Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
1.833332345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

Riggs was helpful to me in that my shrink helped me find a good cocktail of meds that have helped me stay stable and together without relapse. I have schizophrenia and clinical depression and have overcome severe insomnia. Otherwise, help with overcoming my social issues was null. I also was not educated about my illnesses but the nursing staff made me feel very loved and special. They did the lions share of the work. It was a mixed bag and I would not go there again If I did fall sick again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work on good nutrition. Be more progressive

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unsure

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This place saved my life. The respect, compassion, and care I was consistently shown made it possible for me to turn my downward spiral around and live again. I would most certainly have committed suicide had I not been a patient at Riggs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 3, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

My daughter spent approx. 3months at Riggs. I would concur with the previous reviewer. There is a lack of commitment by the staff. The therapy is very limited and narrow in scope. I got the feeling they consider their clients more as customers than patients. When I got my daughter back, she was drugged to the point of being more like a zombie than an engaged person. Difficult to imagine how much effective therapy can take place under those conditions. Stay away

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

riggs

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

re-evalute the methodology

November 13, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

Austen Riggs is a complete fraud. Perhaps at one time they ran a good operation, but that is no longer the case. Over $250,000 was spent on my adult child and we were then told that they couldn't help her after initially being told they were "specialists in treatment resistance" and "they don't give up on anyone". This is total PR nonsense. The staff runs for the exits at 5PM and they hardly, if ever, return phone calls. The administration is a disaster and unresponsive and uncommunicative unless they want more money.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Austen Riggs is a complete fraud. Perhaps at one time they ran a good operation, but that is no longer the case. Over $250,000 was spent on my adult child and we were then told that they couldn't help her after initially being told they were "specialists in treatment resistance" and "they don't give up on anyone". This is total PR nonsense. The staff runs for the exits at 5PM and they hardly, if ever, return phone calls. The administration is a disaster and unresponsive and uncommunicative unless they want

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

CHANGE THE ENTIRE STAFF AND START OVER. Austen Riggs claims to care about the patients, however, instead they give up on them. After 7 months they will tell you that they can't help you, go somewhere else.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers