Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 16, 2014

more

April 16, 2014

My Australian Shepherd Jake and I are lucky to be able to volunteer with this organization. Through the training they provided us we were able to become a certified complex level team. We now visit an elementary school in Manor ISD. Some of the students we visit some first graders that we are helping learn to read- they love snuggling up to Jake. We also spend time with the "Life Skills" students- a young student confined to a wheel chair was so happy Jake was not afraid to get right up to her so she could pet him. Some of the other students have varying levels of autism- and they are learning to approach Jake and pet him- it's a blessing to be able to watch their faces light up with smiles. :) We are looking forward to continuing our volunteer work through the summer at other venues.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything! :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Although I am also a volunteer, I started as a client at Austin Dog Alliance and continue in that realm four years later so I wanted to speak to that portion of this non-profit. I originally came to ADA to take training classes with my newly rescued dog. I had taken a couple of classes elsewhere that I enjoyed & was nervous to start somewhere new where I didnt know anyone & wasnt sure about the trainers. I found right away that the trainers at ADA are knowledgeable and take a vested interest in helping you learn whichever area of training you are there for.
The classes are well organized, safe, and use only positive training methods.
The variety of training available is just wonderful. I just finished my 9th class with one dog and 4th class with another - that's 13 classes in four years! I've taken everything from basic Dog Manners 1 to Rally Obedience, Tricks, Pet Therapy, Reactive Dog Rehab and K9 Nosework. All with different instructors. To say I have confidence in their trainers is an understatement. Their goal is to help you and your dog become a team, a happy well adjusted member of your family, a focused competitor... whatever your wish, they will help. And I can also count on them to tell me honestly if my wish just isnt going to fit with this particular dog.
I am also a volunteer as a pet therapy team with one of my dogs. 4 years of volunteering at hospitals, schools, nursing homes, addiction recovery, alzheimers care, childrens homes, Bow Wow Reading, and Autism Social Enrichment classes have been extremely rewarding. I have met wonderful people that I now call friends. My dog is loved and welcomed at many facilities. It will be a sad day when I have to retire him.
ADA is known for their niche in Autism but they are SO much more.
If you love dogs. If you love volunteering. If you enjoy spending time with kids. If you are looking for dog training in just about every avenue (have you seen that agility field?! They even offer Lure Coursing now!) If you would like to foster or adopt a rescue dog. If you want to make a difference in the community.... ADA is the place to go.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was initially a client and as I learned more I was drawn to volunteer. Every volunteer from the director to the office staff are welcoming. They are very good at allowing each volunteer to follow their specific strengths. They never "force" (beg, etc) someone to fill a volunteer need - rather always rely on the volunteers to follow their own level of comfort and interest.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to help more in the funding of their programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I've been involved with the Austin Dog Alliance for a few years and it's a great organization for those who are passionate about the Autistic community, the canine community and/or kids. We do a lot to support the Central Texas region and continue to expand our services to other community needs like a job skills and training program for people with special needs. The Austin Dog Alliance does a great job of making sure volunteers are in the best position for them to be passionate and supportive of the community and organization. I would recommend anyone with a passion for helping children or dogs to get involved rather it be by donating your time, money or support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I started volunteering with the Austin Dog Alliance as a dog foster and fell in love with the organization. The organization focuses on improving the lives of people through connections with dogs and has been extremely beneficial in helping kids with autism and other social needs with developing the social skills they will need to thrive in the future. In addition they also have a job skills program that provides canine-related employment training for young adults with autism and other special-needs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Raise more money to complete the Austin Dog Alliance Center and increase their capacity for job skills training.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I have been involved on the board of directors for many non-profits. I attended the Austin Dog Alliance Gala and knew immediately this is a place that I wanted to volunteer my time. Debi Krakar, the Executive Director, has incredible passion for her cause and the clients she benefits. The dogs coming out of her program are amazing. The children that benefit from the dogs that she trains are so blessed to have someone in their community that truly cares about improving the lives of children with Autism and other needs. The dogs are hand picked from shelters and given a new purpose in life and a loving home. Every time we attend a board meeting Debi has another idea for a program to benefit our four legged friends and children with challenges. I can't think of a better organization to give my time and donations to support. ADA is truly amazing!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would want to get the message out to the community about this organization in order to achieve the funding level it needs to survive and thrive.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I was introduced to Austin Dog Alliance through the CEO of my company. After "liking" their Facebook page and doing some more research I knew almost immediately that I wanted to be a part of this organization.
It is wonderful to be involved in an organization with such a strong dedication to
making a difference in the lives of so many. Through the connection between dogs and people, ADA is able to offer many meaningful
programs to our community. I feel honored to be a part of a group that delivers such rewarding results to the community.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I first learned of Austin Dog Alliance through a client whose son was planning to attend Summer Camp. I enrolled in a Pet Therapy training course with my dog and was impressed with how well prepared the program is. Then my daughter attended Summer Camp with her dachshund, that's where I was hooked. My daughter is painfully shy and struggles in social situations. Imagine my delight as each day at pick up she told me stories full of her camp friends and her wonderful teachers. These folks just have a gift and know how to share it in a way that truly changes kid's lives. My daughter cannot wait to be old enough to participate in the Youth Association and is often by my side as we volunteer at Austin Dog Alliance. I even had the opportunity to teach a couple of Summer Camp sessions this year and my painfully "shy" 11 year old daughter was there to teach the crafts portion to the new campers!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I started volunteering with the Austin Dog Alliance when I was 12 years old and before it was even an official non-profit. I have loved every second of my work with them! I am now a full time college student and work full time which makes my time very limited. My life has been greatly defined by my work with children in the summer camps as well as the dogs we train.

I adopted my own dog 2 years ago and everything I've ever learned about training from the ADA has been poured into my pup.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I began with ADA as a customer. I enrolled my son in their Autism Social Skills class. I was so amazed at the love and dedication that the teachers and staff had for the kids. As a special education teacher, I was pretty picky about who I entrusted my children with. I was so impressed with what I saw. My son went from never wanting to go anywhere to looking forward to his Tuesday nights at ADA. I knew I wanted to be a part of this organization. That was a few years ago and I'm still loving it. Debi K., the ED, is tireless and fearless. She believes in the future of the kids she serves and does everything with them in mind. The other volunteers are just as passionate. They are such a caring and capable group of people and I'm proud to be a part of this great organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help maintain our property by painting, mowing, weeding, Volunteer