Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.885715
Write A Review
August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

The Autism Science Foundation remains true to its mission of improving the lives of families and individuals living with ASD through its excellent research grant programs. ASF not only funds the important endeavors of established scientists, but it also encourages younger, budding researchers to pursue autism research careers through summer grants.

Importantly, nearly each dollar donated to ASF goes directly toward helping individuals with ASD. The outcome of ASF-funded research on the needs of adults with ASD is an excellent example: the results of the study led to the development of new programs to support social skills training at work for adults with autism, and to training programs for parents of adults with autism.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 2, 2014

more

August 2, 2014

I am a 26 year old high functioning autistic adult who works 20 hours a week. I want more people to know that there are possibilities out there. The Autism Science Foundation invited me to speak about my autism. It was the best day of my life to tell everyone how it feels to have autism. Autism Science Foundation made a difference for me and will make a difference in the future of autism.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

As a mom to an autistic son, I have found the Autism Science Foundation to be truly remarkable with their funding directly to scientists to perform research to discover the causes of autism and develop the best treatments. I am proud to be able to take part in the ASF’s participation in the “It Takes Brains” outreach program in order to respond to the severe shortage of brain tissue so desperately needed for continued autism research. They are bringing to light an often difficult to discuss topic that addresses the need for brain tissue donation, through pre-registration, from people with autism, the families affected by autism and even unaffected people. The ASF also participates in numerous outreach events allowing for direct talk with the families about the importance of learning the early warning signs of autism and by providing them with the tools they need to become strong advocates for their children with autism.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

As the former creative director of Autism Speaks it was a honor to work with The Autism Science Foundation. Alison Singer and I worked together when she was at Autism Speaks and her vision and knowledge about autism science research is extraordinary. The top scientists in the country support the work that the The Autism Science Foundation is funding, like their Autism Brain Net program and their Wandering Study, which was published last year. In fact it was just announced that autism advocate Temple Grandin has agreed to donate her brain to the Autism Brain Net program. Wow!
I had the honor of working on their 5th year anniversary video and to see the work that The Autism Science Foundation has done in that short amount of time is mind blowing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope that they would be able to get more funding so their programs like the Autism Brain Net can really reach its potential. The Autism Science Foundation is doing the work that other organizations aren't, and the autism and community in general should stand behind them.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

I am the father of a child with severe autism. I am extremely thankful that the Autism Science Foundation is in the forefront by encouraging families through outreach events to participate in autism research that will hopefully allow for more evidence based treatments that could be developed for my son and the multitudes of other children diagnosed with ASD. My dream of having my son live an independent life, as limited as it may be, is kept alive based on the efforts of a foundation such as the ASF.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

I had the pleasure of attending ASF's 5th Anniversary event in April. The information that was delivered that day from experts in autism research, individuals with autism, and Alison Singer, was amazing. Mrs. Singer and her staff are some of the most dedicated people in the nonprofit community. They continue to amaze with their dedication and drive to raise money, awareness, and support in the fight against autism.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

Simply the most dedicated and focused organization I have ever had the pleasure to work with. Although somewhat small in size, they are quickly making up for it in stature by being an important player in providing both information to the autism community as well as spearheading an amazing number of important research initiatives.

Other non profits should take a long look at how an organization can remove itself entirely from internal conflicts and bickering, and spend all the time and resources staying focused on the job at hand.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

I am the parent of a child with autism. I have worked with ASF on the formation and launch of It Takes Brains, the public outreach program of Autism BrainNet, which is a new group of leading research institutions that will collaborate on brain research. Scientists are unable to conduct this important research because of the severe shortage of donated brain tissue, and It Takes Brains is reaching out to families to register to donate brain tissue. I'm proud to support ASF, for its dedication to science-based research and its role in informing and supporting the autism community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

As the parent of a child with severe autism, I am so grateful to ASF for fighting for research and treatments to improve the quality of life of individuals like my son. Their incredibly important projects include alerting the public to the issue of wandering in the autism community and funding research that will hopefully lead to new therapeutics for treating aggressive and self-injurious behaviors, and ultimately, core deficits in language and socialization. I have tremendous hope that someday my son will be able to lead a more independent, meaningful life because of strategies and treatments that became possible due to support from ASF.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure they had more money to devote to research!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

I am a professional in field of autism and greatly appreciate the funding that Autism Science Foundation provides to scientists for research. I also have a great respect for the grant opportunities available to pre and post doctoral students. Further, I am most impressed by the great minds and people that comprise the scientific advisory board. I happen to work with two of these individuals on a daily basis which is enough alone to endorse Autism Science Foundation as a five star foundation! This is an amazing foundation that will continue to help change lives of children with ASD, their families and the professionals working with individuals on the spectrum, both nationally and internationally, for many years to come.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assemble kits to send out to families who have a child newly diagnosed with autism