Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
January 21, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 21, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

We had a positive experience with Austin Dog Rescue beginning with the easy-to-use website and ending with our sweet dog, Waffles. The process was quick, thorough and kind from beginning to end. Waffles' foster mom and I still exchange photos via text and she has gone above and beyond to offer advice and tips. We're even planning a playdate for next week ;)

I've recommended them to many of my friends and will continue to do so!
January 21, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 21, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

We adopted a puppy from ADR about a year ago and were impressed with them from the start. Our puppy's foster family did a wonderful job of establishing her schedule and laying a foundation for training. We found out after adoption that our sweet pup was so sick, she spent almost a month in a pet hospital before going to a foster home. No wonder they took great care with the placement process! We are grateful for their investment and we are enjoying the dividends every day that we wake up to a healthy, exuberant, and loved four-legged family member.
January 20, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 20, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

We recently moved to Austin and wanted to adopt a rescue dog. We discovered ADR and were/are amazed by the work they do. ADR goes above and beyond to rescue, foster, heal, love, and care for at-risk-dogs - and they take the matching and placement process seriously. ADR worked with us to find the right dog for our family - and they were very honest about dogs that would not be a good fit! We eventually adopted a wonderful 6 month old pyrenees/lab mix. Mason was house trained, crate trained, and was walking well on a leash thanks to the fosters' dedication. ADR even put us in touch with a certified and professional dog trainer - free of charge - to ensure that the transition went smoothly. The organization is a gift to dogs and dog lovers in Austin - and beyond.
January 19, 2015
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 19, 2015
4 people found this review helpful

Our first time adopting was with ADR. My husband & I adopted a senior Schnauzer named, Doyle. We wanted to give him the best years at the end of his years. The loving people of ADR made us feel like family. Even on the day that our sweet old man passed, I made one phone call & the whole ADR family was supporting us through social media in our time of grief. It made us feel so good to know that each person who knew him, loved & remembered him. Two weeks later we adopted again! For ADR its not just a side thing, it's a way of life. They dedicate themselves to saving, protecting & loving mans best friend.
January 18, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 18, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

Austin Dog Rescue and their staff were with us every step of the way when we were suddenly left without a pet due to losing our pet of 16 years. "Pepper" passed from old age and we decided to put off having a new pet enter our lives. Visiting the ADR website and coming into contact with Joyce changed our outlook and our plans. She introduced us to a terrier mix breed dog of 5 months who we immediately feel in love with and opened our hearts and home to. We renamed him "Buster" and now after having him with us 7 years we could not imagine living without him. Joyce was friendly and very attentive to our needs and the needs of our future "family member". She checked our home out to make sure Buster was coming to a clean, safe place to live. Over the years Joyce has remained in contact and we consider her a friend and trusted expert when it comes to bringing a new canine member in to our family!
January 18, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 18, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

I have been an Austin Dog Rescue adopter and donor for over 5 years - we have adopted 4 wonderful dogs from this group and have always had a great experience, both with the fosters and with Joyce the Executive Director. She works long hours to help save innocent lives that are in rural and local shelters. We love what they do and I try to support them in every way possible.

Melinda and Steven Vague
January 18, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 18, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

Its difficult to put into words of what a high level organization ADR is. From board members to coordinators to fosters to volunteers, when dealing with ADR, you soon find you are among professionals who promote the well-being of fur babies like no other. When we were ready to adopt, we fortunately found out about ADR and in 2013, Tucker came into our lives and stole our hearts. I saw how much this organization loves these babies and how dedicated they are to rescuing and finding homes for them. They are truly passionate about what they do and that is very evident in their commitment of rescue, education and the health and well being of each foster.

When you are placed with a dog from ADR, you know that they have thoroughly vetted them, the foster mom or dad and the client and it feels like a privilege to be selected by them as parents. After adopting Tucker, ADR continued to be a part of lives, as the one that did our home check, Megan Gotta, became our doggy day care at her business. Not only is she with ADR, but works in search and rescue and is cream of the crop in dog training and boarding. She is a rock star in my opinion. Anne Ford is another tireless advocate, who, on top of all her other duties with ADR and events, always finds time to quickly, personally message you about any questions you may have or give you guidance or support.

ADR is not just a rescue organization, it is a community of caring animal lovers with hearts as big as our fur babies. AND as of yesterday, we just added another ADR fur baby to our family! We would choose no other but ADR. The donations you give literally saves lives every day. They take in animals no one else will and hospitalizations are very costly. The average person, like me, has no idea how expensive it is to provide the ADR level of care to so many in need. I'm sure I would be shocked. If any organization deserves your time and money, it is Austin Dog Rescue
January 16, 2015
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 16, 2015
4 people found this review helpful

I have been an animal lover all my life. Six years ago this month my first dog (as an adult) passed away. Six years ago, what was a horribly sad time for me was also the beginning of an amazing journey. Shortly after my dogs death I found Hudson, a gorgeous Border Collie/German Shepherd mix. It was love at first sight! I immediately filled out an application, so afraid someone would beat me to adopting him. I was terrified and excited, all my previous experience with dogs had been Chihuahuas. I spoke with Joyce and Tara, both fostering Hudson. He had "issues", he was heart worm positive and did not like strangers in his house. ADR treated his medical problems and then worked with his trainer and I so I knew how to handle him. Austin Dog Rescue was up front from the beginning about Hudson and his special needs. They provided support when I had questions and were genuinely excited to hear about Hudson's new life. A year after I adopted him I made the decision to foster for them. Five years later, 2 new additions and 38 dogs saved, Hudson and ADR have made a huge impact on my life. I have met amazing people and learned more than I ever thought possible about dogs. The network of people who support ADR and the people who foster for them is truly unbelievable. It is a testament to how much you can effect and how much you will be effected if you volunteer your time to a worthy cause. Austin Dog Rescue is an amazing organization and your support of them is truly appreciated!
January 16, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 16, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

ADR is absolutely wonderful! These loving folks are genuinely passionate about saving the lives of countless shelter dogs, working tirelessly to find them caring forever homes. Their amazing group of fosters go above and beyond to provide much needed love, comfort and a stable environment to abused, neglected and forgotten dogs in order for them to have a second chance to live through adoption. I found my "soul-mutt" through ADR and I'll be forever grateful that someone in their organization saw something special in her and pulled her from the euthanasia list at a local shelter. Thank you ADR for enriching my life in so many ways!
January 15, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 15, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

With zero exaggeration I can say that this is one of the most kind, compassionate and smart rescue groups in Austin. I may be a little biased because they trusted me to adopt Sparky, who makes my heart smile everyday.

The adoption process was swift but thorough. I really appreciated that
his foster mom brought him to me to meet my other dog. She hung out for well over an hour answering questions and offering advice. I trusted that she was looking our for the dogs best interest but soon realized she was looking out for my best interest as well. They care passionately about finding the right home ...not just any home.

It was a great experience and someday I hope be one of their fosters but for now Sparky and LuLu keep me plenty busy. I absolutely recommend ADR!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with transport, event helper, fundraiser helper. Volunteer