Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
152 Reviews
1234.078955
Write A Review
March 26, 2015

more

March 26, 2015

With my daughter having been misdiagnosed for most of her life, there was no end to the horror stories as we attempted to navigate the public school system. She was not correctly diagnosed with Asperger's until she was 21. And unbelievably, at this time she incurred a medical crisis which is ongoing and without resolution. Simultaneously she returned to school at the local community college to begin the journey to attain her life goal of earning a PhD in biology. Unfortunately after 5 years of Herculean effort, she was still unable to complete her two years at this level. Because she is the expert chameleon, her disability remains hidden to neuro-typicals and even to those who work in access/disability resource centers, who refuse to grant the much needed accommodations due to her better than 4 point GPA. No one sees the enormous costs she has to pay just to get through one class. Consequently, this brilliant young woman is in a holding pattern attempting to make this right not only for her but other Aspie's who have given up their own dreams of a college education. As we have lived in poverty all her life, we are unable to afford the fun things in life and pretty much live in survival mode. Her case manager contacted ASDF with a request for funding for riding lessons for her as she used to ride and loves animals more than people. These lessons are the only thing she looks forward to every week in her very packed schedule and the instructor enjoys Alex as much as Alex enjoys being there with her. This has been such a boon to her and we are so grateful that ASDF has provided this. We cannot thank them enough.
March 25, 2015

more

Review from Guidestar
March 25, 2015

I want to let you know how much my family and I appreciate your help by providing an iPad mini for our autistic son Ben. With the help of many apps we have installed on the iPad mini, Ben is now able to identify many shapes, words, objects clearly, and follow many steps order without any difficulties. He is even singing songs now, isn’t that wonderful. I am looking forward for some more great learning experiences. GOD bless your heart for the assistance you are provided to parents like us in our journey.
..

Father
March 24, 2015

more

Review from Guidestar
March 24, 2015

in September of 2013 i was asked to take in my nephew Dillon 7yrs and his sister and neice Shaylee. Dillon has many health problems. He is a special needs child with ADHD, Autism and Degeorge Syndrome. Hes mildly mental retarded as well. Ive never cared for a child like Dillon as my children are grown and gone. As it turns out DHS came and asked me to adopt both children 5 months into the 22 month contract as the parents were not doing what they were suppose to do and staying off the drugs. I got Dillon into many behavioral programs and created a safe and loving enviroment. He now has stability and structure and consisentcy and hes come along way from the time he got here. Ive been trying and writing to people to get Dillon an Ipad and he was put on a back burner and forgot. I contacted Michael Slutsky and of the Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation and he was right on top of it for Dillon. Finally someone helped me. Dillon got his Ipad yesterday and is now learning the letters and sounds. I cant work full time with Dillon and money is very tight. The state dont pay for any kinds of camps or programs for children like Dillon. Everything is at my expense and with only my husband working, i cant afford any thing like that so i have to do my best. Im so greatful for Michael and his fouyndation. i might need more and im glad someone is there for us. Ive had no experience in dealing with kids like dillon but boy ive gotten better with patience.
March 9, 2015

more


1 previous review
January 20, 2014

January 10, 2014 Dear Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation, We would like to extend our sincere gratitude for your continued support to Parker Autism Foundation and most recently, for your kind and ge... more

March 9, 2015

Parker Autism Foundation would like to thank ASDF for all they do. With their partnership for the last several years, we have been able to send over fifty children to summer camp, provide 12 I-pads and help over fifty families at Christmas. There donations to us have touched over 100 families. We are blessed to be partnered with such a great organization. We look forward to are continued partnership. Together helping families with autism succeed. What a great organization. We are Blessed.
January 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

January 10, 2014
Dear Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation,

We would like to extend our sincere gratitude for your continued support to Parker Autism Foundation and most recently, for your kind and generous donation of Gift Cards toward the Christmas Giving Tree program this year as
well as the van that is used for Camp Dakota!

Your contribution helped bring the magic of the holidays to our family and many others who struggle with so much on daily basis. It also gave peace and comfort to us (parents) who deal with the ongoing financial strains of raising a child(ren) with special needs which can be overwhelming especially during the holidays.

Parker Autism Foundation is so near and dear to our hearts. They help so many children and families who don’t have the financial means to buy gifts or send their children to specialized summer camps or to simply know where to turn to find support and resources for their children. The staff members who have worked with our son are outstanding! Their experience, compassion, professionalism, and understanding of autism spectrum disorder is above and beyond our expectations! Camp Dakota has been a life-changing experience for our son!

I know all the children really appreciate ALL you do to support our local autism community. Your commitment, generosity and kindness is gratefully appreciated!

Sincerely,
Lori- Ryan's mom



More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 9, 2015

more

March 9, 2015

ASDF has been a blessing to my family and so many more families. They provide my children with camp scholarships, an Ipad and helped this year with Christmas. I am a single mom of four and I would not be able to provide a Christmas for my children without your partnership with PAF. PAF is a blessing to us as you are to us and so many more. Please continue to support PAF for they do great things. You help them do all they do. Your grants and donations provide help to so many. Bless you.

Mommy06
March 9, 2015

more

March 9, 2015

I would like to take this opportunity to express my graditude for your contribution of gift cards to the Parker Autism Foundation, who graciously extended their warm hospitality, kindness, care, and concern for not only my family but to others who have children with autism. I am s single parent with 2 children with autism and another son. Your contribution made our Christmas possible. I had prepared my children that there would not be a Christmas this year. But with your help I was able to given them some of what they needed and wanted. So thank you. Thank you for Blessing our family.
March 9, 2015

more

March 9, 2015

Thank you for providing us with a gift card from Walmart for Christmas. It greatly helped us with our Christmas this year. I great blessing for our family. Please continue to support PAF they do great work and your donations and support allow them to help so many families. God Blss you for your generousity and support
March 9, 2015

more

Review from Guidestar
March 9, 2015

Thank you for the donation of gift cards to Parker Autism Foundation. With your generosity families in Charlotte where able to have a Christmas. Our family has come on hard times, my husband was hurt this year and without an income for three months and no savings we would not have been able to give our son a Christmas.
Thank you for your continued support to PAF.
Keep up the great work and thank you,
March 9, 2015

more

Review from Guidestar
March 9, 2015

ASDF
Im taking the time out to thank them for the gift card that they provided to the Parker Autism Foundation for Christmas, With the gift cards they donated to the Foundation. I was given one of them and was able to have a Christmas for my child I would have otherwise not been able to.
Without it Im not sure I would have been able to do anything for them. So many family benefit from PAF and your donations to them, help them help families with autism in the Charlotte Area. Thank you so much for everything you have done.

melissa
March 7, 2015

more

March 7, 2015

We would like to express our deepest heart felt gratitude to Autism Spectrum Disorder Foundation for your generous donation of the Christmas gift card. This has helped my family tremendously in providing for them otherwise. Your support means more than you could ever image.
With Sincere
appreciation.
Ellsworth family
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers