighing heavy on us about what we gonna do for them for Christmas, when I heard about this organization I wrote a letter explaining our financial situation & any thing from this organization would be a great Blessing. One of our grandkids is Autistic & I really wanted to get him special toys to help him learn. We was so Blessed 2 be a recipient of a gift card from this organization. It bought tears 2 my eyes because they will have some toys for Christmas & a Christmas tree. We didnt even have that. I thank God for this organization & the people that make dreams & need come true. My grandkids are gonna be so happy Christmas morning. We cudnt afford an IPad for my autistic grandson but he did get an innotab
December 17, 2014

more

December 17, 2014

Our grandson, Aidan, is 4 years old and he is on the Autism Spectrum. During the past year we have learned so much about his disorder and how to help Aidan succeed. One of his biggest challenges is communication. He was very slow to speak, but currently has a vocabulary of about 80 words. Communicating his wants and needs continues to be a roadblock for him. When I heard of the Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation and their program to help children on the spectrum by supplying iPads, I was not sure it was for real. I contacted the foundation but was told that the year's allotment of iPads had already been distributed. That was a disappointment. Knowing what a benefit this assistive technology would be for my grandson I decided to start saving to hopefully purchase one. Several weeks later I received an email from the foundation informing me that a new supply of iPad mimi's was expected and I would be able to apply for one by sending Aidan's diagnosis. I immediately responded and within 10 days Aidan had his iPad mini. It is hard to express in words the difference this is making in Aidan's learning. There are many free apps available for children on the Autism Spectrum. We are currently using Candy Count to help with counting and sorting and number sense, ABA Flashcards for expressing emotions, and Emotions, Feelings, and Colors to help with social development. Aidan's vocabulary and his ability to express his wants, needs, and feelings is improving already. I can't wait to see what new apps will be available for him in the future. Thank you to the ASDF and its generous donors for providing this learning tool for our child and other children on the spectrum. It is truly a great blessing to see your child make the connections necessary to have a future. We are very grateful for this opportunity for our grandson. I will be donating the money I saved for Aidan's iPad to the foundation to benefit other children.
Denise Myers
Rochester, PA

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 16, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
December 16, 2014

Words can't express how thankful we are of the gift card we received for Christmas. It allowed us to actually buy much needed shoes and coats as well as some gifts for the kids. We live on an extremely tight budget with really no room for Christmas presents. Instead of just trying to live day by day, we can actually celebrate this year.
December 5, 2014

more

December 5, 2014

I am the executive director of a nonprofit private school for children with autism. We recently had a student that could not get to school because his moms vehicle was not working. She is a single mom raising a child very impacted by autism and simply did not have the funds for the repairs. ASDF stepped in and paid for the repairs to get this young man back in our school where he can grow and thrive! I so appreciate knowing that when my kids have a genuine need I can help them turn to this foundation to help them. Thank you ASDF!
November 23, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
November 23, 2014

We are raising our 34 month old grandson who is autistic . through this organization he received an I-PAD MINI and he is able to learn from the apps that can be downloaded for him. He now tries to sing the ABC song because he learned it from an app on the I-pad. It is a wonderful program. THANKYOU VERY MUCH FOR ALL OF THE HELP !!!
Tammy
November 8, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
November 8, 2014

Thank you very much for the generous donations that you give to the Autism Project of RI, because of your organization my son Kameron (age 13) was able to attend his Favorite camp 'Camp WannaGoAgain' this past summer. It is the one thing that my son looks forward to attending every year!! He has been attending camp with the Autism Project of RI since he was 5 years old, this camp is the GREATEST and the workers and volunteers go above and beyond to make sure our children are safe and have the most fun but most of all get to experience camp just like every typical child. Your donations are a blessing and well appreciated by my family, without them we might not have been able to afford camp because of family finances. It is good to know that there are people like you who care and have desire to help. On behalf of Kameron and myself we Thank you again! :-)
God bless you and your organization.
Sincerely, Kerry (Greatful mom of autistic son)
November 7, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
November 7, 2014

Through the generous donations from the Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation my 19 year old autistic son JJ has been able to participate in a therapeutic horseback riding program. Stirrups N Strides is a wonderful program that has helped my son on so many levels. JJ is an animal lover and being able to ride and bond with horses has been invaluable. The volunteers that run the program are truly wonderful people and depend on donations to make this program a success. We are very fortunate that organizations such as the Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation are able to contribute to the various programs that help individual with autism.

Thank you again for all that you have done.
Kimberly Rosenstock
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers